Jump to content


- - - - -

Mosport (Canada) High Res Update


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 jason_peters

jason_peters

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 137 posts

Posted Sep 19 2005 - 04:48 PM

Hi

This is my attempt at giving Mosport a face lift with some high res textures - lots of new textures for trees in this one!!!

hope u enjoy - I was going to add many more objects but just did not get the time.  this is a kind of parting gift as I am now focusing on rFactor (see the rFactor Forum here at the mirror zone) as its graphics and physics engine is so much more advanced.  However will be back to GPL from time to time


Mosport_high_res_JP.zip   D/l is 29mb

Attached File  Mosport_high_res_JP.zip   29.02MB   227 downloads


remember to read the readme.txt



Attached File  Mo_1.jpg   174.76K   1018 downloads Attached File  Mo_2.jpg   224.36K   1078 downloads Attached File  Mo_3.jpg   192.48K   905 downloads

Attached File  Mo_4.jpg   209.67K   798 downloads Attached File  Mo_5.jpg   209.43K   1281 downloads  Attached File  Mo_6.jpg   207.83K   2146 downloads

Attached File  Mo_7.jpg   198.95K   748 downloads Attached File  mo_fin_1.jpg   228.82K   1814 downloads


EDIT: Go HERE to find lavalamp's lower res mips.


This post has been edited by dangermouse: Oct 25 2005, 12:01 PM

#2 dangermouse

dangermouse

    The mobile chicane

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SRMZ/GPLR London, UK
  • Interests:Errrrrr, GPL? :-)
    Music , computing, hi-fi, motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Sep 19 2005 - 06:01 PM

Looks like this will be yet another of your very cool addons!! :thumbup:



:wave:

#3 jason_peters

jason_peters

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 137 posts

Posted Oct 04 2005 - 09:49 AM

Updated the pics and uploaded to the server - DM has put in the link.

#4 Iron99

Iron99

    Jack Brabham

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 47 posts

Posted Oct 04 2005 - 10:21 AM

Wow Jason. You may have out done your Kyalami Update with this one by those screen shots. Is that possible?

Looks simply awesome!

Thank You for sharing your hard work with the GPL community.

Cheers  :) ,

Garrett

PS - Any plans on doing Zandvoort?

#5 fajanko

fajanko

    Jani Posta

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 925 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Interests:"I am a semi-professional race car driver AND an amateur tattoo artist."
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2005 - 01:17 AM

Excellent work, Jason! Many thanks! :)

#6 Fast Tommi

Fast Tommi

    ...creature of the night ;-)

  • Moderator
  • 999 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:germany
  • Interests:GPL, of course!!!
    Music.
    My 76 Beetle convertible
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2005 - 03:51 AM

Wow!!!   :thumbup:  :thumbup:

#7 hankstar

hankstar

    Jo Siffert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted Oct 05 2005 - 05:38 PM

:thumbup: Beautiful work! Cheers Jason..

#8 senna67

senna67

    Bob Anderson

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted Oct 06 2005 - 03:07 AM

Hi Jason,
thanks for this hires version of Mosport (and for other contributions of yours, as well), the track really deserved it .
Let me post one problem: I have very low FPS (it suddently drops under 20, down to 8 when on the grass) between turn 2B and 4, and between turn 7 and 8 (just at the crest top).  
Elsewhere solid 36, even with other cars running around.
I have also tried, and retained, your Kyalami version and have solid 36 there.
Small summary of my HW specs: P4 3.2 GHz, 1GB RAM, Ati FIRE GL V3100 with 128 Mb.
Cheers
Francesco

#9 jason_peters

jason_peters

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 137 posts

Posted Oct 06 2005 - 10:51 AM

senna67, on Oct 6 2005, 03:09 AM, said:

Hi Jason,
thanks for this hires version of Mosport (and for other contributions of yours, as well), the track really deserved it .
Let me post one problem: I have very low FPS (it suddently drops under 20, down to 8 when on the grass) between turn 2B and 4, and between turn 7 and 8 (just at the crest top). 
Elsewhere solid 36, even with other cars running around.
I have also tried, and retained, your Kyalami version and have solid 36 there.
Small summary of my HW specs: P4 3.2 GHz, 1GB RAM, Ati FIRE GL V3100 with 128 Mb.
Cheers
Francesco

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



On turns 2 to 4 I did increase the draw distance to stop some texture popup - but only to 400 sho should not effect the FPS.

There are more of the large textures in this update then Kyalimi which is prob your problem.  I get a solid 36 fps all thw way arround.  Maybe try and scale down some of the MIPS

Glad u guys like the update :)

#10 gabuck

gabuck

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton Joyce, GB

Posted Oct 08 2005 - 09:34 AM

jason_peters, on Sep 19 2005, 10:50 PM, said:

Hi

This is my attempt at giving Mosport a face lift with some high res textures - lots of new textures for trees in this one!!!

hope u enjoy - I was going to add many more objects but just did not get the time.  this is a kind of parting gift as I am now focusing on rFactor (see the rFactor Forum here at the mirror zone) as its graphics and physics engine is so much more advanced.  However will be back to GPL from time to time


Mosport_high_res_JP.zip   D/l is 29mb

remember to read the readme.txt



Attachment attachment Attachment attachment Attachment attachment

Attachment attachment Attachment attachment  Attachment attachment

Attachment attachment Attachment attachment

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Good to have your add-on for Mosport, your work is greatly appreciated. One observation is that the racing line is very pale. I realize that with as dark 'tarmac' a dark stripe might be difficult to see, however is there any way to make it less obtrusive? I don't wish to loose it altogther though.

