Jump to content


- - - - -

Track Gap Freeze Fix Patch V.09


  • Please log in to reply
116 replies to this topic

#1 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Football
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 07:09 AM

This v.09 patch prevents freezes that are caused by gaps between track segments.  Some tracks, such as Spa67, have these gaps.  The patch doesn't remove gaps from the track, but simply ignores them.

The patch also fixes bugs in the 69X mod that can cause freezes.

The patch is standalone and seems to work well with all mods both on and offline.

The team consisted of Ginetto, John Ollis, and myself.  Ginetto made us a special test track that had specific gaps.  This made finding the cause of the freezes much easier.  He also discovered how to modify the buggy 69X mod's 23.xml file so that it works properly.  John did much of the testing and also found the code section that was causing the freezes with the 69X mod.  Thanks to both for a job well done.

Let us know if you find a track that still causes a freeze.  Please be specific about the mod and location on track.

--------------------

Detailed Patch Instructions:

As usual, you can put the patch in the mod's physics directory, the mod physics' Options directory, or the GPLSecrets/GEM+/Options directory.  Delete the original mod .exe and check the patch in GEM+ to rebuild the mod .exe.

Freezes were caused by two separate issues.  The Track Gap Freeze Fix v.09 patch fixes both:

1.  Some tracks have gaps between the track segments.  This can cause GPL's code to freeze the sim when any player or AI chassis runs over them.
2.  The 69X mod has a faulty 23.xml file in its physics which can cause freezes in corners.

Important Note--The 66 F1 mod v1 included a small size version of the 23.xml.  This file can be identified by viewing its size as 2.94 KBs/3015 bytes.  The Track Gap Freeze Fix v.09 patch cannot patch this file and may cause further trouble so don't use the patch with the 66 F1 mod v1.  We highly recommend you download and install the 66 F1 mod v2 located here:

http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=3878

The v2 mod version includes a standard, large size size version of the 23.xml.  This file can be identified by viewing its size as 6.83 KBs/7001 bytes.  The Track Gap Freeze Fix v.09 patch works OK with this file.

Attached Files



#2 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,819 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 08:06 AM

Great news Lee, :up:

we will test it online tonight at Wiesbaden with the FunLiga open server 68e 20:30 CEST

imo it has to be on the clients pc and it should not make a difference off or online as the driver allways uses his installed track.

#3 Reco21

Reco21

    Jacky Ickx

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 08:32 AM

Lee, thank you so much! :bowing:

I hope this works online as well, it would be spectacular!!

#4 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 860 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 08:39 AM

Thanks Lee. :up:

View PostCookie, on Jun 09 2021 - 08:06 AM, said:

imo it has to be on the clients pc

Agreed essential for the client, but also patch servers.

#5 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,975 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 08:44 AM

This thread has the wrong title.
It should be:

TRACK GAP FREEZE FIX PATCH!!! WUHOOO!!!

Great job, thanks everyone, tah-dah, grats
:)

Edited by John Woods, Jun 09 2021 - 08:45 AM.


#6 TvO

TvO

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,188 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:Unknown
  • Sim interest:other

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 09:12 AM

Wow, thank you so much Lee for taking the time to create a patch for this! This could be MAJOR :cool: .

Tommie.

#7 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,084 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 09:16 AM

Great Lee, Thank you!

I would use it on the server AND on the clients.
It will definitely not do any harm if the patch is also installed on the server.
Lee, what do you think about it?

#8 PMercal

PMercal

    Pedro Rodriquez

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Padova Italy
  • Interests:Music ,Vinyls, Motors, Movies,Simulator

    I installed GPL in October 1998 and it's been 20 years ..
    W GPL and W the GPL community
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 09:29 AM

Thank you Lee ! :thumbup:

#9 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Football
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 09:33 AM

View PostCookie, on Jun 09 2021 - 08:06 AM, said:

we will test it online tonight at Wiesbaden with the FunLiga open server 68e 20:30 CEST

imo it has to be on the clients pc and it should not make a difference off or online as the driver allways uses his installed track.

