Jump to content


* * * * * 2 votes

RaceCon


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 npattinson

npattinson

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2007 - 06:55 AM

RaceCon latest version, updated 29-Jan-2009

Nigel

Attached Files


Edited by npattinson, Jan 29 2009 - 01:27 AM.


#2 dangermouse

dangermouse

    The mobile chicane

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,935 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SRMZ/GPLR London, UK
  • Interests:Errrrrr, GPL? :-)
    Music , computing, hi-fi, motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 23 2007 - 10:43 AM

Thanks Nigel :thumbup:




:wave:
keith s-g

Visit the:
Posted Image


.

#3 pirenzo

pirenzo

    TwoPedalsOneFoot

  • Staff Crew
  • 2,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Interests:GPL (of course), rock and progressive/experimental rock.
    Enjoy many motorsports as well as football and a passing interest in a dozen other sports as well.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2007 - 10:57 AM

Cheers, Nigel.
Ranks:
LFB GPL67 -71.029 Monster -362.294 (inactive)
RFB GPL67 -53.900 Monster inc
Belle Isle Full Circuit:Birmingham Superprix Circuit

#4 Pedro

Pedro

    Pedro

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hillegom - The Netherlands
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends
    Scuba-diving
    Airplanes
    Money :-)

Posted May 23 2007 - 01:21 PM

Thanks Nigel.

I get a "couldn't open xxx.rpy file not found" message when I try to open a replay.
This is no problem for me, only wanted you to know that I have checkt the program.

Nice to see whats in all those 3do. trk. mip.  and all the ather files is hidden.
I am no track bilder, only consumer :P

Thanks for sharing :thumbup:

#5 yDNA

yDNA

    Genetic apprentice

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted May 23 2007 - 01:49 PM

Hi Nigel, thanks for sharing.

#6 npattinson

npattinson

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2007 - 04:17 PM

View PostPedro, on May 23 2007, 01:21 PM, said:

I get a "couldn't open xxx.rpy file not found" message when I try to open a replay.
This is no problem for me, only wanted you to know that I have checkt the program.
Was the rpy file in the replay directory or somewhere else ? In some cases RaceCon works best when things are in their usual place.

Nigel

#7 Pedro

Pedro

    Pedro

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hillegom - The Netherlands
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends
    Scuba-diving
    Airplanes
    Money :-)

Posted May 23 2007 - 04:36 PM

They were in the replay dir!
My GPL map is in a other place.
So I made a standard install C:\Sierra\GPL\Replay :
but get the same message,
also when I place the xxx.rpy file in the root.dir where RaceCon is :hmm:

But like I say, no problem!

#8 npattinson

npattinson

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 23 2007 - 05:52 PM

View PostPedro, on May 23 2007, 04:36 PM, said:

They were in the replay dir!
My GPL map is in a other place.
So I made a standard install C:\Sierra\GPL\Replay :
but get the same message,
also when I place the xxx.rpy file in the root.dir where RaceCon is :hmm:

But like I say, no problem!
Opening up a replay in RaceCon loads a screen that displays the track layout with the replay superimposed, like you can see in GPLRA. So it assumes that the replay directory is in a GPL install, with a track directory alongside it. The absolute path shouldn't matter. You will need the track the replay is from to be installed though.

Nigel

#9 Fast Tommi

Fast Tommi

    ...creature of the night ;-)

  • Moderator
  • 997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:germany
  • Interests:GPL, of course!!!
    Music.
    My 76 Beetle convertible
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 24 2007 - 02:24 PM

thanks nigel  :thumbup:
great tool

tommi :bat:

...on the 8th day, he created GPL...

GPL NIGHTMOD

My songs at BeSonic


#10 npattinson

npattinson

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 07 2007 - 06:50 PM

New version. I've made a lot of improvements to the drawing of cars, plus there's now enough functionality to add track sounds. Here's some instructions for the latter.

I'd suggest looking at a track that already has sounds in RaceCon - that will give you something to copy. You can run RaceCon twice simultaneously, or you can open both in the same RaceCon, whichever you find easier.

Take Kyalami for example - if you expand the Root node you can see the ssourcelist node under it. This is what I call a 'Handle'. Handles have names, whereas everything else has numeric ids. If your track doesn't currently have the ssourcelist handle, the first task is to add it. To do that, right click on the Root node and choose 'Insert Handle'. That will add the handle, but it won't be named as yet, which makes it look odd. You should be able to see the extra + box for it. If you left-click just to the right of the plus you should be able to select the nameless handle - once you do the middle pane will show its details - mainly a type of 'Handle Pseudo-Node'. (True nodes are the ones with numeric ids).

