Jump to content


69 Mod Extra Released !


  • Please log in to reply
233 replies to this topic

#31 Frenchy

Frenchy

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 531 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2011 - 05:40 AM

View PostPaddy the Irishman, on May 23 2011 - 05:22 AM, said:

Is this a unique to mod problem ?  When I try to make a new 69x player, the page will not take a name - either first or second.  

I can change nationality and helmet colour on that page - but not enter a name and hence no new player.  That has not happened to me before.

It is only a minor inconvenience, but still..... Any suggestions?

However, MANY  thanks to the mod team, :clap2:  though I have not driven it yet :oops:

Works fine for me, Paddy. I was thinking that maybe something is set to read only but I would think that would only stop you saving it not entering it.

You did click on the 'NEW' button in the Player screen first didn't you?

Sorry not much help

Good luck
David

Edit: I don't get a cursor (something to do with v2 rasters?) but I can click in the box and enter text just the same.

Edited by Frenchy, May 23 2011 - 06:19 AM.


#32 christian

christian

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:in the upperaustrian alps
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2011 - 05:47 AM

thx and gratulations!!!
:hat-tip:  :clap2:  :clap2:  :clap2:  :D

#33 Remy

Remy

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 515 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2011 - 06:12 AM

View PostPaddy the Irishman, on May 23 2011 - 05:22 AM, said:

Is this a unique to mod problem ?  When I try to make a new 69x player, the page will not take a name - either first or second.  

I can change nationality and helmet colour on that page - but not enter a name and hence no new player.  That has not happened to me before.

It is only a minor inconvenience, but still..... Any suggestions?

However, MANY  thanks to the mod team, :clap2:  though I have not driven it yet :oops:

I've the same problem, just use the TAB button on your keyboard, the cursor should get active in the name field

#34 JohnnyFiama

JohnnyFiama

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2011 - 06:36 AM

Fantastic stuff! (as expected!)

My McLaren lap times around Kyalami are currently about 1 second off the original 69 mod, how do other people's times compare between the two versions?

Interestingly my (limited) laps in the BT20 at Kyalami were well over a second off my Brabham times in the 67 cars. I would have thought advances in tyres etc might make me quicker than 67? Might be a setup thing, I'll keep trying! Perhaps the BT24 is quicker? Too many cars not enough time!

Many thanks again, I can already see my summer disappearing trying all the cars and tracks!

Edited by JohnnyFiama, May 23 2011 - 06:37 AM.


#35 Dinga

Dinga

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2011 - 07:04 AM

Thank you for your time, effort, blood, sweat and tears to bring us this mod - it is awesome!!!

#36 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,768 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2011 - 07:58 AM

Fantastic mod, thanks to all involved!  :thumbup:  :clap2:  :yeah:

I installed it last night and I've been trying some practice sessions around Monza with all the cars, and it's brilliant. All the cars have their own individual characters, and I'm sure I'm going to have a lot of fun trying (and failing!) to master them all. One of the things I've noticed most is the amazing sound from the Maserati engine in the back of the Cooper - I love it!

I have a few observations and questions:

  • GEM doesn't seem to spot the new car setups. The original seven cars are fine. Presumably GEM will be tweaked at some point to fix this? (Very minor, easy to select in-game.)
  • Several of the cars (for example the Matra MS80) have the option of running a version with two wings, one wing or no wings. Presumably, if you're a purist and want a realistic driving experience, you should make sure that you remember to set the appropriate wing slots on your car to "no wing"?
  • Is it ok to copy over setups from the other mods to act as a starting point with some of the '69-extra cars? For example, would a Lotus 49 setup from the original '67s (renamed from ".lo1" to ".lp1") work ok for the '69-extra version? (I've already tried this with the Brabham BT26a and it seems to work fine.) I realise that the physics are not exactly the same, so I might have to make some minor tweaks, but would the older settings be somewhere in the ballpark?
Thanks again guys!  :wave:

Edited by Saiph, May 23 2011 - 08:14 AM.


