• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 JMF

JMF

Denny Hulme

• Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Interests:GPL, gardening, woodworking, classic rock, modern blues, jazz-rock fusion, and sex.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 11 2012 - 10:52 AM

This is my first attempt at modifying AI files. I wanted to race against the computer at Reims and the AI files that came with the track I downloaded were overlooked. I used the 67 F1 cars to make my lines. Gurney and Clark qualify at about 1:59.50 with a npt setting of .95 , which is about the best I can run this course.  

These files could use some more work but they're decent. My lines are not the greatest. Scarfiotti, Brabham, and Parkes have a bad tendency to run wide in the two hairpins. The passing on the long straights could use some improvement. Lapped cars will sometimes cut across in front of you entering the turns. Sometimes the AI cars will ram you real hard going in the hairpins, particularly the one at the end of the long straight. I haven't been able to figure out how to keep the cars from switching from the inside line to the outside line when entering the hairpins. This is unrealistic behavior in most cases but overall doesn't seem to cause too many problems. The GT cars when passing on the straights sometimes will return to the racing line before they have completely passed you thus running you off the road.

In the track.ini file if you set the end start behavior section to section 31 the cars will run three wide into the first turn and will jump onto the race line at the 300m sign before the second turn. This provides more interesting starts and does not cause many if any crashes.

If anybody tries these files and finds them poor in quality please let me know. If nobody gets any use for my AI files I don't want to waste my time uploading them.

I will improve these files over time and eventually post them when I'm done if anybody is interested.

Attached Files