To give the handle a name, right-click where it says 'Name' and you can enter 'ssourcelist'. Once you've done that the handle's name will appear in the tree view.

Now back to Kyalami - if you expand the ssourcelist node you'll see it has one child node, an Object List with id=244. To create a similar node in your track, right-click the ssourcelist node in the tree view, and choose 'Insert Object List'. Then if you expand the ssourcelist node you'll see it now has an object list child node, with a stupidly large id. This id is just a placeholder until the 3do gets saved, at which time the numbers all get reassigned and it gets a proper smaller one.

In Kyalami again, expanding the Object List node shows us it has five child Transformation nodes, one for each sound location. Currently your Object List node has no children - to add one, right click its node in the
tree view and choose 'Insert Transformation'. For the moment one sound will do us, but you can repeat this any number of times.

Now if you expand the tree view nodes out, you can see the new Transformation node (again with large id). There's two things you need to do to the Transformation node. Firstly set the X,Y,Z Translation values to
match the position of the sound. That can be done by right-clicking where it says 'X Translation' etc. For sounds the rest of the values don't matter and can be left as they are.

Secondly the Transformation node needs to have an External Object child node. To do that, again you need to right click it in the tree node view, and choose 'Insert External Object'. The External Object is the thing that links to a different 3do. You can specifiy the name of that 3do by right-clicking where it says '3DO'. As you can see from Kyalami, it shouldn't have '.3do' on the end.

That's everything you need in the track 3do. It's probably best to close RaceCon at this point, when you should be prompted to save the track 3do. Then reload it and check that everything is as it should be. The ids of the nodes you've added should now have small numbers, but everything else should look
just as before.

Then you need to perform similar steps for the TSO 3do that has the sound. Adding the ssourcelist and the Object List is identical to the above. But instead of adding a Transformation node, now choose 'Insert Number List' . That will create a Number List node with no numbers in it. To add the
numbers, right-click where it says 'Count' and set the count to 2. It adds zeroes by default which happens to be what you want.

Please ensure you have backups of the 3dos you're editing. Racecon will completely recreate the 3do when it saves, so if there's anything it doesn't understand properly it may go horribly wrong. However as far as I know it doesn't have any problems in this area.

For anyone that wants to be bold, I think there's a simpler way that should work. Rather than having to add sounds to the trackside objects, I think everything could be done inside the track 3do. The difference is that where the External Object node would normally be, I think you can substitute the Number List node, still set up the same as above. If anyone tries that perhap they could post the results here.




Nigel

.

#11 dangermouse

dangermouse

    The mobile chicane

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,935 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SRMZ/GPLR London, UK
  • Interests:Errrrrr, GPL? :-)
    Music , computing, hi-fi, motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Nov 07 2007 - 07:26 PM

Many thanks Nigel :thumbup:



:wave:
keith s-g

Visit the:
Posted Image


.

#12 Ginetto

Ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 14 2007 - 07:33 PM

thank you!
Im gonna try it :)

Edited by Ginetto, Nov 14 2007 - 07:33 PM.

Done these tracks
Working on Road America, Nassau, Paramount Ranch +others

#13 npattinson

npattinson

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 01 2008 - 05:17 PM

New version with a find feature to find a specific 3do node via its id.

Nigel

#14 Steffen W

Steffen W

    John Surtees

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 37 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:I have no preference

Posted May 01 2008 - 07:47 AM

View Postnpattinson, on Apr 2 2008, 12:17 AM, said:

New version with a find feature to find a specific 3do node via its id.

Nigel


Nigel,

what actually is an id compared to offets i tend to think in from my workings with gpl editor?


Steffen

#15 npattinson

npattinson

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 01 2008 - 05:15 PM

View PostSteffen W, on May 2 2008, 01:47 AM, said:

what actually is an id compared to offets i tend to think in from my workings with gpl editor?
They are the same - the id is the offset from the beginning of the 3do section I think. It's possible I take a few liberties with them though, but I don't precisely remember.

However RaceCon supports other Papy games as well as GPL. The 3do files used by the games prior to GPL were similar, but the N4 ptfs are completely different, and I've forgotten whether those ids are offsets or something else.

Nigel




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links