Jump to content


Monaco-Monacane Track 1955 Conversion


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21 db312

db312

    Always in the lead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:switzerland
  • Interests:Leaving GPL better than I found it
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 07 2017 - 02:44 PM

It's the best greg ! :thumbup:

#22 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 912 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 17 2017 - 01:26 PM

I don't know if this happened due to this conversion, but Monaco needs a serious fix if something like this happens (or could it also be an online thingy?):


Edited by GrandPrixYannick , Sep 17 2017 - 01:27 PM.


#23 Paddy the Irishman

Paddy the Irishman

    Paddy the Irishman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bexhill on Sea, E. Sussex, England
  • Interests:GPL; Model Cars; Photography. Assetto Corsa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 17 2017 - 02:37 PM

???

#24 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Sep 17 2017 - 03:32 PM

Seems like you are hitting an invisible wall there. Could you try to replicate the crash with the 67s and report back?

#25 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 17 2017 - 05:18 PM

Probably an online glitch.

I've driven hundreds of laps in the 55Mod cars around the '55 Monaco track without ever having that happen.

#26 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 558 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 18 2017 - 08:43 AM

Quote

I've driven hundreds of laps in the 55Mod cars around the '55 Monaco track without ever having that happen.

online laps ?

I had a similar thing in the same race but not at damaging as Yannick's. I was at least a metre from the concrete.
Just a guess but could it be the people 3do/srb  that are on the inside of the hairpin ?
Edit: Forget that. Your flagbox.355 has objects in the same position as the original Monaco Rocks flagbox.3do


btw Gregg, your 55 updates looks fantastic .... thanks  :)


Paul

Edited by paul skingley, Sep 18 2017 - 10:56 AM.


#27 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 18 2017 - 11:33 AM

Paul, I don't drive online ... so, those were laps either with the AI (usually) or hot-lapping (!).  :)

Thanks for your kind words on the '55 track updates.

#28 hagapito40

hagapito40

    On the search...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Classic Racing History, Modeling in 3ds Max and of course RACING!
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 18 2017 - 05:24 PM

That happens when your driver is Jack Brabham...usually on the last lap! :P

#29 Stirling Mouse

Stirling Mouse

    Mike Parkes

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, motor racing history, music, country walking
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 23 2017 - 04:18 PM

I saw on uTube that in 2012 Stefano Zampedri was working on a further update to Monaco, which looked great - in particular there were more people and activity around the pits which was a big improvement; the absence of this currently is something that gives Monaco a curious lack of atmosphere. But I don't know if Stefano is still active in GPL world?

#30 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 23 2017 - 05:32 PM

Stefano is still around from time-to-time.  I've not seen any activity from him recently.

#31 Stirling Mouse

Stirling Mouse

    Mike Parkes

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, motor racing history, music, country walking
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 24 2017 - 03:34 AM

Thanks Greg - who knows, maybe his update will surface one day.
Many thanks to you, for all the great work you've done for the 55s. I only wish I could drive them better (who said practice makes perfect?) but nevertheless they are the best thing ever!

#32 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 31 2018 - 02:12 PM

View PostGrandPrixYannick, on Sep 17 2017 - 01:26 PM, said:

I don't know if this happened due to this conversion, but Monaco needs a serious fix if something like this happens (or could it also be an online thingy?):



Sorry that it has taken me this long to give a proper reply to GrandPrixYannick's query.

Yes, this is a serious problem with my modded monaco / monacane trk file.  I modded the trk file to remove collision where I had removed (graphically) armco and other barriers.  Something that I did during the edits causes the massive crashes when coming close to the inside barrier at the Gasometer Hairpin.

For now, until I can fix the files, Please DELETE - monaco.t55 and monacane.t55 files.

#33 webfoot

webfoot

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham England
  • Interests:.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 11 2018 - 03:46 AM

A couple of points for Monacane.

1. The complete folder version has a small mistake (I think).  The station hairpin options "stand1.3do" is the wrong one?  So for 67 cars you get the Station buildings not just a grandstand.  Monaco folder is correct, 1955 (stand1.355) & 1965 (stand1.365) are the same version/timestamp,   Default (stand1.3do) & 1969 (stand1.369) are the same.  Easy to fix, copy the Monaco stand1.3do to the Monacane folder?

2. Tunnel Lights 3do add on does not work with Monacane?.  NOT a problem caused by the 1955 files but because they required an update to monaco.3do.  Does anyone know if anybody modded monacane.3do to include them?   Or have I missed something/made an install error somewhere?  
Potential clash with tannoy sounds updates of course.


Greg,

I have completed the update of my "trunk" folder installs with your conversion files (I have your complete folders as "branch" installs).  An amazing effort, thank you very much for all that work - 30 tracks wow !!!!  It really adds to the immersion to see all the period changes (I must concentrate more on the driving and less on the scenery, with the subsequent hitting of hay bales).

:clap2:

cheers
webfoot

Edited by webfoot, Mar 11 2018 - 03:49 AM.


#34 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 11 2018 - 06:17 AM

webfoot, thank you for your close examination of my '55 Monaco/Monacane conversion (beta).  Also, you are very kind in your comments.  The '55 conversions vary from almost complete, like Monza 10k, to those that are really just beta and need much more work.  I really was hoping that more community members would add on to what I had started.  But, thank you for your interest.  As with all Mods, I have moved onto the next development project and have been concentrating on that work for the past months.  Of course I enjoy taking a break from time-to-time to revisit previous tracks.  :)

1.)  I will fix the '67 Station Hairpin from station to grandstands. Fixed in Post #1 as Monacane '55 track conversion complete folder v1.2
2.)  Yes, Mark Beckman made monacane without the 3D tunnel lights.  I don't have the knowledge to change that set of graphics.

Edited by gliebzeit, Mar 11 2018 - 06:34 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links