Jump to content


- - - - -

60 Fps


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,447 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 12 2018 - 01:29 PM

We should put this all in one place. I can't see a summary here of how to do it.

If there's any incorrect info here, let me know and I'll edit this post..

Get the 60fps files at SRMZ:

60fpsaiv1
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=4402

60fpsv2newmod
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=4584


Then you put the 60fps patch files into the following folders...

60fpsaiv1.xml
Goes into...
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\69-extra\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\GPLGT\options


60fpsv2newmod.xml
Goes into...
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gpl65\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gpl66\options  
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gpl67\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gplf2\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\canm66\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\canm71\options

You should enable vsync for 60fps in the GEM+ graphics options (Rasterizer button) and your graphics card setup and to make sure, in the core.ini, you should see:
[RasterV2]
VSync= 1

To take part on an race with 60fps, first you check the box in GEM+ after selecting the correct mod. Don't forget to uncheck it if you join a 36fps server!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Which version you use with which mod has mostly to do with AI performance and I think the following is correct:

60FPSv1    -> 69X and GT
60fpsv2newmod   -> 65, 66GP, 67, 67F2, CA66 and CA71

However, if you never race the AI, I don't think it matters. In fact you don't ned to replace the AI ini files if you only race online.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

If you mismatch the right checkbox or forget to check, you won't get on the server (36 fps trying to join a 60 fps server) or get the "every 3sec flash" (60 fps joining a 36 fps server)

If you use the GPLRelay analyzer, you'll need the newest version to make sure that you can view and save 60 fps replays (v.7.91 beta I believe)

Edited by Bob Simpson, May 12 2018 - 01:32 PM.


#2 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,447 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 12 2018 - 01:34 PM

However, on my Windows 7 server, only, when I hit the green button in the main GPL menu, I get the message "GPL has stopped working" for this  mod only. 60fpsaiv1 does work with the 66 GP mod.

Everything works OK as stated above with my racing computer (Windows 10)

#3 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,772 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 12 2018 - 03:37 PM

Even when doing all that. The AI are still messed up.

#4 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,447 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 12 2018 - 07:38 PM

Well, this has all to do with online races. It's a shame that the AI can't be great again with 60 fps, but it's great for non-AI racing.

#5 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,772 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 12 2018 - 08:34 PM

I know. I just tried it and forgot how good 60fps looks. If I was a hot lapper I could at least use it for that but I don't do that either. Oh well.

#6 Millennium

Millennium

    ErikGPL

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 618 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 13 2018 - 01:10 AM

It just feels so much better to drive with, especially on tracks where you rotate your car/camera a lot (like Monaco).

I remember reading about a 72 fps patch that was in the making a while ago, any updates on that?

#7 Andy Clegg

Andy Clegg

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Banbury, UK.
  • Interests:Long distance sports car racing. Touring cars.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 13 2018 - 01:11 AM

I always use 36FPS. Never really tried 60FPS, I should do really.

#8 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 13 2018 - 04:23 AM

This is what helps to get the 66 mod working with the V2newmod, UKGPL member Fester posted:

Quote

The 66 mod and 66fpsv2newmod

I was one of those who could only run the 66 mod with 60fpsv1. This is how I fixed it. There's no need to uninstall anything

Run "gpl1966complete_1.1"
Delete the "gpl66" folder from gpl\Mods\GEM+
Run "1966mod_PATCH_v2.0_Setup"
Delete "gplc66.exe" from the gpl folder
Run GEM+, select 66 mod and 60fpsv2newmod

It worked for me. I hope it works for you.

As long as the V2newmod is used by the server, no 36fps driver can join the server!

But if you host 69X or GT mod @ 60fpsV1/aiV1 anyone can join with 36 fps,
I protect my practice server with a password (60fpsV1) and write it in the comments ;)

Edited by Cookie, May 13 2018 - 05:07 AM.


#9 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 13 2018 - 05:15 AM

For the offliners racing with AI's,

Roger_F made some great work -> http://srmz.net/inde...=15#entry131435

#10 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,447 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 17 2018 - 08:12 AM

View PostCookie, on May 13 2018 - 04:23 AM, said:

This is what helps to get the 66 mod working with the V2newmod, UKGPL member Fester posted:

Quote

The 66 mod and 66fpsv2newmod

I was one of those who could only run the 66 mod with 60fpsv1. This is how I fixed it. There's no need to uninstall anything

Run "gpl1966complete_1.1"
Delete the "gpl66" folder from gpl\Mods\GEM+
Run "1966mod_PATCH_v2.0_Setup"
Delete "gplc66.exe" from the gpl folder
Run GEM+, select 66 mod and 60fpsv2newmod

It worked for me. I hope it works for you.

