Jump to content


- - - - -

position of the pit board


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#16 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 05:55 PM

I found out what moves the pitboard along the screen :)
Are the positioner values of the pitboard.srb in the objects folder. :rolleyes:

Here you see a screenie with the default value on top and below of that you see how I tweaked the positioner so you can see it very well when the pitguy is on  the left or on the right.
As stone said, You need to adjust the value for tracks that have the pitguy on the right or on the left in the track.ini
If on the right (value negative) the pitboard is showed on the right so when using a lower FOV you need to move it more on the left and below; while if on the left, you need to move it more right and below. :wave:

Attached Files



#17 lvlo

lvlo

    Jochen Rindt

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow, Russia
  • Sim interest:other

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 06:35 PM

Thank you a lot Ginetto - now I can see the whole pitboard! Posted Image

#18 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,705 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 22 2010 - 12:42 AM

Thanks a lot Ginetto and ptmac3 (Percy or ?)  :thumbup:

#19 ptmac3

ptmac3

    Monza Gorilla

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, NY
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 22 2010 - 05:40 AM

View PostBernd Nowak, on Sep 22 2010 - 12:42 AM, said:

Thanks .......................................Percy or ?) :thumbup:

That be me Bernd! Hope everything's okay with you.

Edited by ptmac3, Sep 22 2010 - 05:41 AM.


#20 RealOldFred

RealOldFred

    Indigenous Person

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted Sep 22 2010 - 08:07 AM

Just a silly additional thought:  The pitboard man always holds the board out to his left, even if he is on the right side of the track.  Is it possible to mirror the image and drop it into the track folders of "right side" tracks?

I always thought the 'Ring pit sign should come out of the back of the pit buildings, but I didn't change it because he would be extending the sign the wrong way!

Edited by RealOldFred, Sep 22 2010 - 08:54 AM.


#21 tikfas

tikfas

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted May 02 2016 - 12:22 PM

View Postginetto, on Sep 21 2010 - 05:55 PM, said:

I found out what moves the pitboard along the screen Posted Image
Are the positioner values of the pitboard.srb in the objects folder. :rolleyes:

Here you see a screenie with the default value on top and below of that you see how I tweaked the positioner so you can see it very well when the pitguy is on  the left or on the right.
As stone said, You need to adjust the value for tracks that have the pitguy on the right or on the left in the track.ini
If on the right (value negative) the pitboard is showed on the right so when using a lower FOV you need to move it more on the left and below; while if on the left, you need to move it more right and below. :wave:
Hi there,i also want to fix the missing part of the pitboard but i cant find pitboard.srb file to open with winmip2.
Where the hell is this file hidden?
Nevermind,you got to unpack objects.dat and in the folder created is the pitboard.srb file.
From now on we open with winmip2 and change the values according to how pitboard is shown in our tracks(depend on our fov),right?

Edited by tikfas, May 02 2016 - 12:30 PM.


#22 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 02 2016 - 05:31 PM

Yes right ;)

#23 tikfas

tikfas

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted May 04 2016 - 12:40 PM

View Postginetto, on May 02 2016 - 05:31 PM, said:

Yes right ;)
As you can see my pitboard needs to be down and i dont know left or right,either will be good for me.
My Fov is set in Gem@77 and the track is Riverside.
Please can you show me what to change in order this pitboard to be moved down(first) and left(i prefer it)?
I opened pitboard.srb with mipmap2 and i got the window you showed us with only one small window.
Do i have to change the parameters in the last line?
In the track.ini(Riverside) there is a line; pit_board = 12.0 5204.0 -100.0 100.0        ; dlat of board, dlong of board, dlong LOS start, dlong LOS end (last 2 not used)
Do i have to change something here?
Please can you do a detailed guide?
Regards Jim.

Attached Files



#24 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 05 2016 - 02:25 AM

Just so you understand.
The numbers you see in the last line are the pixels form the top left that are used to anchor the pitboard to a fixed point on the screen. I marked the fixed point on the screen in your image.
Attached File  IMG10219.jpg   93.6K   60 downloads

In the winmip image I marked where the texture gets anchored to the screen using those values.
Attached File  pitboard EXPLAINED.jpg   73.58K   64 downloads
You can put any number from 0 to 128 since the texture is a squared 128x128 pixels.

Hope now is clear for you :wave:

#25 tikfas

tikfas

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted May 05 2016 - 04:22 AM

Thanks ginetto for your patience and offer to GPL world!
So in order to have my pitboard move down a little(in order to see all of it),I have to change the second number in the last row of winmip,maybe near 127(bottom) and save it

#26 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 05 2016 - 07:35 AM

The default has a value of 127 as you can see in the picture.
If you want to lower the pitboard you need to reduce that value, not increase it .
That purple circle represent the needle that is stick into your screen, you cannot move that.

You just do a couple of changes in that value and check out the result, I think you will understand.

#27 Fat Rich

Fat Rich

    Lazy Blipper

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 710 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fallen out of the Karussell again
  • Interests:GPL has got me by the throat and won't let go.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 05 2016 - 08:42 AM

Don't suppose it's possible to reduce the size of the board?  To be readable it needed to be big when we were playing at 640 x 480, but now a lot of us are at 1920 x 1080 or more it's massive.

I'm assuming the srb is called by a 3do somewhere, could this 3do be replaced with a smaller one? Would this affect the writing that goes on the board, I know the font can be changed.

I'm also assuming the writing is hard coded somewhere in the game and would stay the same size and no longer fit, despite the board graphic being smaller :D

#28 tikfas

tikfas

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted May 05 2016 - 09:32 AM

Thanks again ginetto!
Will try and report back later!!!!

Love cannam66!!!! :up: :Meter: :thankyou:

#29 tikfas

tikfas

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted May 06 2016 - 02:19 AM

View Postginetto, on May 05 2016 - 07:35 AM, said:

The default has a value of 127 as you can see in the picture.
If you want to lower the pitboard you need to reduce that value, not increase it .
That purple circle represent the needle that is stick into your screen, you cannot move that.

You just do a couple of changes in that value and check out the result, I think you will understand.
I did lowered the value from default 127 to 80 as you mentioned but ...nothing,the pitboard didn't move!
Do I have to pack the folder to DAT as it was in the first place?
After I changed the value(second parameter in last row of winmip2) I saved as pitboard.srb and I overwritted the old one,right?
What did I wrong?
Please...

#30 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 06 2016 - 04:12 AM

Extract this into your GPL folder and let it overwrite.
Report back :)

Attached Files

  • Attached File  objs.zip   685bytes   14 downloads





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links