Jump to content


Voodoo-friendly 66er-mod-car-folders


  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#16 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,716 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2008 - 12:56 PM

Achim,
I will try to send you the files tomorrow (better I will send you the link ;) )

#17 ACHIM KRAFT

ACHIM KRAFT

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 642 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends (some mods only)
    MODS:1965/1969EXTRA/TC-2/1965-Night
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2008 - 03:29 PM

Hi Bernd !

O.k., i will download the files and check it.

Greetings

Achim

#18 Keithuk

Keithuk

    VB Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staffordshire, England
  • Interests:I've been programming with VB for 14 years. Started with VB4 16bit Pro, VB5 Pro, VB6 Pro/Enterprise and now VB3 Pro. But I'm no expert, I'm still learning.

    http://www.martin2k.co.uk/forums/

Posted Feb 15 2008 - 06:51 AM

Hi Achim.

View PostACHIM KRAFT, on Feb 1 2008, 12:14 PM, said:

loading-time problems or (like me) with the "stone-old" Voodoo-Graphic-Card.
Well you are lucky you still have a Voodoo card. My Voodoo3 2000 packed up 3 months ago and Voodoo haven't made them for years. I've done web searches to see if anyone else makes 3DFX cards but nothing comes up. I know you occasionally can get Voodoo5/5.5 cards on eBay.

I managed to locate a second hand Nvidia Geforce2 MX400 at my local computer builders but the graphical effects on running GPL aren't as good as Voodoo.

Can anyone recommend a good graphics card that has the same graphical effects as Voodoo (3DFX)?  :thumbup:

#19 ACHIM KRAFT

ACHIM KRAFT

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 642 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends (some mods only)
    MODS:1965/1969EXTRA/TC-2/1965-Night
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 15 2008 - 07:30 AM

Hi Keithuk !

I am since 2001 on the old Voodoo5 5500 with my PIII 933 Mhz (512 MB RAM on 133 MHz SDRAM). I had the best results ever for GPL-looking with low-res screen and 4xAA (with Voodoo-hardware).  :kewlpics:

I never check modern grahik-cards behind 2001. O.k., i see something on modern PC, but all on the market looks chaotic (cards, drivers and GPL errors with this). So i loose interest on market. I get a second "brandnew" Voodoo5 5500 in 2001 for reserve by me and i will defend this card with my life. So, i am lucky Voodoo-user with reserve.    :bandana1:  

Take a search on e-bay for the legendary Voodoo5 5500. This will be the best you can get for your money. Trust me. Let me know, what Voodoo5 5500 will cost on e-bay. I pay in 2001 ca. 150 Euro for a second-hand-card. This card running in my computer today for over 6 years without any problem. My second Voodoo5 5500 i speak above, has cost brandnew in the year 2000 ca. 700 Deutschmark (now ca. 340 Euro).

I will ask some league-members for an old Voodoo3. I remember something offer one to me. I ask him and make a PN to you for the results. This will during only 2 or 3 days. With a bit luck, you can get the card for sending costs.

Greetings

Achim

P.S.: The GForce2 MX400 is a bit quicker then my Voodoo5 5500, but all screens looking moutheaten and crapy.

Edited by ACHIM KRAFT, Feb 15 2008 - 07:37 AM.


#20 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,801 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 16 2008 - 06:57 AM

Here are the complete fixed Achim collection in a single .7z file even smaller than before (7z max compression 39Mb ;) )  thanks Achim :thumbup:

Who wants to test it without have to unpack all the singles files, remember that the zip contains a complete cars66 directory that needs to be placed under GPL\cars\ instead of the original one, please rename or backup your original directory before to install this one :rolleyes:

cars66_LITE

EDIT: Fixed, the brabham folder is no longer misplaced, thanks Swen :thumbup:
:wave:

Edited by dangermouse, Feb 18 2008 - 08:52 AM.


#21 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 16 2008 - 08:28 AM

View PostKeithuk, on Feb 15 2008, 12:51 PM, said:

Can anyone recommend a good graphics card that has the same graphical effects as Voodoo (3DFX)?  :thumbup:

What sytem spec you got ?

Voodoo 3DFX were good in their day ( Used to have a Voodoo Banshee ) but things have moved on.
Unless you have a really slow /old cpu you will be better off with a modern card.

