Jump to content


- - - - -

Reims


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 16 2018 - 09:18 AM

i am shocked!
tho never will i be able to create a track from scratch, seeing this video of Reims, compared to what we have in GPL (thank you to the track builder)
the elevation changes alone would make the GPL a very different experience ~

https://www.youtube....eature=youtu.be

#2 ed76

ed76

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rouen
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 16 2018 - 10:33 AM

https://fr.wikipedia..._de_Reims-Gueux

We  don't have Reims pre 52 for GPL

#3 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 16 2018 - 04:55 PM

ahhhh that explains the lack of elevation change :P  thanks Ed!

#4 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jun 16 2018 - 06:49 PM

View PostBo Bruce, on Jun 16 2018 - 04:55 PM, said:

ahhhh that explains the lack of elevation change :P  thanks Ed!

Lack of elevation change? There is a huge dip before T2 which apex over a crest followed by a downhill into T3. Not to mention the run up an down the hill between T4-5. Even the S/F strait has some waves in it.

Edited by Michkov, Jun 16 2018 - 10:55 PM.


#5 ed76

ed76

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rouen
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 17 2018 - 02:45 AM

In GPL, we feel less elevation differences than in reality
For example, if you get on the starting line in Rouen, it's much more impressive than in the sim

#6 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jun 17 2018 - 06:01 AM

Having walked around Parco Valentino last year I'm very well aware of that. I was quite surprised by the mountainous nature of the track :)

#7 Lord

Lord

    Mr. Broken Gearbox

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Latina, Italy
  • Interests:Formula 1, Football (Soccer), Grand Prix Legends and rFactor
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 17 2018 - 07:35 AM

View PostMichkov, on Jun 16 2018 - 06:49 PM, said:

View PostBo Bruce, on Jun 16 2018 - 04:55 PM, said:

ahhhh that explains the lack of elevation change :P  thanks Ed!

Lack of elevation change? There is a huge dip before T2 which apex over a crest followed by a downhill into T3. Not to mention the run up an down the hill between T4-5. Even the S/F strait has some waves in it.

Don't worry Mich. GPL has technical limitations, but some people need some good glasses.

Edited by Lord, Jun 17 2018 - 07:38 AM.


#8 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 17 2018 - 08:42 AM

my comments derived from the 'in car' video on the supplied link.  the elevation changes seen there seem (to me) much more drastic than experienced in GPL.  i understand that often changes are made (comment from a track builder) to have a track 'feel' correct, over accuracy.

As for 'glasses'... sigh.... someone needs to grow up.

#9 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 17 2018 - 11:01 AM

View PostBo Bruce, on Jun 17 2018 - 08:42 AM, said:

i understand that often changes are made (comment from a track builder) to have a track 'feel' correct, over accuracy.

Conversations with two track creators confirmed this is often the case because track surface accuracy, even when laid down spot-on, could be undriveable due to limitations of car/track interface in sims, (rather GPL or not), and because of so many factors at play that altogether have to add up to the user thinking they are going up or down while sitting in a chair in front of a monitor.

Not an easy task and probably among the most difficult of all for track makers.

Driving a track in reverse will often reveal elevation changes that are not as apparent otherwise.



:D

Edited by John Woods, Jun 17 2018 - 11:03 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links