Jump to content


* * * * * 1 votes

Zandvoort 67 Multi-Season Add-on


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 dangermouse

dangermouse

    The mobile chicane

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SRMZ/GPLR London, UK
  • Interests:Errrrrr, GPL? :-)
    Music , computing, hi-fi, motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 24 2009 - 10:38 AM

It seems that this important addon is not listed here nor can I find it hosted anywhere, sorry. Now you can find it here.


Quote

Zandvoort_Multi_season_update

by Remy Roesz, Paul Skingley , Rob Hunter and Steffen Weitzdörfer.

This update to the GPL Zandvoort track should be installed over an original version of the zandvort track from the GPL CD.
If you have other updates already, rename or remove your zandvort folder and copy in a fresh version from the GPL CD.
Copy the CONTENTS of the supplied zandvort folder to your zandvort folder.

This update is not Voodoo compatible and is recommended for use on modern PC systems with 3ghz processor or better.

Contains mod specific files for 65, 66, 67 ( default ) and 69.

1/Different Horizons depicting weather conditions on the race days of each season.
2/Changing banners, buildings, textures and track objects depicting the track on the race days of each season.
3/Pit wall and armco for 1969.
4/Main straight bridge only present in 1966.
5/New hotels and hanger building.
6/Many new textures and objects.
7/Different groove for each season.

NOTE
if you wish to pack the files into the dat after installaion, only pack 3do, mips and srb. Do not pack the mod specific files.

Here are a few screens that Mech made for us :)

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image


010108


Attached File  Zandvoort_Multi_season_update.zip   24.9MB   1653 downloads

Steffen W; 25-06-2008 said:

Dear Downloaders,

please delete the file named trackCM.ini in your zandvort folder.

It may cause trouble in the future where we all will have forgotten about it existing.

While there you also may want to delete cmpic.pbf since it is not clear whether that filename will ever be used, leaving this file there is no problem though.

Steffen




Ginetto; 08-06-2008 said:

Thanks a lot for this first multi season track!  :thumbup:
It will be a very usefull example for who will want to add this feature to other tracks:banana:


Little fix to the camera guy srb
Attachment single6.7z

.



You can find Rudy's lite version over HERE.




:wave:

Attached Files



#2 Burnsy865

Burnsy865

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 25 2009 - 12:20 AM

THANK YOU DM :D

This is excellent, do you know of any other tracks that are going to have this done to them?

Craig

#3 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,703 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 25 2009 - 12:47 AM

There's a lot of work going on for Mexico and Kyalami was mentioned too but I think MExico is the next one I'm aware :)

#4 Burnsy865

Burnsy865

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 25 2009 - 04:24 PM

Thanks Bernd. I now have another thing to look forward to for this ever improving sim. :lol:

#5 plons

plons

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 30 2009 - 09:44 AM

A question,

If I regroove the track without selecting any objects will everything still be present?

I'm asking because right now i have a few grandstands on the track after regrooving  :rolleyes:

If some things will be gone, anyone care to explain how and what objects I have to select to keep everything as it is ? (I know I'm a noob :unsure: )

Thanks

#6 Frenchy

Frenchy

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 531 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 30 2009 - 07:34 PM

The multi-season update has different grooves for each season so you don't really need to regroove. The developers of the update put a lot of effort in to getting it all right and probably be offended if you regroove.

But just out of technical interest, the solution (for non-multi-season-update tracks) is to unpack the .DAT file (with Doodat or similar) and repack with all the appropriate add-on files included. Then you should be able to regroove without unwanted effects. I doubt this will work with the multi-season update tracks cause the Racing Line will load the 3do instead of the the 366 file etc. I once found a tutorial on this but can't locate it now. Someone with better knowledge may be more help.

#7 dangermouse

dangermouse

    The mobile chicane

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SRMZ/GPLR London, UK
  • Interests:Errrrrr, GPL? :-)
    Music , computing, hi-fi, motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 31 2009 - 01:44 AM

More MECH sceenies:

Posted Image
Posted Image





View PostFrenchy, on May 31 2009, 02:34 AM, said:

I doubt this will work with the multi-season update tracks cause the Racing Line will load the 3do instead of the the 366 file etc. I once found a tutorial on this but can't locate it now. Someone with better knowledge may be more help.
I would have thought renaming as needed would have worked but I don't really know. :idunno: although I can't see the need of doing this for this great track addon. I would have said there are a lot more needy tracks out there but each to their own.....

Wouldn't it be best to ask this question in a different forum rather than this thread? How about HERE.

#8 Nuwanda

Nuwanda

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 18 2009 - 11:39 AM

Very nice update and I see the differences beztween the 67, 66, and 69er Mod. I applied all modspecific-patches, but I cant see any difference between the 65-Mod and the 67-Standard. Shouldn`t there be modspecific graphics for the 65-Mod with the newest patch applied?

#9 one2fwee

one2fwee

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 246 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Dec 11 2009 - 02:35 PM

So far i've only tried 67s but it's really nice :)

I like the new groove - certainly helped me improve a bit.

