Jump to content


- - - - -

Utility to fix popups


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 GFraser1965

GFraser1965

    Chris Irwin

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Interests:Racing and Sex.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 01 2005 - 09:41 AM

Someone requested this utility and since RSC is down, so I thought I would post it here:

Attached File  FB_ADJ_M2.zip   10.36K   295 downloads







dangermouse EDIT: Read further down to get the file.


.

Edited by dangermouse, Jan 02 2009 - 11:01 AM.


#2 Quattro

Quattro

    Canadian Misfit

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,952 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada(2hrs from Mosport)
  • Interests:Cars/Antiques/Woodwork/AUDI<br />And his Sweetheart Robin
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 01 2005 - 09:48 AM

Cheers mate :thumbup:


Strava said:

Here is a prog that will read the FB draw distance values from a track 3do.
And let you change and save them.

Folks with hi end PCs may find it useful to extend the draw distances to reduce pop-ups.
Folks with low end PCs may find it useful to reduce draw distances for track sections were they are having FPS problems.

The prog will try to find FB data in any 3do you open.
But it only works on true track 3dos.
For example the track 3do for monza is monza.3do
The name of the folder, trk, track 3do & dat always match.
So for a track call "widget" you would have:
widget folder
|___widget.dat
|____widget.trk
|____widget.3do

An update to widget may have put a new widget.3do outside of the dat.
If so, then the widget.3do outside the dat is the one you want to update.
But make a backup of it first!


#3 Strava

Strava

    Jo Bonnier

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted Jan 02 2005 - 06:21 PM

It seems I only released the original version of FB_ADJ with the full install. :rolleyes:
You will need to get it here :  http://members.aol.c...baj/FB_V101.zip

Extract to a temp dir and run the setup.exe

Then put the other versions FB_ADJ_M.exe or FB_ADJ_E.exe
in FBs folder and use which ever you like best.

The "E" version is for the European Windows environment where numbers are shown as 1.000.000,00

The "M" version has a multi select feature the allows putting the same value in many cells.

Attached Files



#4 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,631 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 02 2005 - 06:31 PM

And where it can be found the "E" version?

#5 Buk Nekkid

Buk Nekkid

    Jochen Rindt

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted Jan 02 2005 - 07:50 PM

Thx Strava :)

This tool is great for track builders also. The export to *.fb file is extremely handy. Thanx

Cheers, Buk <insert rainbow smiley here>

#6 Strava

Strava

    Jo Bonnier

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted Jan 02 2005 - 08:57 PM

Agh! Sorry Ginetto.
I meant to attach both versions.
Here ya go  :)

Attached Files



#7 S.Beuchert

S.Beuchert

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 636 posts
  • Location:2hr's from the Ring
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 01 2009 - 05:46 AM

View PostStrava, on Jan 3 2005, 01:21 AM, said:

It seems I only released the original version of FB_ADJ with the full install. :rolleyes:
You will need to get it here :  http://members.aol.c...baj/FB_V101.zip


Extract to a temp dir and run the setup.exe

Then put the other versions FB_ADJ_M.exe or FB_ADJ_E.exe
in FBs folder and use which ever you like best.

The "E" version is for the European Windows environment where numbers are shown as 1.000.000,00

The "M" version has a multi select feature the allows putting the same value in many cells.


The link above for the main urtility is dead....



Here is the main prog....    Attached File  FB_V101.zip   2.32MB   226 downloads





the thread at RSC : http://forum.racesim...ad.php?t=156958






:wave:

Edited by S.Beuchert, Jan 01 2009 - 06:02 AM.


#8 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 03 2009 - 11:19 AM

Looking at FB Adjust, there are 4 entries.  Forward1, back1, forward2, back2.  Forward2 & back2 are usually 0, but on some tracks they are used.  What do they do?  Is there a readme somewhere?

#9 S.Beuchert

S.Beuchert

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 636 posts
  • Location:2hr's from the Ring
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 03 2009 - 11:33 AM

View Postmiklkit, on Jul 3 2009, 07:19 PM, said:

Looking at FB Adjust, there are 4 entries.  Forward1, back1, forward2, back2.  Forward2 & back2 are usually 0, but on some tracks they are used.  What do they do?  Is there a readme somewhere?


Have a look here :

http://wiki.grandpri...-_trk23dow_-_FB


Quote

There is one line in the .FB file for every 128feet (39.0144metres) of the track length.  You should include a few extra values at the end.


