Jump to content


- - - - -

Gpl's 36 Fps And Freesync/gsync?


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 15 2017 - 02:23 PM

I'm currently looking for a new (high refreshrate) monitor with Freesync. These sync techniques are nice for playing games a variable framerates because it avoids sreentearing. The Freesync range on these kind of monitors reaches from 30 to 120 hz. My current monitor is 60 hz, which ofcourse doesn't match up perfectly with the odd 36 fps GPL uses when racing against AI.

I was wondering if anyone has experience with a Freesync/Gsync monitor when playing GPL and if it feels any different when the refreshrate of the monitor matches the 36 fps of the game?

P.S. I'm not buying the monitor solely for GPL.

Edited by Millennium, Jun 15 2017 - 02:26 PM.


#2 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts

Posted Jun 15 2017 - 03:05 PM

I do know from a League where I used to race way too many years ago, that one of the guys set his CRT to 72hz and activated vsync.

View PostMillennium, on Jun 15 2017 - 02:23 PM, said:

... and if it feels any different when the refreshrate of the monitor matches the 36 fps of the game?

He described it as much smoother due to the matching hz.

#3 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 15 2017 - 03:32 PM

That's interesting, I wonder how big of a difference it makes.

#4 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 15 2017 - 03:58 PM

Also ran a CRT at 72hz.
It was a built-in option and was definitely smoother/better.

Edited by John Woods, Jun 15 2017 - 03:59 PM.


#5 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,519 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 16 2017 - 04:41 AM

Have a CRT  Iiyama 19', he gives the possibility to set at 72 HZ . But on CRT screens, I honestly can 't see a lot difference  setting it at 72 instead of 85 HZ or 100 Hz . That 's why I have never understood when the LCD users where claiming for the 60 fps patch. Without doubt, 60 fps is smoother on CRT too, but Playing at 36 fps isn't a problem. I don't have stirring effects and I wld exagerate a lot if I say that GPL isn't smooth enough to play  a long session.

On flat LCD screens, seems there is a higher perceived visual effect between 36 fps and 60 fps.

In 2001, when most GPlers had CRT screens , I don't remember at Racesim central there was much complain about GPL not being smooth. The trick was only to get a steady 36 fps at all tracks with full carsets.

But if I had a LCD, I wld certainly experience the same problem as yours.

Edited by M Needforspeed, Jun 16 2017 - 11:27 AM.


#6 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 16 2017 - 05:13 AM

The problem is not so much the lower framerate, but more that it doesn't match up well with the 60 hz that most modern monitors use. If the game ran at 30 fps this wouldn't be a "problem", beacuse every single frame would get shown for a equally amount of time on a 60 hz monitor. But with 36 fps that isn't the case (anymore nowadays). I could ofcourse lock the framerate to 30 fps, but I rather would not do that.

It's still perfectly playable at 36 fps ofcourse even on a 60 hz display, but it should be smoother when the fps matches the refreshrate of the monitor.

Edited by Millennium, Jun 16 2017 - 05:18 AM.


#7 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,519 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 16 2017 - 11:24 AM

View PostMillennium, on Jun 16 2017 - 05:13 AM, said:

The problem is not so much the lower framerate, but more that it doesn't match up well with the 60 hz that most modern monitors use. If the game ran at 30 fps this wouldn't be a "problem", beacuse every single frame would get shown for a equally amount of time on a 60 hz monitor. But with 36 fps that isn't the case (anymore nowadays). I could ofcourse lock the framerate to 30 fps, but I rather would not do that.

It's still perfectly playable at 36 fps ofcourse even on a 60 hz display, but it should be smoother when the fps matches the refreshrate of the monitor.
  Millenium

I wanted only to testify what I experience on my CRT, after performing all tests possible.not to put any conclusion.

#8 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,519 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 16 2017 - 11:27 AM

...

Edited by M Needforspeed, Jun 16 2017 - 11:29 AM.


