Jump to content


- - - - -

General Gpl Questions


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 17 2020 - 04:39 PM

Hi everybody.

Would it be possible to answer some of my general GPL questions please.

1- When playing Championship against the ai. Can you change the number of laps and damage, to match your picked level.
So I notice if you pick novice level, you can't have 100% laps and you can't have full damage. So could you change this to novice level with 100% laps and full damage. Or is this achieved by picking Grand Prix top level and altering the ini files in the dir to lower the level of the AI?

2- Can someone give me a quick basic bit of info about the graphics opengl and direct3d. I believe certain main brand cards match either of those rasterisers better?

3- In the game I don't get the correct colour helmet, which I picked in the driver set up. I believe it's something to do with 2d and 3d helmets. Which will show true colour of your helmet?

4- Finally is there a way to set your shifter so you have to engage your clutch when changing gear.

Apologies for going over topics and old ground again. I would just be thankful of clarification 🤭

Thanks all 😁👍✌️

TP: 🏁

Edited by twinpotter, Jan 17 2020 - 04:41 PM.


#2 ed76

ed76

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rouen
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 17 2020 - 05:06 PM

1) you modify the number of laps in the season file
you control the speed of AI with Gem
and the level of damage in the game (novice, Advanced, Pro)
2) make test
3) I don't remember
4)in the settings you choose the 3rd pedal for the clutch

Edited by ed76, Jan 17 2020 - 05:07 PM.


#3 KARTM

KARTM

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal Canada
  • Interests:karting vintage racing gpl
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 17 2020 - 05:55 PM

with GEM+2 you can adjust the lenght of the race very easily   ,,,

for the helmet theres no more 2d helmet they are always 3d, so the color and design come from a mip , most of the time call plahelm , you can have  any kind of design on your helmet , you change the plahelm , in some carset the plahelm is share so you have to put the mip in more then one car , , nvidia GeForce card wich are the most use  work better in OpenGL v2

#4 marco lenarduzzi

marco lenarduzzi

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 430 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:brome lake Quebec, Canada
  • Interests:racing sims,cars, F1,cooking,skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 17 2020 - 10:41 PM

Hi TP. Have you installed GPLShift ? If you have, you start gplshift by clicking the .exe to turn it on then open the gplshift ini and you need to make a couple of adjustments in there. Here are 3 screen shots that are pretty much self explanatory as examples. After that you star GEM+,go to your track of choice and open the options, calibrate your wheel and pedals first, then assign your wheel,pedals,shifter and buttons as instructed. I hope this is the info you were looking for

Attached Files



#5 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 18 2020 - 05:26 AM

Thanks all ed, KARTM and Marco. Much appreciated and this info is really going to be helpful.

I have an Nvidia card, so I'll go and make sure I'm using opengl?

So to get the helmet colour I need 3d helmets. I believe in the 1.08 installer there's an option for 2or 3d helmets and I think I might have left it at 2d. So is there a 3d helmet folder in the GPL dir 🤔

Marco I have installed GPL shift. I then went into GPL and calibrated, but I didn't do as you said by going into the shift in file. So I will do that. Thanks for those tips.

For the difficulty, damage and race length I'm going to look at all the different tweaks. I don't want the game to be easy, but again I don't want to be last. I just want a up and down and competitive championship.

Thanks all once more for you answers and tips. Really means a lot 😁👍

TP: 🏁

Edited by twinpotter, Jan 18 2020 - 05:26 AM.


#6 KARTM

KARTM

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal Canada
  • Interests:karting vintage racing gpl
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 18 2020 - 05:57 AM

theres no helmet folder , they are  in each car ,  the pla(yer)helm and the AI helm , you will have to get Winmip , to open date file and do mip and bitmap editing, i know that some cars have  an optional file with the old 2d helmet but who want that

Edited by KARTM, Jan 18 2020 - 06:12 AM.


#7 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 18 2020 - 07:29 AM

Okay thanks KARTM. I'll leave the editing and just put up with the off colour helmets 😠

TP: 😐

#8 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jan 18 2020 - 08:48 AM

View Posttwinpotter, on Jan 18 2020 - 05:26 AM, said:

I have an Nvidia card, so I'll go and make sure I'm using opengl?

Yes, with an NVIDIA card try OpenGL v2 first. Then I would also try Direct3D v2 to compare what works best. You can easily switch between OpenGL and Direct3D using GEM+.

#9 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 18 2020 - 08:55 AM

Thanks yes it's a Nvidia gtx 660 card that I have.

I'm unsure (why?) what rasterizer I chose when I reinstalled GPL, the other month on my XP rig. It may be in direct 3d and if so I've been happy the way the game as been going. I'm sure I once switched the graphics on one of my laptop's in the past and that started some conflicts. I know that shouldn't happen but that's a worry anyway 🤔 We'll see what happens 😬🥵

TP: 🏁

#10 one2fwee

one2fwee

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jan 18 2020 - 05:42 PM

From reading your response, you might have it back to front - it is the original 2d helmets that allow you to change helmet colour in the menu. So you will have to only install 2d helmets with the cars you have if you want to do them that way, but it will probably look quite bad.

The only way to change the colour of 3d helmets is to change the texture yourself, it is that yellow one with the uruguayan flag.

#11 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 19 2020 - 08:51 AM

A thing from the rasterizers v2:

Quote

Usage Notes
-----------

With Nvidia cards the OpenGL rasterizer requires triple buffering to be turned off in the Nvidia Control Panel, otherwise you'll get menu flickering.


#12 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 19 2020 - 09:23 AM

Thanks again and one2fwee, Stefan and Ginetto. All good stuff 😁👍✌️

I've checked and I have the opengl rast picked so that's good. I'll look at the triple buffering. Not sure I have that on (is that in Gem options?) I have no menu flickering, so that's good.
Only problem with my rig is I don't have access to a control panel for Nvidia. I've looked high and low for it but it's not there. It's really annoying because I can't set anything for my card 😠

Don't know why but the person who built the machine never told me and I discovered the missing panel myself. Don't know if I can install one for the gtx card 🤔

Anyway that's life 😁😂

Thanks all again ✌️

TP: 🏁

Edited by twinpotter, Jan 19 2020 - 09:24 AM.


#13 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 19 2020 - 10:12 AM

Strange :think:

Go in Control Panel;
set the view by: large icons
and look for NVIDIA control panel

The .exe should be in the following folder or something similar for you:
Program Files/NVIDIA Corporation/Control Panel Client

#14 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 19 2020 - 10:36 AM

Hi Ginetto. Thanks for your help. I forgot about the set view by large icons. I'll try that.

I can see an Nvidia dir in programme files with a couple of exe's ( can't remember what) but when I try to activate them, they don't start up 🤔

I'm on my rig later so I'll take a look. Thanks again 👍

TP:

#15 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 830 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jan 19 2020 - 11:14 AM

OGL or D3D?  I've always found it a matter of trying each for a couple of evenings then deciding, there seems no rhyme or reason to which works better in any particular system.

For tweaking the vid card settings, try MSI Afterburner - https://www.guru3d.c...3d.c...d.html    

(guru3d has been my "go to" place for vid card, driver, and tweaking information for years).

Edited by jgf, Jan 19 2020 - 11:15 AM.


#16 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 28 2020 - 12:21 PM

You didn't say what cars you're driving? If it's the Papy physics. You can't change the AI speed in GEM.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links