Jump to content


- - - - -

Gpl Setup Manager V2.1.0


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#16 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Dec 19 2011 - 02:18 AM

View PostLee200, on Dec 18 2011 - 03:27 PM, said:

View PostMichkov, on Dec 18 2011 - 01:33 PM, said:

Is it possible to add a "Speed at redline" display like GRE has, in a future release?

It's already there.  The red dot is the redline speed and changes depending on the gear ratios.

I know but the red dot is too inaccurate IMO

#17 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 19 2011 - 07:42 AM

View PostMichkov, on Dec 19 2011 - 02:18 AM, said:

I know but the red dot is too inaccurate IMO

Yes, I understand.  The red dot certainly isn't perfect and should only be used as an estimate.

Internally, Setup Manager uses the rear tire radius, engine rpm, and gear ratios to come up with the red dot speed.  It's a straightforward calculation.  There are two sources of error though.

1.  The actual car speed depends on the tire's rolling radius when rotating which may be different from its radius at rest.
2.  There is always some tire slip even when the car is moving in a straight line at a steady speed.  So the tire will always be spinning a bit faster than if there were no slip.

As these two variables differ at different speeds and cars, it's impossible to precisely calculate the red dot speed.

#18 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 19 2011 - 07:47 AM

What does the red line indicate in that graph?

#19 Border Reiver - guest

Border Reiver - guest
  • Guests

Posted Dec 19 2011 - 08:53 AM

View PostBob Simpson, on Dec 19 2011 - 07:47 AM, said:

What does the red line indicate in that graph?

I am pretty sure it is theoretical Vmax assuming a long enough straight, (and possibly also neglecting a couple of other factors).

Rob

#20 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 19 2011 - 09:32 AM

View PostBob Simpson, on Dec 19 2011 - 07:47 AM, said:

What does the red line indicate in that graph?

The red line is the actual top speed as found from tests at Smogbank.  Setup Manager has a list of top speeds for every car in every mod.

After thinking a bit, it may be possible to use the top speeds from these tests and the corresponding rpms at those speeds to come up with a simple fudge factor/s that would account for variations in rolling radius and slip.  I'll look into it, but can't promise anything.

EDIT:

I just did some quick tests at Smogbank with the '67 F1 cars and the average slip at max speed is about 10%.  So the actual red dot speed is about 90% of what Setup Manager shows.  I'll look at the other mods and see what they do.

Edited by Lee200, Dec 19 2011 - 10:59 AM.


#21 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 25 2011 - 11:14 PM

If you haven't noticed, the new v2.1.0 also supports the 1967 F2 mod.

:wave:

#22 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 26 2011 - 07:04 AM

He he, I spotted that straight away in post #1! I've already been using it to investigate the F2 setups and arrive at a baseline for my driving style, and it works a treat. Thanks Lee!  :thumbup:  :clap2:  :wave:

#23 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 27 2011 - 09:28 AM

Update to v2.1.1 in Post #1 to correct an error while loading the 1967 Sports Car Mod setups.

#24 r@m

r@m

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts

Posted Jan 07 2012 - 10:31 PM

This is great, as a total noob to GPL it's reassuring to see utils still being updated.  :thumbup:

#25 gregc

gregc

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2012 - 03:56 AM

Thank you Lee - great stuff and well used.

#26 Larko29

Larko29

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Down Under
  • Interests:...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2012 - 04:51 AM

Thanks Lee for your continued work on this great tool  :thumbup:

Craig

#27 Frenchy

Frenchy

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 531 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2012 - 11:12 PM

View PostLarko29, on Jan 10 2012 - 04:51 AM, said:

Thanks Lee for your continued work on this great tool  :thumbup:

Craig
+1  :hat-tip:

#28 Manfred Cubenoggin

Manfred Cubenoggin

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Keswick, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Astronomy, chess, classical music(piano concetos), computers, firearms, modern military history, motor racing, racing sims.
  • Sim interest:I have no preference

Posted Jul 02 2012 - 02:06 PM

Thanks, Lee!  Works a treat!  :)

#29 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,721 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 15 2012 - 11:44 AM

Does this work with Win 7 64-bit?

It does seem to work with original '67 GPL, although the drop-down boxes are slightly skewed in the vertical.  Actually, that would be the 'side-scrolling boxes' are slightly skewed in the vertical.

I get an error when trying to add my 2nd install.  I point it to the GPLGT install folder and the gplcGT.exe file, but get:
"Your saved GPL Setup Manager Program Settings.ini file is probably corrupted. Please delete the file and restart GPL Setup Manager."
I delete that file, start again, with the same results.

Any thoughts??

Edited by gliebzeit, Aug 15 2012 - 11:47 AM.


#30 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 15 2012 - 01:15 PM

View Postgliebzeit, on Aug 15 2012 - 11:44 AM, said:


I get an error when trying to add my 2nd install.  I point it to the GPLGT install folder and the gplcGT.exe file, but get:
"Your saved GPL Setup Manager Program Settings.ini file is probably corrupted. Please delete the file and restart GPL Setup Manager."
I delete that file, start again, with the same results.

Any thoughts??

I'm pretty sure that you need to point it at GPL.EXE and not any of the mod EXEs




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links