Jump to content


- - - - -

Igor - Use Different Join Port - Beta


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#31 webfoot

webfoot

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham England
  • Interests:.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 05 2018 - 10:57 AM

Bob,

No I think it's a bug in iGOR.

My rsid66sc track.ini is straight from the original track install.  "LFS Arena Stage 1"  appears in only one of my many season ini files.  Can't see why Igor would pick it up.

BUT..... "LFS Arena Stage 1" is actually stored in the folder directory \tracks\RSCarena.  Alphabeticaly the one before rsid66sc.

Attached File  Capture.JPG   44.7K   9 downloads

I am guessing that  in Ginetto's track directory Rouen precedes rsid66sc which is why he gets a different "wrong" display.  IGor is getting a little confused and is using data from the track.ini from the track folder immediately before the rsid66sc folder.

Edited by webfoot, Feb 05 2018 - 11:28 AM.


#32 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,737 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 05 2018 - 03:21 PM

View Postwebfoot, on Feb 05 2018 - 10:57 AM, said:

...
I am guessing that  in Ginetto's track directory Rouen precedes rsid66sc which is why he gets a different "wrong" display.  IGor is getting a little confused and is using data from the track.ini from the track folder immediately before the rsid66sc folder.
Exactly like you said. Bravo! :thumbup:

Attached Files



#33 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,815 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Feb 14 2018 - 06:12 AM

I also got it working! :)
And there were no problems hosting our GPLRACER league race on my two servers behind one router.

Like Axel (Cookie) I use an AVM FRITZ!box router.

On my 1st server I use the default iGOR
and on my 2nd server I use the "iGORd_27aug2008_multi_ports" of post #2.
On my 2nd server I have changed the join port to 3266 in iGORd.
In the router I have only added UDP 32666-32686 and the 2nd server IP.

That was really easy to setup up with the iGORd multi ports version.

Thank you all for your help! :thumbup:

Edited by Stefan Roess, Feb 14 2018 - 06:14 AM.


#34 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,815 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Mar 15 2018 - 09:38 AM

How does it work when there is no race list at iGOR and you run two server?

You start GEM+ (in case you do not have seperate GPL installs for mods) choose your player and mod and hit the green button of GEM+
The drivers can then join on a server via the IP they enter directly in GPL multiplayer.
But as both server have the same IP for drivers outside of my home network how can they join on a specific server?
Imagine you have Grid 1 on Server 1 and Grid 2 on Server 2, but both show the same IP in iGOR (when there is a race list) or when you check your IP on the server.

Internal the two server have its own fixed IP within my home network and my router is forwarding the specific ports to the specific server.

But is there any way that you can connect from the internet via entering an IP in GPL (not iGOR) and choose Server 1 or Server 2?
Is that technically possible?

Edited by Stefan Roess, Mar 17 2018 - 04:14 AM.


#35 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 800 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 15 2018 - 01:05 PM

We had this question at UKGPL,

Fulvio answered:

Quote

I think you have to know the port number if you don't use the default one and add it to IP address. Ex: 192.168.0.2:32000

I have not tried it yet...

#36 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,815 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Mar 16 2018 - 03:52 AM

Thx Alex (and Fluvio). :thumbup:
I will give it a try and report here.

Edited by Stefan Roess, Mar 16 2018 - 03:53 AM.


#37 Warren Hall Jr.

Warren Hall Jr.

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Cod, USA, in a shack down by the river
  • Interests:Lots of stuff
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 16 2018 - 03:27 PM

It would also help to put the port number in use in the published notes in Igor.

#38 roberto teso

roberto teso

    Subtitled

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:somewhere
  • Interests:Shoestrings theory
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 18 2018 - 08:16 AM

View PostStefan Roess, on Mar 16 2018 - 03:52 AM, said:

Thx Alex (and Fluvio). :thumbup:
I will give it a try and report here.
This is why I asked what do you want exactly, because I never suspected to give a different port was possible into GPL directly, not using Igor.
And yes, tested on Hauls3 and, in my network with my PC, I can confirm that works perfectly.

#39 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 800 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 19 2018 - 04:16 AM

I am wondering if some people have problems joining the server with this method.

For the main server I am opening so many different ports, the second server only opens one port!

Can I use the "second method" for a single server?

I had used this server for a fun race and some people could not join...

#40 roberto teso

roberto teso

    Subtitled

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:somewhere
  • Interests:Shoestrings theory
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 21 2018 - 08:28 AM

View PostCookie, on Apr 19 2018 - 04:16 AM, said:

I had used this server for a fun race and some people could not join...

For surely we have to open the same client ports (range) in the router and set correct rules to allow ports to be forewarded to the correct internal ip.
Other ports are not used for clients, they are used for IRC, race list ecc. and can be used the same for more servers, the reference I use for GPL ports numbers and usage is this one: GPL AND iGOR PORTS, I think one of the oldest source for this info at all.

So, yes, for a second server sharing same IP you have to add to router foreward only the range (drivers+1) of clients UDP port, nothing else.

Fact that some people couldn't join is difficult to understand, I could suspect that can be a conflict with something other that use the same (unstandard) port that we set for the server, there's a lot of ports used by other things. You could find here on wiki, List TCP and UDP port numbers, but keep in mind that wiki is not the best or the fresh source, a list of tcp/udp ports usage that can conflic with that the server and clients have to use to race.

So, other than correctly configure router to open and forwarding our ports range or ranges, we have to assure no other's things use the same ports, on server and on clients.

#41 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 800 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 22 2018 - 05:17 AM

Thanks Roberto,
I know the fact that someone could not join can have lots of causes, not only on the servers side.

But what I did, was running the 2nd server alone, without the first with all the opened ports... :think:
Most people could join without problems!

#42 Warren Hall Jr.

Warren Hall Jr.

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Cod, USA, in a shack down by the river
  • Interests:Lots of stuff
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 22 2018 - 08:40 AM

I'm running 3 iGOR servers. The only ports I open in the router are the join ports, which are different for each server.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links