• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Wozza_UK

Wozza_UK

Denny Hulme

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Interests:Sim racing, video games in general, fiction writing.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 27 2016 - 08:42 AM

HI,
For a long time now I've had two issues with GPL that I've never posted before, but now I just started to have another crack at my GPL rank (no joke!) I thought it would be a good time.

1. It seems to me that throttle response in GPL isn't quite right. I'm a big heel-toe driver and I can't seem to ever blip deep enough to be satisfactory. Sometimes I don't think I catch the gearchange at the correct revs and this causes me to spin. If I drive in rFactor or Raceroom I have no problem - in fact if anything in those sims I have a tendency to over blip. If I come back to GPL I can notice straight away the the throttle is a little dead low down in the rev range.

My pedals are set up 'realistically' with the brake pedal slightly 'aft' of the throttle pedal like in the video below but not quite as extreme. You can see it clearly around 1:07.

https://www.youtube....xrUW0ow&index=1

I've tried adjusting the throttle in DXTweak but it doesn't seem to work with GPL. It works in rFactor but GPL seems to completely ignore the changes DXTweak makes. GPL seems to use its own driver or something.

I suppose the answer would be to reset my pedals just for GPL but that would be a pain.

2. The second one is that GPL gives me dry eyes (LOL). I notice this every time I come back and it's the only sim that does it. It doesn't effect me while driving, only afterwards in the evening or following morning. It disappears after I've been up for a while but it's very noticeable. I can only think it's to do with the way GPL renders the screen or something. I gamed on console for years and those games always ran at around 30 fps but I never had a problem with them so I don't know what the problem is.