Geoff

Edited by gabuck, Oct 08 2005 - 09:36 AM.


#11 wallace

wallace

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted Oct 16 2005 - 02:16 AM

Hello. This update is really amazing! Thanks for this, JP. It works fine for me when  GPL works with D3D driver. But I usually prefer to use OpenGL driver, so here is a problem. When I trying to start any session in mosport (with your update installed), game crashes with standart Windows message "Grand Prix Legends encounteres an error an need to be close." BUT, when I view replay in mosport, all is pretty good - track loads and I can see the replay without any problem.
P.S. I haven't such problem with your kyalami updates, it works fine in both - D3D & OGL.

Thanks.

#12 jason_peters

jason_peters

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 137 posts

Posted Oct 16 2005 - 04:36 AM

wallace, on Oct 16 2005, 02:26 AM, said:

Hello. This update is really amazing! Thanks for this, JP. It works fine for me when  GPL works with D3D driver. But I usually prefer to use OpenGL driver, so here is a problem. When I trying to start any session in mosport (with your update installed), game crashes with standart Windows message "Grand Prix Legends encounteres an error an need to be close." BUT, when I view replay in mosport, all is pretty good - track loads and I can see the replay without any problem.
P.S. I haven't such problem with your kyalami updates, it works fine in both - D3D & OGL.

Thanks.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



Mmmmm Don't know why this would be....

try deleting the mosport.3d0 as I added a few new objects to the track but doubt if this is the problem if the track loads for replays.

The updates are really done for D3D with high levels of mipmapping to avoid any 'sparkle' in the textures.

Anyone else any ideas why this could be>>>???

#13 wallace

wallace

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted Oct 16 2005 - 08:54 AM

jason_peters, on Oct 16 2005, 01:46 PM, said:

try deleting the mosport.3d0 as I added a few new objects to the track but doubt if this is the problem if the track loads for replays.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Ok, i delete this file and this works now.
so, I should say that version which of track which loads in replay was edited by me with FB_adjust to increase view distance at some places. However, i install mosport.3do from your package and... it doesnt loads even in replays. Really strange.

#14 oskarzahm

oskarzahm

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts

Posted Oct 17 2005 - 04:39 PM

Hi Jason,

great looking update :clap2:

but it is a shame, I can´t use it for racing. It is a bigger hardware challenge than monaco rocks 2.

I have got the same problem like senna67. The flickering starts after turn 2.

The specs of my system is not as impressive as senna67 but is at least better then the average systems used in the gpl community.

AMD 2000XP+, 512MB RAM, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128 MB


Cheers
Oskar

#15 jason_peters

jason_peters

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 137 posts

Posted Oct 18 2005 - 02:07 AM

oskarzahm, on Oct 17 2005, 04:49 PM, said:

Hi Jason,

great looking update :clap2:

but it is a shame, I can´t use it for racing. It is a bigger hardware challenge than monaco rocks 2.

I have got the same problem like senna67. The flickering starts after turn 2.

The specs of my system is not as impressive as senna67 but is at least better then the average systems used in the gpl community.

AMD 2000XP+, 512MB RAM, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128 MB


Cheers
Oskar

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



I know lavalamp has created some smaller versions of the very large mips (Grass / sand etc) and these should be posted soon

I surprised with your PC u have problems though - I have 256 MB graphics card so maybe thats the dif??!!??

#16 lavalamp

lavalamp

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted Oct 18 2005 - 09:12 PM

Hi All - Jason said it was okay to post some half-size versions of the mips, so here goes...

1/2 resolution versions of Asphalt, Dirt, Grass, GrassM, Sand (16mb)

I've tried these and the track works much better for me. There was one file I couldn't work with, so things slow up a little near the turn at the top of the hill near the end, but hopefully this will help those of us that are "graphically challenged"

Thanks Jason for a great update!

:D

Attached Files



#17 lavalamp

lavalamp

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted Oct 18 2005 - 09:25 PM

:oops:

Somehow the Grass mip was missing - here it is...

Attached Files



#18 jason_peters

jason_peters

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 137 posts

Posted Oct 20 2005 - 10:01 AM

DM  Could u post a note in the 1st post referencing the files in post # giving people the option to use them - might get missed otherwise.

Don't know why bu I do not get the edit button on the 1st post :(

#19 dangermouse

dangermouse

    The mobile chicane

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SRMZ/GPLR London, UK
  • Interests:Errrrrr, GPL? :-)
    Music , computing, hi-fi, motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 20 2005 - 02:26 PM

jason_peters, on Oct 20 2005, 05:01 PM, said:

DM  Could u post a note in the 1st post referencing the files in post # giving people the option to use them - might get missed otherwise.
Done ;)

#20 oskarzahm

oskarzahm

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts

Posted Oct 24 2005 - 09:57 AM

Hi,

I've got problems to open the Lavalamps ZIP it looks like it is corrupted.  :(

Oskar




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links