As long as the V2newmod is used by the server, no 36fps driver can join the server!

But if you host 69X or GT mod @ 60fpsV1/aiV1 anyone can join with 36 fps,
I protect my practice server with a password (60fpsV1) and write it in the comments ;)

I've found this at http://srmz.net/inde...445

> Post #4, but the link is dead.

EDIT OK, I just did this after the Full DL at the 1966 site at http://www.grandprix...6/downloads.htm
1 - Delete the "gpl66" folder from gpl\Mods\GEM+
2 - Ran the "1966mod_PATCH_v2.0"
3 - Delete "gplc66.exe" from the gpl folder

And it runs fine with 60fpsv2newmod

Edited by Bob Simpson, May 17 2018 - 08:41 AM.


#11 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 07 2019 - 12:51 PM

What I do not see in this Topic is what rasterizer is used - D3D or OGL?  Or is 60fps the rasterizer?  If it is, which type is it - D3D or OGL?

#12 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,231 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 08 2019 - 07:22 AM

60 FPS can work on both D3Dv2 and OGLv2

#13 Roger_F

Roger_F

    Fiero NStar V8

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Classic Sports Cars
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 08 2019 - 12:25 PM

Ginetto is absolutely correct: 60 FPS can and does work on both D3Dv2 and OGLv2 !  

OGLv2 is at least 10 FPS faster at 1920X1080 and 60FPS specs. than D3Dv2.   This is most noticeable at the start of large graphics tracks like SPA67.  It is also noticeable on full body mods like 66 CanAm, 71 CanAM, and 1967 SCX.

Our favorite game is transitioning into a more demanding graphics requirements environment.  I've had to 25% overclock my I7 920 CPU, go to a 1050 TI GPU, and transition to a 1TB SSD clone of my old hard drive, to keep up.  My monitor was already a native resolution 1
920X1080 60FPS model.  The SSD loads tracks in GEM + much, much  faster than my old HHD; this is most noticeable on large graphics tracks like the ones in the 1967 SCX Mod.

If we could only get a perfectly scaleable 36 to 60 FPS graphics package.  Some of the new tracks in the 1967 SCX Mod are pretty good at 60FPS.  Seems like new AI packages might be a possible solution or at least an enhancement.  I would love to be able to understand and write AI track development packages?!

Keep up the great work GPL developers and NVIDIA may actually recognise us in their gaming profiles ... I think this would mean we have arrived in the gaming world of today.

Thanks again for all the great development work that is keeping our GPL current.

Roger


#14 KARTM

KARTM

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal Canada
  • Interests:karting vintage racing gpl
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 05 2020 - 06:24 AM

View PostBob Simpson, on May 12 2018 - 01:29 PM, said:

We should put this all in one place. I can't see a summary here of how to do it.

If there's any incorrect info here, let me know and I'll edit this post..

Get the 60fps files at SRMZ:

60fpsaiv1
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=4402

60fpsv2newmod
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=4584


Then you put the 60fps patch files into the following folders...

60fpsaiv1.xml
Goes into...
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\69-extra\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\GPLGT\options


60fpsv2newmod.xml
Goes into...
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gpl65\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gpl66\options  
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gpl67\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gplf2\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\canm66\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\canm71\options

You should enable vsync for 60fps in the GEM+ graphics options (Rasterizer button) and your graphics card setup and to make sure, in the core.ini, you should see:
[RasterV2]
VSync= 1

To take part on an race with 60fps, first you check the box in GEM+ after selecting the correct mod. Don't forget to uncheck it if you join a 36fps server!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Which version you use with which mod has mostly to do with AI performance and I think the following is correct:

60FPSv1    -> 69X and GT
60fpsv2newmod   -> 65, 66GP, 67, 67F2, CA66 and CA71

However, if you never race the AI, I don't think it matters. In fact you don't ned to replace the AI ini files if you only race online.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

If you mismatch the right checkbox or forget to check, you won't get on the server (36 fps trying to join a 60 fps server) or get the "every 3sec flash" (60 fps joining a 36 fps server)

If you use the GPLRelay analyzer, you'll need the newest version to make sure that you can view and save 60 fps replays (v.7.91 beta I believe)
wich one must  be use with the  early and late f1 1968,  in most of my my mods files theres no options files ,i just create one?

