Jump to content


- - - - -

GPL Race Length Editor


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 31 2009 - 09:49 AM

Someone was asking for this utility by Tony Whitley.

I don't use it anymore as you can just adjust the laps in the season file yourself.  My big problem with RaceLengthEditor.exe is that it lists races by the track shortname which doesn't always make it easy to know what track it is.  For example "British GP" is Silverstone, but how do you know it isn't Brands, Aintree, Lulsgate or even the fantasy track Dragon's Nest all of which have "British GP" included in their name in the Track Database listings.

>>>>>>>>>

To manually set the distance, everything is based on the GP distance laps which is what the numberOfLaps=xx setting is for each track listing in the season file.

Novice is 7% of that value
Short is 15%
Long is 30%
GP is 100%

So if you set numberOfLaps=100 and select a novice race, you'll have a 7 lap race etc.

Attached Files



#2 dangermouse

dangermouse

    The mobile chicane

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SRMZ/GPLR London, UK
  • Interests:Errrrrr, GPL? :-)
    Music , computing, hi-fi, motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Feb 01 2009 - 07:42 AM

Thanks Bob.  :thanks:

#3 Gaizka López C.

Gaizka López C.

    Mike Parkes

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Barcelona 1967
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 22 2011 - 07:29 PM

Would be possible to update this utility to make it work with GPL mods?

Currently it's only able to work with the 67season.ini file :shrug:

#4 isamu

isamu

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts

Posted Jan 16 2012 - 07:03 AM

View PostGaizka López C., on Feb 22 2011 - 07:29 PM, said:

Would be possible to update this utility to make it work with GPL mods?

Currently it's only able to work with the 67season.ini file :shrug:


Yes that would be awesome.

But thanks Bob for uploading this it's a great tool :)

#5 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 16 2012 - 09:59 AM

Quote


To manually set the distance, everything is based on the GP distance laps which is what the numberOfLaps=xx setting is for each track listing in the season file.

Novice is 7% of that value
Short is 15%
Long is 30%
GP is 100%

The easiest way to adjust distances is in GEM > Seasons > select the season file and select the track in the right column > edit.  Use the above percentages to get the race distance that you want.  This works for any mod or season file.

#6 isamu

isamu

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts

Posted Jan 16 2012 - 05:43 PM

Thanks Bob.

#7 Seven Smiles

Seven Smiles

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Sim interest:rFactor

Posted Oct 22 2016 - 01:32 PM

News on this: I had completely forgotten I'd written this but I've been asked to resurrect it and found a 2002 CD with the source.  It was written in Visual Basic and I had to auto-translate that to VB.NET so I will be able to bring it up to date and probably fix these issues.

#8 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,676 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 24 2016 - 06:50 AM

View PostSeven Smiles, on Oct 22 2016 - 01:32 PM, said:

News on this: I had completely forgotten I'd written this but I've been asked to resurrect it and found a 2002 CD with the source.  It was written in Visual Basic and I had to auto-translate that to VB.NET so I will be able to bring it up to date and probably fix these issues.

Great, thx! :up:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links