Jump to content


- - - - -

Back With A Few Questions. :)


  • Please log in to reply
81 replies to this topic

#46 tjc

tjc

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland.
  • Interests:Sim racing | Computers | Motorsport | 3D Modeling | Skinning
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 26 2017 - 04:43 AM

View PostMECH, on Sep 25 2017 - 11:11 PM, said:

Don't put the mip back into the dat file.
Keep the dat file original and put updates loose in the car folder.
That way you can always revert back to the base car.

And yes you can layer all you want as long as you save as bitmap max 24bits (winmip can't handle more)

Ahh yes, I see that`s what hagapito40 said too (regarding not putting the .mip back in the .dat) when I re-read his post. Ok thanks MECH. I`ll give it a go and hopefully get a nice custom helmet for the 67`s. :)

#47 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 26 2017 - 09:07 AM

Been using WinMip2B16.



:D

Edited by John Woods, Sep 26 2017 - 09:08 AM.


#48 tjc

tjc

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland.
  • Interests:Sim racing | Computers | Motorsport | 3D Modeling | Skinning
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 26 2017 - 10:07 AM

Thanks, I`ll give that a whirl then. :)

#49 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 26 2017 - 10:13 AM

Yup !!!  Another OPP (old people problem)

Sorry ... corrected.

You can call me - Greg
|
|
|
V

Edited by gliebzeit, Sep 26 2017 - 11:43 AM.


#50 tjc

tjc

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland.
  • Interests:Sim racing | Computers | Motorsport | 3D Modeling | Skinning
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 26 2017 - 11:28 AM

Cheers. I`ll give this a shot as I do like a screenshot. Just curious here gliebzeit... did you mean to post this in this thread or this one... http://srmz.net/inde...showtopic=12056

:P

It`s cool either way, just thought I`d ask. :)

Edited by tjc, Sep 26 2017 - 11:29 AM.


#51 tjc

tjc

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland.
  • Interests:Sim racing | Computers | Motorsport | 3D Modeling | Skinning
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 26 2017 - 12:05 PM

View Postgliebzeit, on Sep 26 2017 - 10:13 AM, said:

Yup !!!  Another OPP (old people problem)

Sorry ... corrected.

You can call me - Greg
|
|
|
V

:D ... no worries Greg. No need to apologise. Done it myself many times... :lol: :thumbup:

Edited by tjc, Sep 26 2017 - 12:06 PM.


#52 tjc

tjc

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland.
  • Interests:Sim racing | Computers | Motorsport | 3D Modeling | Skinning
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 26 2017 - 12:19 PM

View Posthagapito40, on Sep 25 2017 - 01:30 PM, said:

tjc:

To use a custom helmet with the 67 cars you must extract the H04helm.mip from the murasama.dat file with Datman...then convert it to BMP...edit...convert to MIP again drop it into the murasama folder...NOTHING ELSE...other 67 cars will use that helmet...
you can use GPL image viewer to to preview mip files without conversion...

cheers!

Ok, I just had a look in the murasama.dat file using DATMan and didn`t see any file named H04helm.mip. There is a file named that in the car folder > cars67 > murasama but I don`t see it when using DATMan... :huh:

#53 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 783 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Sep 27 2017 - 07:26 AM

If the file is already in the folder you can use that as a template.

#54 tjc

tjc

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland.
  • Interests:Sim racing | Computers | Motorsport | 3D Modeling | Skinning
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 27 2017 - 12:38 PM

Yeh, that`s what I thought, I was just a bit surprised I couldn`t find it with DATman... anyway I have some further questions I hope someone can help me with.

I have the file H04HELM.mip converted to H04HELM.bmp and sitting in the murasama folder. (I have a copy of my GPL install that`s just for experimenting with editing so my main install won`t get messed up.)

There are also other "HELM" files in there - H02HELM and H03HELM - what are they for? One is Yellow and the other is Orange. They both seem to have "straps" on them too...

Back to the original H04HELM.bmp - I`ve attached an image of it with the letters A, B and C on it.

Firstly, I assume that A is the main helmet part but what are parts B & C?

Also the parts that look like straps... are they straps? If not, what are they?

