Jump to content


- - - - -

Windows 10 And Sound


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#21 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,863 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 11 2016 - 07:05 PM

Just a shot in the dark Bob. When you installed GPL, did you install to a path which contained spaces anywhere? I've sometimes had strange things happen when I install older software to a path which contains spaces, so I normally avoid doing it under any circumstances.

Edited by Saiph, Aug 11 2016 - 07:06 PM.


#22 robwmack

robwmack

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilbert Plains, Manitoba, Canada
  • Interests:Motor Racing, Slot Car Racing, Sim Racing, Hockey, Military History
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 12 2016 - 12:30 AM

Hi Saiph. What do you mean by spaces?

#23 robwmack

robwmack

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilbert Plains, Manitoba, Canada
  • Interests:Motor Racing, Slot Car Racing, Sim Racing, Hockey, Military History
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 12 2016 - 02:37 AM

Hi Saith,

My install path is C:\Sierra\GPL. I gather you mean you wouldn't use a path such as C:\New Install\Sierra\GPL.

Actually, I may have found the problem. Many of the engine sound wave files in my Sound folder are silent when you play them through the Windows media player. I don't know why that is. It would appear I have to replace them with files that actually have sound when you play them.

Bob

#24 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,863 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 12 2016 - 04:09 PM

View Postrobwmack, on Aug 12 2016 - 02:37 AM, said:

Hi Saith,

My install path is C:\Sierra\GPL. I gather you mean you wouldn't use a path such as C:\New Install\Sierra\GPL.

Yes, that's what I meant.

View Postrobwmack, on Aug 12 2016 - 02:37 AM, said:

Actually, I may have found the problem. Many of the engine sound wave files in my Sound folder are silent when you play them through the Windows media player. I don't know why that is. It would appear I have to replace them with files that actually have sound when you play them.

Bob

If the sound files are silent, it might mean that you have an audio codec missing in your Windows install. Sound files can be recorded using many different formats, and if Windows doesn't understand the format of an audio file it sometimes just skips it without letting you know that there's a problem. Alternatively the sound files might have been corrupted somehow, but that would be a bit odd for so many of them to be damaged and yet all the other GPL files to be left in an ok state.

If you think it might be a missing codec, I suggest downloading and installing the "K-Lite Codec Pack" from https://www.codecgui...ownload_kl.htm
When I first upgraded to Windows 8, I had some problems playing some video and audio files on my PC, and after a little searching around I found this pack. It seems to be very comprehensive, and doesn't take much effort to install. After installing it, I can now play just about any file format that's available. The larger packs even include an alternative media player, called "Media Player Home Cinema" which I find nice and convenient. To keep things simple, you might wish to just download the "basic" pack, that should be enough to cover all the most common codecs.

Edited by Saiph, Aug 12 2016 - 04:23 PM.


#25 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 13 2016 - 06:27 AM

I highly endorse Keith's suggestion to D/L and install the 'K-Lite Codec Pack' for Windows.  It is very comprehensive and solves many, many sound and video playback issues.

:thumbup:

#26 robwmack

robwmack

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilbert Plains, Manitoba, Canada
  • Interests:Motor Racing, Slot Car Racing, Sim Racing, Hockey, Military History
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 14 2016 - 07:53 AM

Thanks Keith and Greg. I'll Try that when I'm back at my computer on Monday.

#27 robwmack

robwmack

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilbert Plains, Manitoba, Canada
  • Interests:Motor Racing, Slot Car Racing, Sim Racing, Hockey, Military History
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 15 2016 - 04:32 PM

Sadly nothing has changed. Was there something else I was supposed to do other than just running the K-Lite install?

It's strange that my old 1967 sounds work as do the 1966 Can-Am sounds, but the 1965 and 1967 GT sounds don't work.

Not giving up though and any ideas are appreciated.

I meant to add that they all worked back in my XP install.

#28 Pavel

Pavel

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 831 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Racing, Simracing, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 17 2016 - 01:09 AM

Mods, various sound addons have wave files in different formats. Some files are mono, others are stereo, some files are 8bit, others are 16bit. I think you need determine format of wave files that works fine or better with GPL on your system. And then convert all other files to this format. I did so for my GPL install on Win7.

