Jump to content


- - - - -

NR2003 windows 7


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 haines2416

haines2416

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Sim interest:Nascar

Posted Jul 20 2009 - 07:43 PM

i just got windows and i am trying to play NR2003, it loads up fine. i click race, i can watch the cars on the track and once i click drive, it freezes and crashes.

any ideas on how this will stop?

thanks

#2 Guest_AkseliGuest_

Guest_AkseliGuest_
  • Guests

Posted Jul 21 2009 - 05:29 AM

Are you using NO-CD patch? With it I had same problem.

#3 Jeff Scharpf

Jeff Scharpf

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 27 2009 - 08:03 PM

View PostAkseli, on Jul 21 2009, 06:29 AM, said:

Are you using NO-CD patch? With it I had same problem.

I have the same problem. Did you solve it?

I will try running the game with the CD if you think that will fix it.

Jeff

#4 fortine_oo

fortine_oo

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:LosAngeles,Ca,USA

Posted Oct 28 2009 - 02:30 PM

Windows 7 and No CD Patch
This is where I found this answer.

Disable DEP in Vista (AND) Windows 7

1. Click Start
2. Click All Programs
3. Click Accessories
4. Right Click on Command Prompt
5. Left click on Run as Administrator
6. Click the Allow button if it asks you for permission
7. Type or copy and paste this into the command prompt window:

bcdedit.exe /set {current} nx AlwaysOff

8. Hit enter and you should see the confirmation: Operation Completed Successfully
9. Reboot and DEP should be off.



(I don't have Windows 7 or Vista so I can't vouch for the validity of the results.)
fortine_oo

Edited by fortine_oo, Oct 28 2009 - 02:43 PM.


#5 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jan 13 2010 - 10:15 PM

I didn't have to disable DEP for N2k3 in Vista, but did for the GTP mod.

(GTP edits the original exe for whichever car you've selected, saves it as 'temp.exe' and runs the sim from that;  when you exit 'temp.exe' is deleted.  DEP will not allow that, nor will Vista allow you to place N2k3 or GTP in DEP's "ignore" list.  It's an irritating catch-22:  "You cannot disable DEP for this program.  This program must be run with DEP enabled."  Try to run the program and get: "DEP had stopped this program".)

N2k3, with the NoCD patch, gave me no problems in Vista at all;  just installed it and started driving.

Edited by jgf, Jan 13 2010 - 10:17 PM.


#6 BrunoB

BrunoB

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark, Jutland
  • Interests:GTP, GTP and GTP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 14 2010 - 04:04 AM

GTPs DEP problem solved.
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=4509

#7 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jan 14 2010 - 07:55 PM

From the last post in that thread, I gather you're still running GTP with DEP disabled.  I also tried getting temp.exe in the ignore list, but got the same error messages.  Tried starting GTP, minimizing it, making a copy of temp.exe and renaming it (in this case mazda.exe), shut down GTP, then run it from the new exe.  That didn't work either, nor did trying to add mazda.exe to the exclude list.

I think that DEP is sensing that temp.exe (under any name) is a modified version of a registered exe and therefore considers it a security threat.

#8 BrunoB

BrunoB

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark, Jutland
  • Interests:GTP, GTP and GTP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 22 2010 - 09:33 AM

Without nitpicking here (is that the word for focusing on veeeery small details:-) then I honestly dont think Windows can check this if you run GTP from tmp.exe.
Because if you dont start GTP via the GTP_Launcher then Windows have no clue of how tmp.exe is created.
At least I guess so:-)

#9 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jan 23 2010 - 01:30 PM

What I was told by a local comp engineer (who also teaches at OSU)- "When you install n2k3, nr2003.exe becomes a registered application;  when you try to run GTP, DEP senses that temp.exe is a modified nr2003.exe, considers it a security threat, and shuts it down."  

Why you can't add temp.exe to DEP's ignore list is beyond me.  Nor why DEP doesn't complain about the many games I run with noCD patches.  Perhaps if you could get Vista to consider temp.exe as a registered application, then DEP would accept it.

#10 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,064 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jul 09 2010 - 10:06 PM

View PostBrunoB, on Jan 14 2010 - 04:04 AM, said:

GTPs DEP problem solved.
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=4509

OS: Windows 7, 64 bit

My GTP 1.1 mod crashes with the original NR2003 CD and GTP 1.1 No-CD, although I have disabled DEP via: bcdedit.exe /set nx AlwaysOff (I rebooted afterwards).
I can get into car and drive some meters, than it crashes. I once even managed to get out of the pits at Watkins Glen.

Any ideas?

#11 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jul 10 2010 - 11:31 AM

I don't have W7, but that sounds like a graphics or memory issue.  Have you made the ini file tweaks?

#12 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,064 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jul 12 2010 - 01:47 AM

View Postjgf, on Jul 10 2010 - 11:31 AM, said:

I don't have W7, but that sounds like a graphics or memory issue.  Have you made the ini file tweaks?

Which ini file tweaks?  :confused:
Edit: Do you mean the GTP track.ini tweaks? No, I haven`t.

NR2003 patched to 1.1 runs fine. Only GTP mod crashes, so I doubt it might be graphics or memory related.

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jul 12 2010 - 02:16 AM.


#13 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jul 12 2010 - 02:44 AM

These are tweaks to core.ini to improve graphics performance and memory usage.  Don't know if it will cure your problem, but it won't hurt.  Other than the DEP problem, I've not encountered a situation where n2k3 would run but GTP wouldn't.  Are you sure DEP is completely disabled and wasn't just shut down once?  Also, did you install GTP into Program Files?  If so, reinstall or move it to C:\GTP, C:\Games\GTP, etc.  (Vista and W7 place some arcane file access limitations on anything in Program Files, even MS Flight Sim has problems running from there).

http://www.30plusrac...003Tweaks.shtml

#14 BrunoB

BrunoB

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark, Jutland
  • Interests:GTP, GTP and GTP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 12 2010 - 04:17 AM

View PostStefan Roess, on Jul 09 2010 - 10:06 PM, said:

OS: Windows 7, 64 bit
My GTP 1.1 mod crashes with the original NR2003 CD and GTP 1.1 No-CD, although I have disabled DEP via: bcdedit.exe /set nx AlwaysOff (I rebooted afterwards).
I can get into car and drive some meters, than it crashes. I once even managed to get out of the pits at Watkins Glen.

If Win 7 crashes even with the original NR2003 CD then it must be something else than a purely Win 7 issue.
But just to exclude a further cause try to set UAC (User Account Control) off and check if that makes any difference.
Its irritating that you cannot get GTP to run because in my oppinion NR2003/GTP runs even better on Win 7 than on XP.
Oh by the way. Im running 64 bit too.

#15 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,064 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jul 12 2010 - 12:34 PM

I did the ini tweaks, deactivated DEP and UAC but GTP still crashes.
I am really running out of ideas now.

Anyone can help?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links