First Value: Distance ahead that you can see, in metres. This is the 'normal' viewing distance

Second Value: Distance behind that you can see, when driving forwards - i.e. mirror viewing distance

Third Value: Distance ahead that you can see when you're going the wrong way.

Fourth Value: Distance behind that you can see when you're going the wrong way.

The Third and Fourth values are also used when you can see the other way up the track - e.g. when approaching a hairpin and you can see where the track goes after the turn.  There must be some minimum value at work here, because you can use 0.0.

Also note that these values are affected by the detail slider in the GPL options menu.


#10 mouse

mouse

    "Titan del drink"

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South America
  • Interests:Stock Car racing
    Whelen Modifieds
    Club The Strongest
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 14 2010 - 09:42 AM

After installing the FB_V101 (with the FB_ADJ_M.exe or FB_ADJ_E.exe)  - all I get is a path 76 error message after I look inside track folders for .trk files.

I am trying to get this fix to work for annoying tree and building pop ups at certain tracks.

Namely:
Kylami (HiRes) - pop up trees at Sunset Bend.
Kilarney (HisRes with Kenny's latest update) - pop up trees / track objects.
Monaco/Monacane (2Rock) - building and hedge pop up at Massenet, seen from Beau Rivage.
Clermont Ferrand (HiRes) - pop up bridge on start line straight into first corner / popup trees on different parts of the track.
Monza10K (HiRes) - pop up trees on start finish straight.
Mosport (HiRes)- popup trees at turn 2, and slight building pop up of the pits out of the Esses, into Whites Corner.
Watkins Glen (HiRes) - slight pit building pop up seen coming out of the penultimate corner.

Edited by mouse, Apr 14 2010 - 09:53 AM.


#11 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 14 2010 - 11:37 AM

I have not re installed this program yet, and it has been a while since I last used it.  I remember that sometimes I would have to go to another version of a track to get the .trk file.  Methinks KELLAA's Nurburgring is like that.

ONO!  I can't get FBAdjust to install on win7 64.

Scratch that.  I panicked too soon.  :duh:   First it showed my hd's in negative numbers and said they didn't have enough disk space.  Then it had a problem with C:\Windows\system32\MFC40.dll.  I told it to ignore it.  It installed, started, and when I went to Kyalami it found the .trk and 3do files.  I changed some settings, saved, and it was happy.  

I used the version in post #7.

Edited by miklkit, Apr 14 2010 - 12:57 PM.


#12 Akseli - guest

Akseli - guest
  • Guests

Posted Apr 14 2010 - 12:59 PM

Works fine for me. Tried to install it in compatibly mode? (If i remember right, i had to do it)

#13 mouse

mouse

    "Titan del drink"

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South America
  • Interests:Stock Car racing
    Whelen Modifieds
    Club The Strongest
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 15 2010 - 08:46 AM

Using the doodat tool I can extract the .trk and track 3do from tracks that show no such files when opening direct from FB Adjust.

Always read the readme files first - dooh!

Almost there. Just need to figure out where and what I am changing. For instance....

Clermont Ferrands many popup trees.

Then hopefully Tripoli - Fix the white lines at the first corner, so they don't appear fuzzy as they align.

Attached Files


Edited by mouse, Apr 15 2010 - 09:05 AM.


#14 Alan Davies

Alan Davies

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth UK
  • Interests:Cycling: Road and Off Road.
    Driving well and safely.
    Climbing, Mountaineering and Armchair Polar Exploration.
    Photography.
    Growing Vegetables.
    Cacti and Alpines (tough survivors).
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 19 2011 - 03:31 AM

Hi,
This utility does not want to install with the message:
"Not enough disk space in one or more drives"

Required;  1728 K
Available: -425448 K
Needed:    428175 K

I have a 920 GB C: drive with 791 GB of free space.

Any suggestions?

#15 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 19 2011 - 06:00 AM

View PostAlan Davies, on Nov 19 2011 - 03:31 AM, said:

Hi,
This utility does not want to install with the message:
"Not enough disk space in one or more drives"

Required;  1728 K
Available: -425448 K
Needed:    428175 K

I have a 920 GB C: drive with 791 GB of free space.

Any suggestions?

It's an old utility so i think it doesn't recognize current big hard drives.
Try installing it on a smaller(USB?) drive, that is if the program let's you select a location at all.
I don't know if you can get to the location selection menu? :think:

P.s. did you notice post #11?

Edited by MECH, Nov 19 2011 - 06:02 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links