That's good that you can do an online test tonight.  The test team was just Ginetto, John, and me so we didn't have the ability to test online.

Hoping it works OK for you.  Probably best to test it offline at Wiesbaden first though.

Stefan, I don't know if both the server and the client need the patch.  I suspect only the client needs it though.

#10 Millennium

Millennium

    ErikGPL

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 738 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 09:46 AM

Wow, this is interesting! Thanks Lee! :)

There is slow uphill turn in the Sachsenring that would often cause a ctd when driving very slow trough it (like after a spin).
Will try the patch tonight to see if I can still trigger that to happen with this patch enabled.

Edited by Millennium, Jun 09 2021 - 09:46 AM.


#11 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,819 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 09:58 AM

FunLiga server is up on iGOR and I allready did some online laps without problems. 60fpsV2newmod used!

I also took the well known old Goodwood and did some laps no problems so far

#12 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,007 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 10:03 AM

Thanks for the patch Lee :)
With summer break for many leagues inbound there seems plenty of time to test it for online,
particularly for notorious tracks.


#13 prize

prize

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Interests:GPL add-on tracks and mods
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 11:25 AM

Newbie question - What problem does this solve?  Offline I hadn't noticed a problem.  Is this for online only?  Does the problem occur only with certain tracks?

Thanks

#14 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,975 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 11:41 AM

This one:http://srmz.net/inde...showtopic=14212

:)

#15 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 12:11 PM

Wow, thanks Lee!

#16 John Ollis

John Ollis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 270 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 01:02 PM

View PostLee200, on Jun 09 2021 - 07:09 AM, said:

The 69X mod freezes occur in a different code section and a fix hasn't been found yet; however, reportedly the mod doesn't freeze when using the 60 fps patch.

For anyone interested in replicating that freeze (first reported by Ginetto), set up a 69X AI race (minimum 5 drivers is sufficient) at Spa67 and running at 36 FPS, then watch the first AI driver set out from the pits in the practice session. The freeze comes at entry to Stavelot.

If anyone obtains different results, please let us know in the thread.

I tested the patch in combination with Lee's CCM2 patch, plus the 4GB patch, but testing with other patch combinations will also be good to see.

Edited by John Ollis, Jun 09 2021 - 01:15 PM.


#17 Claudio Pablo Navonne

Claudio Pablo Navonne

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 356 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 01:44 PM

Wow!! Tahnks!!
Is it necessary to delete the .exe? Does Gem not redo it every time it starts?
I know this is a beginner or lazy question.

Edited by Claudio Pablo Navonne, Jun 09 2021 - 01:44 PM.


#18 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 584 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 02:25 PM

you are a genius sir... thanks is not enough

#19 John Ollis

John Ollis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 270 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 02:28 PM

View PostClaudio Pablo Navonne, on Jun 09 2021 - 01:44 PM, said:

Is it necessary to delete the .exe? Does Gem not redo it every time it starts?

I find GEM+ usually detects any change automatically, such as enabling a patch not used before, and regenerates the exe.

You can always check the exe file timestamp to double-check it was patched.

#20 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,819 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 09 2021 - 02:57 PM

View PostJohn Ollis, on Jun 09 2021 - 01:02 PM, said:

For anyone interested in replicating that freeze (first reported by Ginetto), set up a 69X AI race (minimum 5 drivers is sufficient) at Spa67 and running at 36 FPS, then watch the first AI driver set out from the pits in the practice session. The freeze comes at entry to Stavelot.

If anyone obtains different results, please let us know in the thread.

I tested the patch in combination with Lee's CCM2 patch, plus the 4GB patch, but testing with other patch combinations will also be good to see.
Afair the 69X had freezes at Clermont pretty often. Also with 60fps!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links