Jump to content


- - - - -

position of the pit board


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 richard

richard

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jun 20 2009 - 11:16 AM

Hello,

I started to drive in FOV 73 degrees. But I found, that the Pit Board can't fit into the screen... I mean, left side of the board is not visible. Is any possibility to change the position of this board? Somewehere in any .ini? Or?

Thanks

Richard

#2 Ken

Ken

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jun 20 2009 - 12:54 PM

View Postrichard, on Jun 20 2009, 06:16 PM, said:

Hello,

I started to drive in FOV 73 degrees. But I found, that the Pit Board can't fit into the screen... I mean, left side of the board is not visible. Is any possibility to change the position of this board? Somewehere in any .ini? Or?

Thanks

Richard

Yes, in the track.ini file of each track in the pit_lane_0 section (see example from my monza track below).

But easier than editing this for every track is to patch with GPLShift. GPLShift has many many functions but one hidden advantage I found when using it is that the pitboard is visible no matter what FOV setting you use.

[ pit_lane_0 ]
lane_on_right = 1 ; 0 if lane on left, 1 if on right
lane_has_wall = 1 ; 0 if no pit wall, 1 if pit wall exists
lane_bounds_dlong = 5370.4 5715.0 ; start/end dlong of the pit lane
lane_bounds_dlat = -18.3 -3.7 ; start/end dlat of the pit lane
pit_board = 14.4 550 -100.0 100.0 ; dlat of board, dlong of board, dlong LOS start, dlong LOS end (last 2 not used)

#3 richard

richard

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jun 21 2009 - 03:14 AM

Thank you, i'm going to try this...

R.

#4 lvlo

lvlo

    Jochen Rindt

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow, Russia
  • Sim interest:other

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 01:52 AM

Ken, could you please tell what exactly function of GPLShift makes the pitboard always visible. I use Nigel's rasters version 2.5 and have 1920x1080 resolution, so I can't see the top of pitboard.

#5 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 02:41 AM

I use GPLshift but I found the pitboard look the same as before. :idunno:
For what I know, in the track ini you can change the position of the pitboard on the track, not on the screen :unsure:

#6 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 03:14 AM

There had been an addon which changes position of pitboard related to FOV. It came with various batch files.

#7 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 07:30 AM

Never heard of that utility, do you remember the name of it or anybody has the actual files? :)
It would be great for the upcoming SportCarMOD too since the incar view is already quite smaller compared to the F1 :rolleyes:

#8 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 09:11 AM

Here's the link to the time machine: http://web.archive.o...toned/index.htm

Now we must find the files :)

There's the batch files as well as pits guys

Also what I can't find is the chalked pit boards which looked sweet :)

#9 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 09:13 AM

There's a utility called GPL Flagman (a misnomer as it's the pitboard guy who is moved) found at http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=2954

It reads all the track.ini pitboard settings in your gpl\tracks folder (and only the track.ini - not the mod specific ones) and lets you enter another longitude and latitude setting.

This won't change the position on the monitor, but I find that it's rare that the board isn't fully visible.  The 67 Sportscar mod windscreen will hide part of the pitboard, though.

>>>>>>>>

Bernd, I don't know if the FOV utility is needed any more as you can use GPLShift or GEM to adjust the FOV (and POV in GPLShift)
.
.
.

Edited by Bob Simpson, Sep 21 2010 - 09:20 AM.


#10 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 09:43 AM

I really don't recall what the batch files did Stones had. But I even remember that we had files for GPL Flagman which had better positions for the well known tracks.

So much gone with RSC. But that's life ;)

#11 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 10:34 AM

View PostBernd Nowak, on Sep 21 2010 - 09:43 AM, said:

I really don't recall what the batch files did Stones had. But I even remember that we had files for GPL Flagman which had better positions for the well known tracks.
Recommended pitboard positions are included with GPL Flagman.

Attached Files



#12 lvlo

lvlo

    Jochen Rindt

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow, Russia
  • Sim interest:other

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 11:11 AM

This program moves GPL Flagman around the track, but does nothing with actial pitboad position on screen.

Edited by lvlo, Sep 21 2010 - 11:18 AM.


#13 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 11:29 AM

View Postlvlo, on Sep 21 2010 - 11:11 AM, said:

This program moves GPL Flagman around the track, but does nothing with actial pitboad position on screen.

What Stones did was somehow different. If you read the FAQ he had changed the behavior of the way the pit board is displayed. I checked the objs.dat and for sure there are some pitboard files in it. Could it be that he really had edited the offset of the object itself?

Can't believe that those files should be gone  :rolleyes:

#14 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 05:01 PM

View PostBernd Nowak, on Sep 21 2010 - 09:11 AM, said:

...
Also what I can't find is the chalked pit boards which looked sweet :)
I have this that you might like  ;)

Attached Files


Edited by Ginetto, Sep 21 2010 - 05:01 PM.


#15 ptmac3

ptmac3

    Monza Gorilla

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, NY
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 05:06 PM

View PostBernd Nowak, on Sep 21 2010 - 11:29 AM, said:

View Postlvlo, on Sep 21 2010 - 11:11 AM, said:

This program moves GPL Flagman around the track, but does nothing with actial pitboad position on screen.

What Stones did was somehow different. If you read the FAQ he had changed the behavior of the way the pit board is displayed. I checked the objs.dat and for sure there are some pitboard files in it. Could it be that he really had edited the offset of the object itself?

Can't believe that those files should be gone :rolleyes:

Try these. They might be what you are looking for. In positioning the pitboard guy on the track I would be careful using less than 400 meters beyond the s/f line. Extensive testing proved that below that figure might cause the previous lap time to be displayed and sometimes intermittently. Sometimes there was no problem.

Attached Files



#16 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 05:55 PM

I found out what moves the pitboard along the screen :)
Are the positioner values of the pitboard.srb in the objects folder. :rolleyes:

Here you see a screenie with the default value on top and below of that you see how I tweaked the positioner so you can see it very well when the pitguy is on  the left or on the right.
As stone said, You need to adjust the value for tracks that have the pitguy on the right or on the left in the track.ini
If on the right (value negative) the pitboard is showed on the right so when using a lower FOV you need to move it more on the left and below; while if on the left, you need to move it more right and below. :wave:

Attached Files



#17 lvlo

lvlo

    Jochen Rindt

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow, Russia
  • Sim interest:other

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 06:35 PM

Thank you a lot Ginetto - now I can see the whole pitboard! Posted Image

#18 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 22 2010 - 12:42 AM

Thanks a lot Ginetto and ptmac3 (Percy or ?)  :thumbup:

#19 ptmac3

ptmac3

    Monza Gorilla

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, NY
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 22 2010 - 05:40 AM

View PostBernd Nowak, on Sep 22 2010 - 12:42 AM, said:

Thanks .......................................Percy or ?) :thumbup:

That be me Bernd! Hope everything's okay with you.

Edited by ptmac3, Sep 22 2010 - 05:41 AM.


#20 RealOldFred

RealOldFred

    Indigenous Person

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted Sep 22 2010 - 08:07 AM

Just a silly additional thought:  The pitboard man always holds the board out to his left, even if he is on the right side of the track.  Is it possible to mirror the image and drop it into the track folders of "right side" tracks?

I always thought the 'Ring pit sign should come out of the back of the pit buildings, but I didn't change it because he would be extending the sign the wrong way!

Edited by RealOldFred, Sep 22 2010 - 08:54 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links