Jump to content


- - - - -

60 fps AI for testing


  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 22 2009 - 09:42 AM

The attached patch will make AI available at 60 fps. AI is not expected to work properly, but they seem to stay mostly on track and drive in the right direction  :D  Read the readme, and if you have not already done so, also read the README for the original 60 fps patch. Report 60 fps AI problems here, and non-AI related 60 fps bugs in the 60 fps topic.

UPDATE: the 60fpsv2 patch makes AI available as well, so its better to upgrade to that:
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=4584

Note that AI is only expected to be somewhat driveable for the original 67 only. Mods (including the not yet released 67 mod) change the AI in a way which is not compatible with 60fps, so the results are not good.

Attached Files


Edited by brr, Jul 08 2009 - 01:44 AM.


#2 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 22 2009 - 11:56 AM

Thank you for this.  All I ask of AI is that they run at a reasonable pace, mostly finish the race, and don't bang into me too much.

#3 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 22 2009 - 12:04 PM

View Postmiklkit, on May 22 2009, 07:56 PM, said:

Thank you for this.  All I ask of AI is that they run at a reasonable pace, mostly finish the race, and don't bang into me too much.

That rules out the 67's unless you take out Surtees 1st  ;)

Cheers,

Martin

GPL utilities 3dostrn,GPLRecord,GPLMixdrivers, GPLCarswitcher and the GPL Comic-book of Monza check my website


#4 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2009 - 02:52 PM

Naw.  I like the 67 AI.  Surtees is only nuts in the 1st lap.  He can't help it if that White Whale can't stop.  

Not a bug report or complaint.  Just observations of what you probably already know.  Ran some races at Rock Lobster's Watkins Glen in the Lotus 49.  40fps bog that went up to 60fps in a few seconds.  The AI pace was good for most drivers, with the pole at 1:06 + or -.  There was no passing, so the races were parades.  Sometimes the AI seemed to be afraid of their own shadow and jumped off track for no good reason.  Damaged cars sometimes behaved oddly.  Pass with care.  They cornered well and accelerated normally, but didn't seem to have good top speed.  Overall, I've seen much worse.

Attached Files



#5 salvasirignano

salvasirignano

    John Surtees

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2009 - 05:36 PM

Thanks brr!  :)

Edited by salvasirignano, May 23 2009 - 05:37 PM.


#6 jklhill

jklhill

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2009 - 09:52 PM

Thanks brr. I can't wait to get home and try these! :clap2:

#7 ezechiel47

ezechiel47

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 24 2009 - 04:47 AM

Many thanks for that marvelous patch. Now i don't want to play any more without it !

Ive made some laps at silverstone (original AI) with gpl 67 and syracuse (personnal AI) with 66'mod. But not yet a complete race.

I'm happy to say there is no big issues !

AI behaviour is coherent (so far it's possible in gpl). Lap times are correct. Drivers'hierarchy doesn't seem to be really affected. And on my installs, AI can pass each other without any problems.

One thing however : it seems that specially when they pass or try to pass, AI have a behaviour a bit too abrupt. Acoording to me, they also tend to pass too often, they change the line too often (like said Miklit).

But these are only quick considerations after a dozen of laps.

Ez

#8 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 24 2009 - 10:24 AM

I went to Torino and Clermont Ferrand last nite.  At Torino the AI are better than the other 2 I've tried there.   ;)     I even had a nice dice with Surtees, passing and repassing until I finally made it stick.  Then stuck my Brabham in the haybales....  That track is fun and challenging in the 66's but devilish in the 67's.  

At C-L I kept crashing, but let the AI finish.  Best time: 3:20, 9 finishers.  Is that good for 67?

#9 ezechiel47

ezechiel47

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 25 2009 - 01:12 AM

View Postmiklkit, on May 24 2009, 11:24 AM, said:

I went to Torino and Clermont Ferrand last nite.  At Torino the AI are better than the other 2 I've tried there.   ;)     I even had a nice dice with Surtees, passing and repassing until I finally made it stick.  Then stuck my Brabham in the haybales....  That track is fun and challenging in the 66's but devilish in the 67's.  

At C-L I kept crashing, but let the AI finish.  Best time: 3:20, 9 finishers.  Is that good for 67?

3'20" is correct (but it depend on your driver.ini and your track.ini, on my install its 3'22"). 9 finishers it's not enough. AI are a bit weird. I test some tweaks in the gplai...
Ez

#10 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 25 2009 - 11:41 AM

I have never touched the 67 AI. I always liked them the way they are.  

Yesterday I went to Spa, figuring their lack of speed would really show up.  Wrong!!  They ran just fine there.  The backmarkers were slow, but the fast guys are still fast.  

Next was Rouen.  I set a new Brabham PB there.  Didn't see any odd behavior there.

Then I tried Zandvoort because I had recently spent some time there.  There was a 3 second spread from 1st to last.  That made for heavy traffic.
Then, thinking about EZ's comments about the 66's, I tried the 66's there.  They worked!  But I had messed with the AI there and they were weird.  There was a 14 second spread, which is good.  But most of them topped out at 120mph (200kph?).  I saw the AI passing each other for the first time too. Later in the race passing lapped cars was the issue.   Their laps were in the 1:31 to 1:45 range.  The AI couldn't seem to make up their mind what to do when I showed up behind them and wobbled and darted all over the track, often bumping into me.  But that is a bad track to look at them because of my tweeks.  Oh, my 36fps 66 McLaren pb there is 1:29.96.  At 60fps I got a 1:29.97.

#11 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 25 2009 - 11:49 AM

I would not expect too much from 60fps AI with the mods. From what I understand, mods change the AI and there is currently nothing in the patch to take this into account. The result is either that the patch overwrites some mod AI parameters, or mod AI overwrites some of the 60fps AI parameters.

#12 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 25 2009 - 04:53 PM

You are right.  I just tried the 60fps patch on the 66's at Monza.  They were hopelessly slow.  Unchecked the box in GEM and they were their usual self again.

#13 sky

sky

    ultra highres junkie & 917 addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,546 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the last haven for petrolheads
  • Interests:travel, music, racing, vintage cars, model cars
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 26 2009 - 03:11 AM

doesn't seem to affect the '69 mod that much. i'm running at 1.85-2.0 in the ai adjust thingy, and there's some that are quite fast, but not unrealisticly (i used to haev the ai setting at 0.5 and they were doing 52-55sec laps at the glen :o, doh) so. it's times i could eventually equal given enough practice. but there were quite a few that were slower than me - but that's ok too.

as someone already noted sometimes the ai drives rather slow. especially in groups of 3, hardly overtakin. i tested this in reims with the long backstraight, no overtaking on the uphill stretch but sometimes (after trailing the entire straight) they would pull out right before the turn, where they would get into my approach (and i would have to take the um emergency exit)

still i prefer all of this over having to bear with 36fps

#14 jklhill

jklhill

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 26 2009 - 08:37 AM

69 at the Glen seems good. Some abrupt line changes that I am sure can be fine tuned with the ai_ini. I found them quite enjoyable. And 60fps  :thumbup: Thanks to everyone involved!

Edited by jklhill, May 26 2009 - 08:38 AM.


#15 francesco

francesco

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:COMO (Italy)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 26 2009 - 09:56 AM

Excuse me,but i have not understood.This AI is also for 66 ,65 ,69 or only for 67?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Bing (1)

Sim Racing Links