Jump to content


Rasteriser Version 1 Compatibilty For Canam Mod


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

Poll: Rasteriser Version 1 Compatibilty For Canam Mod (76 member(s) have cast votes)

Do You Need V1 Rasteriser Compatibility?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 01 2012 - 03:02 PM

We are approaching release of the 1971 CanAm Mod, but have a problem running it with v1 rasterisers.  We are attempting to solve this so that the mod will run OK with v1, but cannot promise a fix soon; perhaps as long as a month or more, if then.

The mod works great with v2 rasterisers although perhaps more slowly than you might get with a working v1 rasteriser.  Frame rates should be comparable to the 1967 Sports Car Mod.

Do you need to have v1 rasteriser compatibility before release?  Or should we release the mod sooner and work on a possible v1 rasterizer fix later?

Please vote and let us know your opinion.

#2 Pavel

Pavel

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 818 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Racing, Simracing, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 01 2012 - 03:22 PM

I use only v2 rasterisers and don't need mod be compatible with v1 rasterisers.

#3 s2173

s2173

    Skymole

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sofia, Bulgaria
  • Interests:Everything

Posted Sep 01 2012 - 03:36 PM

Well, GT cars don't really work with v1 rasters neither... I was expecting the same for canam's, if they have about the same poly count... I run gpl with v2 rasters anyway.

#4 Phil

Phil

    Tazio Nuvolari

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 223 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:I have no preference
  • Sim interest:I have no preference

Posted Sep 01 2012 - 03:58 PM

I'm a v1 user, v2 framerates are sluggish on my PC (have to use v2 to work on Spa). However I wouldn't delay the mod, a later fix would be very welcome.

#5 buzard

buzard

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Palmdale, CA
  • Sim interest:other

Posted Sep 01 2012 - 04:00 PM

Same for me. Release now patch later. As long as this is the only issue.

#6 JohnnyAck

JohnnyAck

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Sep 01 2012 - 04:22 PM

Yes I think v1 is probably gone for most everyone now.

#7 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts

Posted Sep 01 2012 - 05:03 PM

V1 could be useful for some servers, especially when working with virtual machines.

#8 GORDON_S

GORDON_S

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Old Europe
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 01 2012 - 05:34 PM

Same as Phil and buzard: still on v1 but can live with a later patch.

Gordon

#9 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 797 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucum├ín, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 01 2012 - 05:54 PM

mmm, I'm using v2, but some people made me think about it... Are fps really better with v1 rasterizers? I'm always struggling for some additional fps and maybe I should try downgrading...

But, as most people. I vote to not delay the entire mod only because it still doesn't work with v1's  :thumbup:

#10 WalterC

WalterC

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, GTR2, P&G3, A/C, GTL, Go Kart racing, IMSA, WEC, ELMS, Blancpain, F1, Indy Cars, DTM, V8 Super Cars, Continental Tire Sports Cars
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 01 2012 - 10:22 PM

I vote to release now and patch later. I use V2 on an old machine. So I might not have enough FPS for a race, but I can still do time trials. I look forward to giving it a try

#11 Paddy the Irishman

Paddy the Irishman

    Paddy the Irishman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bexhill on Sea, E. Sussex, England
  • Interests:GPL; Model Cars; Photography. Assetto Corsa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 02 2012 - 12:43 AM

Release now and patch later I think please

#12 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,840 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Sep 02 2012 - 06:01 AM

View PostYngwie, on Sep 01 2012 - 05:03 PM, said:

V1 could be useful for some servers, especially when working with virtual machines.

Exactly.

---------------

v1 rasterizers would be nice for hosting to be able to host in  a small window as the Can-Am 71 mod atm only works with v2 wihch I only  can host in a full window on my server (which is an older model). But v2 is not essential  for hosting that it would be a reason to delay the relase of the mod for  some weeks.

I would say release it as it is having to use v2 and release an update later for v1, if possible. :)

Edited by Stefan Roess, Sep 02 2012 - 06:02 AM.


#13 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,436 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 02 2012 - 06:45 AM

Let's release A.S.A.P and patch later  :hat-tip: Sorry V1 users  :punish:

#14 svenvangent

svenvangent

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,001 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPl natuurlijk .... what else !
    And Projectcars perhaps !
  • Sim interest:I have no preference

Posted Sep 05 2012 - 07:41 AM

Also a V2 user , so ...... bring it on  :hat-tip:

#15 Andreh

Andreh

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 192 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Interests:Pre-80's racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 05 2012 - 07:56 AM

V1 user, release, patch it later




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links