GPL is very dependant on cpu usage and does not leave the graphics card much to do. So if you have low frame rates etc... you need to upgrade to a modern fast cpu.

My system is almost 3 years old now ( AMD64 Athlon 3200+/Nvidia 6800GT ) but it runs GPL and all current mods with good frame rates at high detail settings.


paul

Edited by paul skingley, Feb 16 2008 - 08:29 AM.


#22 ACHIM KRAFT

ACHIM KRAFT

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 642 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends (some mods only)
    MODS:1965/1969EXTRA/TC-2/1965-Night
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 16 2008 - 08:41 AM

Hi Ginetto !

Many thanks for loading up my resizing-work as single file. Great idea in times at RSC is down.

Keith (aka dangermouse) ask me today to do this. You do it for me, great.

Greetings

Achim

#23 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,801 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 17 2008 - 04:57 AM

You're welcome Achim :)
You should copy the link above to the first page so people see it better and don't have to try to go over at RSC since is down.
:wave:

Edited by Ginetto, Feb 17 2008 - 04:58 AM.


#24 ACHIM KRAFT

ACHIM KRAFT

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 642 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends (some mods only)
    MODS:1965/1969EXTRA/TC-2/1965-Night
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 17 2008 - 05:34 AM

Hi Ginetto !

Many thanks for your single zip. I make a hint in the first post to the file in post #20.

Greetings

Achim

#25 ACHIM KRAFT

ACHIM KRAFT

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 642 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends (some mods only)
    MODS:1965/1969EXTRA/TC-2/1965-Night
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 17 2008 - 05:43 AM

Hi all !

Bad news from the 66er-mod.

My PC is to old for the complete stuff (16 different cars) of the 66er-mod.

I test with different tracks (with small load of 3do's and mips) and in different modus (training/single race/multiplayer without AI).

No success.

Always the screen says:

can not load the track, cancel weekend.

A check for all my resized work with PapyBMP report: no more oversized mips in my folders. So, i think the 16 different car-models are to much for my old PC. I must wait with the 66er-mod for a new PC.

But, there are all other mods to drive. So i have no problem with not running 66er-mod.

I hope i can help other drivers with my work.

Greetings

Achim

EDIT: All drivers they use my resized folders, please report any problems. I will repair quickly.

#26 ACHIM KRAFT

ACHIM KRAFT

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 642 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends (some mods only)
    MODS:1965/1969EXTRA/TC-2/1965-Night
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 17 2008 - 05:45 AM

Hi all !

After the bad news from running the 66er-mod here on my old poor PC, i will make a further test with all cars on 2D-helmet and 2D-wheels. But i am not very optimistic.

Greetings

Achim

#27 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 17 2008 - 08:34 AM

View PostACHIM KRAFT, on Feb 17 2008, 11:45 AM, said:

Hi all !

After the bad news from running the 66er-mod here on my old poor PC, i will make a further test with all cars on 2D-helmet and 2D-wheels. But i am not very optimistic.

Greetings

Achim

You could also try turning off some effects. Beveled tyres may help save some polygons if you think the issue is polygon related.


paul

#28 S.Beuchert

S.Beuchert

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 636 posts
  • Location:2hr's from the Ring
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 17 2008 - 09:48 AM

View PostGinetto, on Feb 16 2008, 01:57 PM, said:

Here are the complete Achim collection in a single .7z file (51.3Mb ;) )
for who wants to test it without have to unpack all the singles files , thanks Achim :thumbup:


cars66_LITE

:wave:


Found a little bug in the compilation  :oops:

IF you unpack the file you will get in the "brabham" folder another "brabham" folder with the files.
This will 'cause a "cannot load the track" message .






@ Achim , maybe check this too, not that you have made this slightly mistake too and overlooked it in first sight :)

#29 Bill

Bill

    BRM Freak

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 964 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S. Wise Va.

Posted Feb 17 2008 - 10:03 AM

It should load, there must be a stray file somewhere.
I will test now with my voodoo 5500 on win98 and see if there is a problem..
Swen may have found the problem :thumbup:

#30 Bill

Bill

    BRM Freak

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 964 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S. Wise Va.

Posted Feb 17 2008 - 11:05 AM

It loads here but is crashing in glide and d3d but I do not get the cannot load track after fixing the brabham folder, will test some more.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links