Jump to content


- - - - -

Disabling Waiting On 'unclear Track' At Shift+R


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 757 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 13 2015 - 05:40 PM

It happens sometimes (offline) that you spin off, or got stuck in the hay, lost a wheel, upside down, etc. and you need to wait for a very long time before a string of AI cars pass your car before the game allows you to reset your car. Pretty annoying, if I say so myself.

Is there a possibility to disable the game from forcing you to wait before the track is clear?

#2 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,631 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 14 2015 - 04:58 AM

I don't think because if you reset while an AI is passing, will cause you and the AI to crash again and you'll need to reset, again... :)

#3 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 14 2015 - 08:42 AM

If you slip off in real life you can't plunge on the track right away either ;)
So it makes perfectly sence to wait for all nearby cars having passed by :)

#4 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 14 2015 - 10:36 AM

Guessing editors will put this request just above removing static.

Learn how to drive or set number of AI to five.

:D

If silly proximity driving errors happen too often it might be your display is not calibrated to having things appear where you think they are. Try moving POV slightly forward and back..then compensate FOV to retain same view. It will appear the same but you will "see" it differently.

Edited by John Woods, Nov 14 2015 - 10:44 AM.


#5 fajanko

fajanko

    Jani Posta

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 823 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Interests:"I am a semi-professional race car driver AND an amateur tattoo artist."
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 14 2015 - 10:38 AM

I think it would be okay if the reset would put the car beside the track (where possible).

#6 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 14 2015 - 02:05 PM

That would be better, then a driver could merge, although an aggressive passing AI might give a nudge to the suspension and require stopping for another shift-R.

If at the beginning of a race, likely a driver can recover and catch up to field where they were in position when the incident occurred. But if near the end of a race...duh...unless the AI took you out, then it sucks even tho probably still driver's error.

Edited by John Woods, Nov 14 2015 - 02:09 PM.


#7 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 15 2015 - 01:45 PM

Real life has no reset. Run pro mode, and you'll never have that problem again.

#8 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 15 2015 - 02:09 PM

View PostPete Gaimari, on Nov 15 2015 - 01:45 PM, said:

Real life has no reset. Run pro mode, and you'll never have that problem again.

+1
:)
Never means never.

Simulating waiting for a coded routine to run its course is no fun when choosing to play with Shift-R.
The irritation is part of the immersion in its fantasy, so how real is that?

Sure we would all be really upset chunking a real curb on the outside front.
(Refer to many YT vids).
Shift-R saves suffering thru the downtime re-loading a session to begin again.
Which in my case would mean, never means never finishing one lap at Targa.

Edited by John Woods, Nov 15 2015 - 02:11 PM.


#9 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 15 2015 - 05:17 PM

I have a cure for that John. I'm pretty sure the Lotus 49 never ran at Targa. So, I don't either. :D

#10 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 757 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 16 2015 - 01:19 AM

View PostPete Gaimari, on Nov 15 2015 - 01:45 PM, said:

Real life has no reset. Run pro mode, and you'll never have that problem again.
True, but this is a game, not real life. Offline I run (in general) always on Intermediate. Pro mode is probably even more annoying for that reason: I try to race and make laps and times, practising for the next league race or a lower Rank. And when it goes wrong, going way back to beginning or waiting for a lot of cars to pass by is just a waste of my time. Like Jani said, better that it always resets you beside the track, or at least next to the racing line, that is fine enough to me. If I am just able to do it, anytime it is needed.

I read so often that 'everything is wanted to be as realistic to real life as possible', but in cases like this I could not care much for that. I just want to be able to do as much as I like without getting such burdens. Henceforth the idea.

#11 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,328 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 16 2015 - 07:51 AM

Just like FLASBACKS in codemasters F1 games where you can roll back before an incident to start again

TP:

#12 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 16 2015 - 08:12 AM

View PostGrandPrixYannick, on Nov 16 2015 - 01:19 AM, said:

View PostPete Gaimari, on Nov 15 2015 - 01:45 PM, said:

Real life has no reset. Run pro mode, and you'll never have that problem again.
True, but this is a game, not real life. Offline I run (in general) always on Intermediate. Pro mode is probably even more annoying for that reason: I try to race and make laps and times, practising for the next league race or a lower Rank. And when it goes wrong, going way back to beginning or waiting for a lot of cars to pass by is just a waste of my time. Like Jani said, better that it always resets you beside the track, or at least next to the racing line, that is fine enough to me. If I am just able to do it, anytime it is needed.

I read so often that 'everything is wanted to be as realistic to real life as possible', but in cases like this I could not care much for that. I just want to be able to do as much as I like without getting such burdens. Henceforth the idea.

It's not just having no reset in pro mode. It's the damage too. Much more realistic, and closer to real life. I think it makes you a better driver knowing you can't bang anything, or not take care of the car.

I understand it's not real life, but it is a simulation. We should be simulating real life as much as possible. I know that doesn't mean squat to some guys, but it does to a lot of us.

I also know i'm busting your chops, but that's what old farts do. Don't take it personally.

#13 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,328 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 16 2015 - 09:46 AM

I agree Pete.
Full race grid,historic and 100% laps.Racing round at Monaco in the mix and doing well.Then you scrape the barrier or other and you end up limping home with only a few laps to go.All your efforts gone to waste.Really frustrating but that's the life of a race driver,whether it be real life or simulation!


TP: old fart:

#14 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 757 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 16 2015 - 09:47 AM

View PostPete Gaimari, on Nov 16 2015 - 08:12 AM, said:

View PostGrandPrixYannick, on Nov 16 2015 - 01:19 AM, said:

View PostPete Gaimari, on Nov 15 2015 - 01:45 PM, said:

Real life has no reset. Run pro mode, and you'll never have that problem again.
True, but this is a game, not real life. Offline I run (in general) always on Intermediate. Pro mode is probably even more annoying for that reason: I try to race and make laps and times, practising for the next league race or a lower Rank. And :( hen it goes wrong, going way back to beginning or waiting for a lot of cars to pass by is just a waste of my time. Like Jani said, better that it always resets you beside the track, or at least next to the racing line, that is fine enough to me. If I am just able to do it, anytime it is needed.

I read so often that 'everything is wanted to be as realistic to real life as possible', but in cases like this I could not care much for that. I just want to be able to do as much as I like without getting such burdens. Henceforth the idea.

It's not just having no reset in pro mode. It's the damage too. Much more realistic, and closer to real life. I think it makes you a better driver knowing you can't bang anything, or not take care of the car.

I understand it's not real life, but it is a simulation. We should be simulating real life as much as possible. I know that doesn't mean squat to some guys, but it does to a lot of us.

I also know i'm busting your chops, but that's what old farts do. Don't take it personally.

That's where the actual race is for :thumbup:
As said, offline is mainly just practising. It is a bit of the process of learning the track, some forgiveness does not hurt at all. Just to clarify, I do run in Pro a few times, just hardly.

Don't bother about the last thing, I got plenty of that in real life.

#15 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 16 2015 - 01:00 PM

When i'm practicing, making a setup, or learning a new track. I do it alone. :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links