#15 fajanko

fajanko

    Jani Posta

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Interests:graphic design
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 05 2020 - 08:34 AM

View PostKARTM, on May 05 2020 - 06:24 AM, said:

wich one must  be use with the  early and late f1 1968,  in most of my my mods files theres no options files ,i just create one?

v2newmod will work for 68-early and 68-late

Put the xml files to this folder GPLSecrets\GEM+\Options\ and it will show up for all mods.

Edited by fajanko, May 05 2020 - 08:35 AM.


#16 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,645 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 05 2020 - 09:07 AM

From my GPL Easy Installation Guide
http://www.gplworld....tallation-guide

The 68 mod is still missing. But I am currently updating the guide. ;)
I will also add that you can put the 60 FPS patches to the folder GPLSecrets\GEM+\Options\

Personally I find it easier to put the specific 60 FPS patch into the sepcific mod options folder of GPL, like for the 65 mod into ...\SIERRA\gpl\Mods\GEM+\gpl65\Options

Then I don`t have to remember which 60 FPS patch works for which mod.

Quote

3.3. 60 FPS Patch

The patch modifies GPL to run at a maximum 60 frames per second instead of the original maximum 36 frames per second.


Here you can download the 60 FPS patches by brr (Petteri Pajunen):


60fpsaiv1
http://srmz.net/inde...402


60fpsv1
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=3821


60fpsv2 / 60fpsv2newmod
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=4584



The 60fpsv2newmod patch is preferred as it contains an FPS check. Unfortunately, this only prevents you from joining a 60fpsv2newmod server with 36 FPS. So if it flickers every 3-4 seconds when you are on a server, you can assume that you are either with 36 FPS on a 60 FPS server, or with 60 FPS on a 36 FPS server. Both are possible. Then please leave the server and enable/ disable in GEM+ the 60 FPS patch for the corresponding mod you want to run online.



GPL 1955 Mod -> 60fpsv2newmod
GPL 1965 Mod -> 60fpsv2newmod
GPL 1966 Mod -> 60fpsv2newmod
GPL 1967 Original -> 60fpsv2newmod
GPL 1967 Extra Mod/ Historical Mod -> 60fpsv2newmod
GPL 1967 Sportscars v2 Mod (SC) -> 60fpsv2newmod
GPL 1966 Can-Am Mod -> 60fpsv2newmod
GPL 1969 Mod -> 60fpsv2newmod
GPL 1971 Can-Am Mod -> 60fpsv2newmod
GPL F2 Mod (1967 Formula 2) -> 60fpsv2newmod
GPL Night Mod (N65/ N67) -> 60fpsv2newmod


GPL Stratos Mod (RX) -> 60fpsv2 (also works at Targa Florio)
GPL ThunderCars Mod (TC) -> 60fpsv2


GPL 1969 Extra Mod -> 60fpsv1
GPL 1967 Sportscars v1 Mod (GT) -> 60fpsv1



The 60fpsv1 patch works with every mod.



To drive with the AI you have to use the 60fpsaiv1 patch.



Remember to deactivate the 60 FPS Patch in GEM+, when you want to join a 36 FPS server at iGOR!



Tip: In GPL, put the appropriate 60 FPS patch into the respective "Options" folder of the mod, for the 65 mod for example in…\SIERRA\gpl\Mods\GEM+\gpl65\options



If you do not have an "Options" folder, create one.
In GEM +, you can activate and deactivate the appropriate 60 FPS patch.


Edited by Stefan Roess, May 05 2020 - 09:09 AM.


#17 KARTM

KARTM

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal Canada
  • Interests:karting vintage racing gpl
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 05 2020 - 11:32 AM

so  the 60fps  is in the gpl secrets/GEM/options it seem  to work but if it wasnt of the fps display i wouldnt notice much of a difference  , but in testing at Watkins glen in early 68 i can only  use the lotus 49a ,in 36fps i can use the different 49b too

Edited by KARTM, May 05 2020 - 12:07 PM.


#18 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 05 2020 - 04:12 PM

That's the problem. The sub menu car versions do only work with 60fpsV1

I do not see the mod in iGOR yet so I get mod not installed...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links