#37 TvO - guest

TvO - guest
  • Guests

Posted May 23 2011 - 08:30 AM

Hi Saiph,

1.) Hopefully, but I think Paul T. is tied up in some other things at the moment. I'm sure he can fix the problem though, hopefully he'll get to it soon :) .

2.) Yes. It is possible to run with wings in your setup, but select a graphical version of the car which has no wings. Your choice ;) .

3.) Perfectly fine, I do it all the time.

@ Johnny, the BT20 is a little bit slower than the BT24. Both cars have a little bit more grip than in their first season due to newer tires.

Tommie.

#38 Manfred Cubenoggin

Manfred Cubenoggin

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 462 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Keswick, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Astronomy, chess, classical music(piano concetos), computers, firearms, modern military history, motor racing, racing sims.
  • Sim interest:I have no preference

Posted May 23 2011 - 09:27 AM

Downloaded(took a while; it's a big file).  Installed(took even longer).  Ran(yup, you guessed it...took quite a while to load).  Result?  No hiccups whatsoever.  :)

You understand that the above notations in brackets are simple observations, not complaints.  We were warned that time scales would be significantly longer.

I think that, as far as I've gone with the upgrade, this is simply stunning work by the Team.  Absolute drop-jaw stuff.

First thing I did(and as a REAL test of the race-specific options)was to load Mosport and go for couple of laps in Al Pease's old 4-banger Eagle.  It was, of course, entered and ran(however briefly)in the '69 Canadian GP.  Result?

There it was!  In all it's glory!  The 4-cylinder Coventry-Climax pounding out the beat.  Just super!  And as for detail, I'm positively agog at the side-draft DCOE Webers hanging off the side of the motor.  Fantastic!

You guys are just OUT THERE!  Thanks a million!  :)

#39 mouse

mouse

    "Titan del drink"

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South America
  • Interests:Stock Car racing
    Whelen Modifieds
    Club The Strongest
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2011 - 09:40 AM

:applause:

Thank you, v-e-r-y much!

#40 Vadima

Vadima

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Novosibirsk, Siberia, Russia
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2011 - 10:13 AM

Wow, Paul! I see where you have been! Thanks a lot! :clap2:

#41 tooncheesef1

tooncheesef1

    Hans Heyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Britain
  • Interests:GPL
    F1
    Lanica

Posted May 23 2011 - 10:16 AM

I offer my praise once again, but without sounding like I'm complaining as you have worked very hard on this. Oulton Park wouldn't load, and I looked in the folder and there is no driver.ini file. After a touch of digging I found the results:

With the F2 and F5000 cars taking up a portion of the field it would be unrealistic to have to make more cars for just one race. So should I just use the .ini file for Brands Hatch, or the one in the main gpl folder?

Once again great work on the Mod :clap2:  - how will I get anything done now :idunno:  

Attached File  oyoy.png   51.43K   62 downloads
from http://www.silhouet....9/1969.html#igc

EDIT: Turns out I installed the track badly  :oops: , it loads fine now, but my earlier question still stands

Edited by tooncheesef1, May 23 2011 - 10:27 AM.


#42 CapitanulHaos

CapitanulHaos

    John Surtees

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 37 posts
  • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

Posted May 23 2011 - 10:50 AM

Thank you ^_^

#43 varzi

varzi

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2011 - 11:01 AM

Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!  :thumbup:   :thumbup:

#44 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 792 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2011 - 12:25 PM

dam'n awesome!
Now what is next?

#45 deegee

deegee

    ...

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derbyshire, UK
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted May 23 2011 - 12:36 PM

Many thanks to all those involved with the production of this work of art - long-anticipated, but well worth the wait.
One minor graphical glitch - the AI Matras at Monaco run with no wings, but wing struts are visible in the rear view mirrors.
Also, whilst I appreciate that the physics have been tweaked, the AI now seem extremely reluctant to overtake with queues forming at most of the tracks I have tested on.
However, these minor issues aside, this is a wonderful update and greatly appreciated.
Many thanks  :clap2:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links