#29 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 17 2016 - 07:29 AM

robwmack, on the off chance that some of your sound files have been corrupted, please un-zip these files into your sound folder.  See if this helps.

Attached Files



#30 robwmack

robwmack

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilbert Plains, Manitoba, Canada
  • Interests:Motor Racing, Slot Car Racing, Sim Racing, Hockey, Military History
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 17 2016 - 07:39 PM

Hi Pavel,

I'm still trying to figure out how to check the details of the wave file format.

Hi Greg,

Thanks for the files. The strange thing is that the GT sounds worked but the 65 sounds didn't.

Bob

#31 robwmack

robwmack

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilbert Plains, Manitoba, Canada
  • Interests:Motor Racing, Slot Car Racing, Sim Racing, Hockey, Military History
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 23 2018 - 08:14 PM

It's been over two years since I posted regarding the sound problem I was experiencing. A lot has happened in those two years. I retired, moved to rural Manitoba and became a grandfather. I'd put GPL on the back burner and stopped trying to install all of the mods. In fact my cockpit setup has largely sat idle for the past year.

Then last week I accidentally stumbled upon the solution to my problem. I had noticed that occasionally when I tried to watch a YouTube video, there would be no sound. For some reason, if I opened the sound settings window, the sound would work. So I just started leaving the window open if I had trouble with the sound while watching videos. Then I noticed that there was a drop down menu titled "Choose you output device". There were three choices, "Speakers (Turtle Beach Riviera Wave", "Digital Output (Turtle Beach Riviera Wave" and "Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (High Definition Audio Device)".

It had been set on the "Speakers" option and so I tried the "Digital Output" setting. Bingo! The sound worked without leaving the window open. I tried the 1965 mod and the engine sounds worked.

I am relating this to close out the issue in the hope that it will help others who may have had that problem. In the meantime, I'm back to driving GPL and installing the remaining mods to get me back to where I was two years ago when I upgraded to Windows 7 (then Windows 10).

Edited by robwmack, Sep 23 2018 - 08:19 PM.


#32 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,863 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 24 2018 - 05:06 PM

Glad to know that you've found a solution! Welcome back to GPL! :thumbup: :wave:

#33 tjc

tjc

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 744 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland.
  • Interests:Various
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 24 2018 - 06:00 PM

Having problems with anything PC related sucks.. big time, but especially dear old GPL. But it`s just so satisfying when you fix them!

Well done on finding the fix and welcome back. :)

#34 robwmack

robwmack

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilbert Plains, Manitoba, Canada
  • Interests:Motor Racing, Slot Car Racing, Sim Racing, Hockey, Military History
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 24 2018 - 07:42 PM

Thanks folks. I never really went away. I just stopped racing GPL and suspended my efforts to get my installation to the great state it had been under Windows XP. But I was followings developments in these forums very closely.

#35 Manfred Cubenoggin

Manfred Cubenoggin

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Keswick, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Astronomy, chess, classical music(piano concetos), computers, firearms, modern military history, motor racing, racing sims.
  • Sim interest:I have no preference

Posted Sep 25 2018 - 04:29 AM

Good on ya, Rob!  And yes, I'm still kicking around.  :)

Rural Manitoba?  Hope Gimli isn't too far away.

#36 robwmack

robwmack

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilbert Plains, Manitoba, Canada
  • Interests:Motor Racing, Slot Car Racing, Sim Racing, Hockey, Military History
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 25 2018 - 12:57 PM

Hi Manfred!

Yes, our daughter married a doctor and they moved out here for him to do his residency. They are both animal crazy and have a hobby farm with lots of creatures. Last year she was expecting and we moved out here to be close. We now have a delightful grandson and are having a great time. We really like the quiet and slow pace. Don't miss the hubbub of Ontario one bit.

Didn't get to Gimli this year. It's about three hours away. They only run one club event per month from May to September and the last race was last weekend. Too much to do around the house this year to get away.

Good to hear from you.

Cheers!

Bob




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links