Jump to content


* * * * * 2 votes

Gpl On Linux


  • Please log in to reply
120 replies to this topic

#46 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 02 2015 - 05:13 PM

ooops, Demag... I'm missing something more important than the distros...

Which are the specs of your computer? I'm running GPL on a laptop with intel i7 (ivy bridge) with integrated graphic "card" HD4000. I think there must be a great difference with a dedicated graphic card...

Thanks for all the feedback

Marcos.

#47 demag

demag

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Linux. Building pc's. Old Citroens.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 24 2015 - 01:41 PM

Hi, I was doing so well untill a recent system upgrade which also updated Wine. Then my system started crashing, first Peppermint 5, then Mint, then I couldn't boot. Eventually traced to what I think was a dying graphics card. I just installed a new one and all has been stable this last week apart from Wine. Can't get anything GPL related to run so working on it at the moment. Will report back with any progress.

#48 demag

demag

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Linux. Building pc's. Old Citroens.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 24 2015 - 03:23 PM

I just did a reinstall using the beta installer. I haven't tried my wheel yet but have watched the replay videos including the new Spa67 and they are very very smooth at max resolution. At the moment Gem isn't working but I'll check it out over the next day or two. The old graphics card must have been causing big problems as it was never this good. Onwards and upwards.

#49 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 24 2015 - 06:53 PM

Good!

Which specs has your computer? I understood now that you have a dedicated graphic card... Maybe there is the difference between the GPL performance under linux in your computer and in the mine...

#50 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 26 2015 - 02:38 PM

Hello to all.

I have a new computer now and I'll test GPL on linux. Does somebody managed to join online races and/or got the FF working?

I installed Manjaro again, but probably I could install Play-Linux (or some other distro oriented to gaming) as a second linux OS.

Cheers, Marcos.

#51 JMF

JMF

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
  • Interests:GPL, gardening, woodworking, classic rock, modern blues, jazz-rock fusion, and sex.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2016 - 01:26 PM

View Postmcmirande, on Dec 26 2015 - 02:38 PM, said:

Does somebody managed to join online races and/or got the FF working?

I'm playing with it again. I copied the GPL folder to wine c: and installed GEM in wine. Everything seems to work except FF. I get a constant light force in the wheel. Eventually I'll work with the information in the earlier links to see if I can get FF working.

I'm mainly working with it now because I have parts to build a server. If I run a server online I'd like to use Linux to do that.

I joined servers at both 36fps and 60fps in iGOR. My frame rate isn't very good. 33-36fps or 30-60fps. At Zolder F2 60fps, Vsync was keeping the frame rate at 30fps most of the time. When I switched to F10 view, the frame rates stayed at 60 most of the time with regular drops to 50fps. Turning off the internet meter and prib displays didn't seem to have much effect on the frame rates. Setting Maximum Mip Size to 256 in GEM didn't seem to help frame rates either.

I haven't tested VROC or D3Dv2 yet. I'll do that soon.

Linux Mint 15, AMD FX-6300, 16GB DDR3, and Radeon HD7850 2GB.

Edited by JMF, Jan 23 2016 - 01:30 PM.


#52 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2016 - 02:25 PM

Very good news, JMF!!

Would be great to host GPL on Linux! If I don't misunderstood you already could do that, isnt't it?

Cheers; Marcos.

#53 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 21 2016 - 10:13 PM

Hello again

Could somebody configure the G25 or G27 H-shifter to work under linux? It's the last I need to definitively move GPL to linux :)

#54 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 677 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 28 2016 - 06:57 AM

Zalo shows how to shift in Linux here:
http://srmz.net/inde...=15#entry121929

ltwheelconf is obsolete and complicated...

#55 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 04:54 AM

I have a problem using OGLv2 in linux mint 18.0 xfce on my nvidia GT945m card using nvidia 375.20 driver.
I cannot see anything in the menus but a little tiny portion of the top of it at the bottom of the screen.
This cannot let me do anything but enter the track pushing the right lower corner. No setup or controller calibration is possible this way.
The performance on track is worse than what I have in win 7 but not as bad (double FPS)  than the very poor I have in linux using D3Dv2 where the menu works fine.

I have no idea of how the Nvidia Xserver settings works; looks totally different from the Nvidia setting you can find in win 7, so I didn't touch anything there.

Anyone had this same issue and was able to fix it?

Attached Files



#56 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 677 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 06:03 AM

Ginetto this seems to be a problem in winecfg -> graphics, I have checked only the 2nd and 3rd option.

#57 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 06:10 AM

I have that set like this:
Attached File  Screenshot_2016-11-29_13-09-15.png   26.8K   14 downloads

but when I open winecfg some errors appear:
Attached File  Screenshot_2016-11-29_13-08-43.png   140.56K   16 downloads
How to I get rid of that, you know? :think:

#58 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 677 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 06:42 AM

Oups those errors seem to show a broken NV driver!

Maybe must reinstall it...

Mine looks like this:

Posted Image

#59 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 677 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 06:47 AM

PS
I switched back to the stable NV driver, as I had other issues with the last driver.

#60 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 07:07 AM

Hmm thank you Axel. :thumbup:

I think I will try a reinstall of the whole system.
I tried to reinstall the drivers but now cannot enter winecfg; it says I have 64 bits wine while the wine arch is set at 32... Bah, don't understand the half of it :P




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links