The only problem I have is that braking down to turn 1 is now very scary - as part of what the game considers "grass" now has tarmac texture on the "join" (the join being quite large), and what seems to be part of the natural braking line goes over this "grass", so you can spin rather easily.
Maybe editing that join texture to give it a bigger proportion of grass and less tarmac would help?

Anyway, really nice and good job :)

#10 Kenny

Kenny

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Westminster,Co USA
  • Interests:1.Out under dark,steady skies with my telescope
    2.GPL
    3.SPMBT
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jan 21 2010 - 09:41 PM

A Voodoo card compatible version for this definitive/must have update for Zandvoort. Make sure to make a backup of your track folder first.

Attached Files



#11 Brian Speake

Brian Speake

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bedfordshire, UK
  • Interests:Rugby
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2010 - 12:57 PM

Have the multi-season update installed and works ok (I get bridge in 1966 and pitwall in 1969 etc) however I had an old update that said the kerbs were blue/white from 1967 onwards. Is this true and should I see them when running 1969 mod. There are four curb files in the track folder curb.m65, curb.m66, curb.m69 and curb.mip.

#12 one2fwee

one2fwee

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 246 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 16 2010 - 12:49 PM

Hi does anyone have any reply regarding the track edge?

The seam between the grass and tarmac can be seen in this screenshot:
Posted Image
That tarmac edge is actually grass, and forms part of the natural braking line down to turn 1.
Is there a reason for it to be like it is or did it happen partly by mistake?
I just ask so that i might be able to alter that particular texture so i am not tempted onto the "grass" by mistake - as it has caught me out sometimes :D

Thanks :)

#13 sky

sky

    ultra highres junkie & 917 addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,549 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the last haven for petrolheads
  • Interests:travel, music, racing, vintage cars, model cars
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 16 2010 - 01:50 PM

what do you mean? that it is "grass", although it shows as, at least partially, tarmac? well i guess you have a choice really when creating the textures. one choice being to make a hard edge, probably like it was before, a hard edge between green and gray. gray being what is designated "track", green what is "grass". so no confusion there. another choice could be, if there is a distinct row of polies just for this transitional area, to do what has been done here, and make a softer transition. but then you have to decide what type of surface you want to assign to that row of polies - track or grass? either one has it's faults. if you make it "track", then the track becomes wider than it actually should be giving you more room, but of course it helps keep the impression that you can drive up to the raggedy edge safely - actually even beyond. or if you go the other way and designate it "grass", then yes, the visuals can be misleading. but then you do see the seam between normal tarmac and that verge. well i see it anyway (in your screenshot there is a thin line where the 2 textures do not align perfectly).

this, however, only applies when you texture a track you yourself or your team is creating. if you are working with a track built by someone else, like zandvoort by papryrus in this case, you do not have the choice of what surface to assign to a polygon (at least to my knowledge). so you can only change the graphics. and this is the case here. so i'd say, what you see now as the transition between track and grass actually used to be grass before, hence the track may appear wider than original. but i'd say you get used to that quite easily, it's a learning thing i guess. well in any case, i would prefer the soft edge of the butt-ugly original graphics any day. especially here at zandvoort, the border used to be pretty green with grass overgrowing the curbs, etc...
:rantoff:

#14 one2fwee

one2fwee

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 246 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 16 2010 - 02:13 PM

Yes i agree, but as you can see from the texture, the tarmac extends quite a way in the "seam" texture (i trust you can see the join?) before the blend of the edge starts. Due to this, one could change the texture so that the proportion between grass and tarmac is more on the grass side of things. A lot of the texture at present seems to be clean tarmac - not part of the blend of grass and tarmac at the edge. This is where the perceptial problem lies.

I hope this makes sense :)

#15 Border Reiver - guest

Border Reiver - guest
  • Guests

Posted May 16 2010 - 03:00 PM

In all GPL tracks you look at the 3do and you drive on the trk. As Sky says, you can make the textures look however you want and it will not affect what it feels like to drive on.

You are quite correct that in the trk file that transition texture in the 3do is mapped onto a surface which is grass, and so although it does look like it is part tarmac and part grass, the surface you are driving on is all grass. Your options are to either drive further in from the edges or to change the texture to show exactly what the surface is. You could achieve this either using a straight line edge between the surfaces which most accurately represents what you are driving on, but also looks very unnatural and unattractive, or you could modify the transition textures to have much more grass and much less tarmac in them, although you would still not have perfect definition of where the edges are. Another option would be to add a thin line at the edge of the transition texture which would show where the edges are, but would also maybe look a little better, although since the real track did not have this "safety" line this is also unrealistic.

Sky's point about track widths is also a good one, since necessarily when making tracks, the transitions between surfaces needs to be considered. I have seen a variety of approaches, and personally I tend towards using concrete at the edges but including that concrete as part of the total real track width, so that the edges have slightly less grip, perhaps indicating a build up of dust and dirt there. However, when editing a released track there is no option to adjust that retrospectively, so we are stuck with whatever decisions were made in the original release.

In transition textures it is generally better to go for an asymmetric split though I guess, so that the underlying surface is better represented and drivers automatically adjust their lines accordingly.

Rob

Edited by Border Reiver, May 16 2010 - 03:03 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links