Jump to content


- - - - -

Win 7 Sim Racing Computer Tuning

win 7 computer build tuning for sim racing

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 weldmetal12

weldmetal12

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:GPL, vintage racing SVRA, tinkering
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Aug 22 2015 - 03:06 PM

I was following a topic on win 10 today and noticed a few of us our very happy with win 7 to run GPL of course.

I wanted to share with the community a tuning guide full of useful info to help keep us racing. I've read it over and over.

Nick N. on simforums. http://www.simforums...topic46211.html

I've followed the guide nearly to the letter on a extremely budget computer $160 dell xeon and gtx 750i.

It runs gpl, p&g, rfactor, rbr, etc on triple monitors beautifully!

Can we sticky this somewhere closer to the sims we love; problems with them. Yes, relevant. :drive1:

#2 weldmetal12

weldmetal12

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:GPL, vintage racing SVRA, tinkering
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Aug 22 2015 - 03:12 PM

Big pdf to read while going through the steps..


                                                                                 Cheers
                                                                                 Scott

Attached Files



#3 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,051 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 22 2015 - 05:32 PM

Whew...well, wow. Nick must pay himself by the word!
Too many words for me. Got thru about half of it before realizing by then was impatiently scanning for keywords, then it all just glazed over before getting lost in the motherboard configuration section.

Thanks Scott, for posting. Really did go thru it with interest.

Perhaps you might post a screenshot of your Nvidia settings?

#4 weldmetal12

weldmetal12

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:GPL, vintage racing SVRA, tinkering
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Aug 22 2015 - 11:25 PM

Yes, I should have included a disclaimer on the length, content etc. Save it, use it later.

It's taken me several years to understand and implement - hehe on a system he would probably not approve of anyway . :tongue2:
But I've taken what I can use, his settings in windows should be required

reading to get rid of the trash for a decent simulator . I'd read the parts about

building a fast modern computer with optimism but found a craigslist deal instead -

wife approved!

Well here's Bob Simpson http://srmz.net/inde...opic=6459&st=30
I think this is what I've used recently.

FSX guy - good reading - much shorter: http://www.simforums...topic36586.html

base and advanced settings attached will these work for GPL?
Attached File  nvinspector base settings.jpg   143.81K   70 downloads Attached File  NV_Inspector advanced setting.jpg   196.19K   82 downloads

#5 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,051 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 23 2015 - 08:03 AM

View Postweldmetal12, on Aug 22 2015 - 11:25 PM, said:

    ...will these work for GPL?  

With so much hardware/drivers variation seems its always a guess, (except for gurus like Nick).

Have been working with Bob's settings except my card is a bit less featured than his.

Thanks for sharing your settings...some fun later this afternoon checking them out on my rig.

#6 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,051 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 23 2015 - 09:29 AM

Could not wait...going to half-rate vertical sync causes 5fps hit on grid at Monza.

#7 weldmetal12

weldmetal12

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:GPL, vintage racing SVRA, tinkering
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Aug 23 2015 - 11:55 AM

I realized my settings were all at default last night,
seeing the shimmering white track edges at parana. I'm glad you asked about this because it looked
terrible. Must have not saved to the exes. I've been away from GPL a little with P&G. Bad!
I tried the base settings posted from Nick's guide but left v-sync off.  Not sure why he seemed to contradict himself.
V-sync I understand is bad for what we do. Somewhere in his long guide is an explanation.
Made sure to save to each mod exe in inspector - know what I'm talking about?
Anyway, my results were great for me it must be the keep it simple stupid thing again.
The gamma correction is different from Bob, couple of other things for sure.
Inspector overrides GEM as well with many setting in the rasterizer? Not sure.
Maybe ill provide a screenshot of Gem settings to help. I need to learn more about GEM.
5760 and my bezel correction gives me 6006 x 1080 on 3 22" dell lcd's.
Looked better than ever and I enjoyed Brands in the 66 Lotus 43 at 19 cars!

Back on GPL!  

Thanks John

#8 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 24 2015 - 08:37 AM

Weldmetal...................I spent 4 hours yesterday going through all his info, and modding my Win 7 install. I was pretty worried about all the changes I was making. It was so involved and complex i'd never be able to fix it if it didn't work. This guy really knows his stuff. I was into areas I didn't even know existed on my system. I also had to download a lot of programs to modify the settings. Scary stuff for a self taught computer user.

The results ended up being really good. Everything works much faster now. I can zip along from web site to website as fast as I can click them. I have a 65meg connection, and never could figure out why it took so long to bring up web sites. All my sims run smoother now too, and no lockups so far.

I got stopped at one point though, so didn't do it all. I'm suppose to right click the windows icon on the bottom taskbar to install another program. I don't have that icon. Any ideas?

#9 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 24 2015 - 10:11 AM

I read most all of it, and applied what I could. It really speeded up my system.

It only took 4 hours. :(

#10 weldmetal12

weldmetal12

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:GPL, vintage racing SVRA, tinkering
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Aug 24 2015 - 10:22 AM

Pete,
             Glad things have improved those were my results.

  Missing start button here maybe...http://answers.micro...8214e348?page=1

Never see that before. Right click desktop leads to personalize with options for icons; right click taskbar leads to properties with a customize icons area or start

menu tab with customize button - many options. I'll look over the guide for something about icons I remember that.

This would be a good thread to share tuning ideas http://srmz.net/inde...showtopic=10956 :angrypc:

#11 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 24 2015 - 11:38 AM

It's not the start button. I have that. I seem to remember another win icon on the lower taskbar. Maybe not. I'll have to go back, and read it again. He's talking about right clicking it, and downloading a program that will bring up something. I forgot now, but never could find what he was talking about.

#12 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 24 2015 - 11:43 AM

Here it is. It's not an icon. I'm not sure what he means?


20. Open the W7_Optimize directory on your desktop. Inside you will find the file: MicrosoftFixit_KB50496.msi. Please run this application and allow it to complete. When finished a reboot request will appear, reboot the computer.

#13 weldmetal12

weldmetal12

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:GPL, vintage racing SVRA, tinkering
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Aug 24 2015 - 12:19 PM

Pete,
Save this folder to desktop : Quote  " 1. FILES YOU WILL NEED:
Download this zip file and unzip it. http://gex.flight1.net/forumimages/W7_Optimize.zip
You will be using the files supplied in that zip package for this outline. Unzip it to the desktop.

a. Inside the W7_Optimize directory you will find: TweakPrefetch_5.3.1.3.exe  install that application. It should place a shortcut on your desktop, leave that shortcut on the desktop for use later.

b. Inside the W7_Optimize directory you will find a registry directory, open that directory and you will find a file named: Optimized.reg. Double click Optimize.reg and allow it to merge into the registry.

Do not reboot!

c. Close the W7_Optimize directory and leave it on the desktop. You will be using the application TFC.exe and MicrosoftFixit_KB50496.msi later in this outline. "

Cleans the startup, temp file I believe and fixes out of memory issues.

#14 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 24 2015 - 02:04 PM

Thanks for the file, but where was the W7 Optimize directory?

#15 weldmetal12

weldmetal12

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:GPL, vintage racing SVRA, tinkering
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Aug 24 2015 - 08:29 PM

FSX Bible chapter 5 full potential of the application..yada... yada.....

Extract zip "win 7 optimize" to your desktop becomes directory with files above.

Maybe I don't understand your question?

Windows doesn't have this directory without the download above.

Happy to help figure this out I worked through the "Bible" over the course of months, years to understand, implement.

4 hours is intense studying! and are you ready for the test? :yikesss:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links