Now... painting... if I want to paint the main helmet (part A) Blue but the peak of the helmet White how would I go about doing that? I guess I`d have to select what I want to paint, create a new layer in PS and do it that way? I`m just a little confused as the templates I`ve painted for other sims all have layers that can be turned off or worked with in other ways but having never really done any editing or painting in GPL I`m not really sure how to get started.

(I`m having trouble attaching the image. I`ll keep trying)

Edited by tjc, Sep 27 2017 - 12:53 PM.


#55 tjc

tjc

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland.
  • Interests:Sim racing | Computers | Motorsport | 3D Modeling | Skinning
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 27 2017 - 12:52 PM

Ok here`s the image of the H04HELM with the letters on it...

Attached Files


Edited by tjc, Sep 27 2017 - 12:52 PM.


#56 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 27 2017 - 03:42 PM

Parts 'B' and 'C' are the visor pieces.  :)

The goggle straps are indeed the strip running vertically next to the 'A' and the one on the opposite side.

As for layers in Photoshop, etc .... you must have the original bmp graphics file that the author constructed, to work from.  Otherwise, as you create GPL graphics of your own, you may build them up from individual layers.  Hope this informs.

In particular for the GPL helmets and faces files, I don't know if there are templates or wire-frame images to work from.  Whenever I paint on helmets I sort of do them hit-and-miss ... many iterations to get circles, lines and logos properly placed.

Here are some examples of my work on a Beltoise '67 open-face helmet and a Rodriguez '69 full-face helmet.  These are only examples for you.  You may not have the proper mod installed for these to be available in-game.

Attached Files


Edited by gliebzeit, Sep 27 2017 - 04:07 PM.


#57 tjc

tjc

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland.
  • Interests:Sim racing | Computers | Motorsport | 3D Modeling | Skinning
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 28 2017 - 05:03 AM

Yeh, I did think that parts B & C were the visor or peak of the helmet but good to have it confirmed. :)

Also good to know that the parts beside A are indeed the straps as I thought.

Not really sure what you mean when you say "for layers in Photoshop etc... you must have the original bmp graphics file that the author constructed..."

What is this "original bmp graphics" file? Is`nt it the file that is converted from a mip to a bmp?

Does anyone know if there are proper templates/wireframes for the helmets in GPL?

Thanks for the examples Greg, I appreciate it. I have a bit of time today so I`ll maybe open up that H04HELM.bmp and mess about with it PS...

Btw... what are the other helmet files for? The H02HELM and H03HELM etc... are they other parts of the helmet that need to be painted also?

Edited by tjc, Sep 28 2017 - 05:04 AM.


#58 tjc

tjc

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland.
  • Interests:Sim racing | Computers | Motorsport | 3D Modeling | Skinning
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 28 2017 - 05:51 AM

Ok... here`s the first problem I`ve come across. (I thought I might experience this actually)

I`ve unlocked the original layer and created a new layer to paint on. Selected a part of the visor/peak and painted it white but it`s filled in the complete selection, there are no parts showing anymore.

I`ve moved the new layer but then I just lose the white all together...

What`s the structure or process for creating layers when painting in GPL?

First pic is the helmet. Second is how I did the layers...

Attached Files



#59 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 28 2017 - 05:56 AM

Hi tjc, when you convert to a bmp from the mip, you only get everything on a single layer. So you have to completely invent all the layers and objects yourself to create a new design. It can be very time consuming, but it is the only way to work. So you need to select the visor using the magic wand, and then go around and tidy up the edges pixel by pixel, and then when it is clean put it onto another layer. GPL only has old tools so this is the way we all have to work!

Good luck making your own helmets, I have done mine and it is really good fun.

#60 tjc

tjc

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland.
  • Interests:Sim racing | Computers | Motorsport | 3D Modeling | Skinning
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 28 2017 - 06:07 AM

Hi Jonny... appreciate the reply. :)

Yeh I noticed there are no layers when the file is converted and opened in PS. I can select what I want no problems and create new layers for each part I want to paint but when I do this and then "fill" the part I`ve selected (and made a new layer for) it`s being completely filled as I said above and you can see in the image I`ve attached above.

So I`m obviously doing something wrong but I`m not sure what.

:unsure:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links