Jump to content


- - - - -

Credit Screen, Newspaper Screen And Random Screens Stuttering


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,474 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:Mainly V12s
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 05 2013 - 03:34 AM

Hi everyone,

since I've installed Grand Prix Legends on Windows 7 and now on Windows 8 i get massive stuttering in credit's and newspaper's screen. Sometimes even in other ones. I've tried everything without success so far. Is there a way to solve this?
During game i've got no stuttering, framerate is rock solid on 36 fps with all details and nvidia control panel settings to the top.
Of course this is not a great problem, since it does not affect my "gameplay" at all but it's kinda annoyn'.
Thanks in advance lads!

#2 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,992 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2013 - 08:16 AM

Win7 64bits here,
I had the stuttering if I set the anisotropic filter on in the nvidia control panel so I went back to no anisotropic.
I don't mind the difference that much and is much less annoying

#3 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,474 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:Mainly V12s
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 05 2013 - 08:32 AM

Nope Ginetto, disabling anisotropic filtering (both from control panel and GEM) didn't work :blue:

#4 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,474 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:Mainly V12s
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 05 2013 - 08:39 AM

From what i've understood, it seems like the game has some "problem" with fonts. Every line it loads causes more stuttering.
I'm using OpenGL v2 by the way

#5 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,992 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2013 - 08:54 AM

Try D3D v2 then;  for what I recall OGL v.2 can cause flashing menus. :)

#6 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,474 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:Mainly V12s
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 05 2013 - 09:01 AM

View PostGinetto, on Oct 05 2013 - 08:54 AM, said:

Try D3D v2 then;  for what I recall OGL v.2 can cause flashing menus. :)

yeah Ginetto, using D3D v2 worked! the problem now is that with OGL framerate is rock solid on 36 fps (like I said before), instead with D3D it's 19 fps constantly :hithead:
uff

#7 jklhill

jklhill

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:GPL and Automobilista
  • Sim interest:other

Posted Oct 05 2013 - 09:15 AM

Yeah, I put up with the stuttering in the menu screens in opengl because, for me at least, ogl is much better in game than d3d.

#8 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 988 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 08 2013 - 07:19 AM

Try to use other ZBuffer settings in GEM graphic settings, this helped here :up:

#9 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,474 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:Mainly V12s
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 08 2013 - 03:00 PM

View PostCookie, on Oct 08 2013 - 07:19 AM, said:

Try to use other ZBuffer settings in GEM graphic settings, this helped here :up:

yeah Cookie I read that someone solved this problem by setting ZBuffer to "run zbuffer in separate thread" but it doesn't help me. Seems like there's no solution only for me! Just my luck! :th_thballoonsbirthdayanim:

Thx anyway :up:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links