#9 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 16 2017 - 12:07 PM

I understand. ;)

#10 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 16 2018 - 08:02 AM

I got my 144 hz monitor today, I can confirm that 36 fps with freesync enabled and/or a 144 hz refreshrate (which matches the 36 fps perectly) does indeed make it a more smoother experience. It's not a night a day difference, bit it is a noticable improvement.

My monitor happens to have a freesync range that starts at 35 (which is rather low today). But if you use a 144hz monitor that doesn't support freesync at those framerates you will get the same result by setting your monitor on 144hz without freesync/gsync. (Than every frame matches which 4 refreshes of the monitor exactly)

Edited by Millennium, May 16 2018 - 08:07 AM.


#11 Pedro

Pedro

    Pedro

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,383 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hillegom - The Netherlands
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends
    Scuba-diving
    Airplanes
    Money :-)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 17 2018 - 02:25 PM

Do you have a AMD video card?

For as far as I know the Freesync only works at144Hz with AMD-Cards.

#12 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 18 2018 - 04:12 AM

Yes Freesync only works with AMD gpu's indeed, I have a R9 290X.

#13 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 16 2018 - 07:42 AM

I am looking to buy a new monitor.
Currently 60hz monitor. ( no 60fps patch )

I have nVidia card so would a 144hz monitor be better for GPL ?

In theory 36 x 4 = 144 so should match up. Any one here use a 144hz monitor with GPL  at 36fps ?



Paul

#14 Pedro

Pedro

    Pedro

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,383 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hillegom - The Netherlands
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends
    Scuba-diving
    Airplanes
    Money :-)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 16 2018 - 12:59 PM

View Postpaul skingley, on Jun 16 2018 - 07:42 AM, said:

I have nVidia card so would a 144hz monitor be better for GPL ?

In theory 36 x 4 = 144 so should match up. Any one here use a 144hz monitor with GPL  at 36fps ?


Hi Paul,

If you want to bennefit from 144Hz with a NVidea-card you should bay a G-Sync monitor.
(I dont know if its better in GPL)

I have a 27 " HD 144Hz AOC-Freesync monitor and a NVidea-card and that works fine with GPL, but I do not have 144Hz at all!
When I was saving for a AMD-card the prices rised beyond normal so I still have the NVidea and dont benefit from 144Hz, but its a great monitor :)

Happy hunting.

Edited by Pedro, Jun 16 2018 - 12:59 PM.


#15 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,519 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 16 2018 - 03:01 PM

View Postpaul skingley, on Jun 16 2018 - 07:42 AM, said:

I am looking to buy a new monitor.
Currently 60hz monitor. ( no 60fps patch )

I have nVidia card so would a 144hz monitor be better for GPL ?

In theory 36 x 4 = 144 so should match up. Any one here use a 144hz monitor with GPL  at 36fps ?



Paul
Paul,  don't use a 144 HZ at home , but tested one in a shop, with my PC fitted with my old ( by now ) N Vividia GTX 285 Amp edition, and GPL was as smooth as on the CRT I am using, so go for it.

Edited by M Needforspeed, Jun 16 2018 - 03:02 PM.


#16 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 17 2018 - 06:44 AM

Thanks for the replies guys.

My PC and GPU can run GPL at steady 36fps ( 60hz ) but what happens at 144hz ?
Will my GTX1050ti be able to produce a steady stream at over twice the refresh rate ?

I am planning on staying with  1920 x1080 res


Paul

#17 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,888 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 17 2018 - 08:21 AM

View Postpaul skingley, on Jun 17 2018 - 06:44 AM, said:

..... My PC and GPU can run GPL at steady 36fps ( 60hz ) but what happens at 144hz ?
Will my GTX1050ti be able to produce a steady stream at over twice the refresh rate ?

I am planning on staying with  1920 x1080 res
.....

What will probably happen is that GPL will not know anything about the 144hz monitor, so it will keep pumping out 36fps. Your graphics card will be refreshing the video at 144hz, but it will only be updating the picture itself every 4th frame, as GPL supplies it with a new frame. As 144 is a multiple of 36, the two frame rates should sync nicely with each other, and everything should run smoothly. It's possible that GPL could sometimes generate "micro-pauses" or "stutters", depending on what track you're running, so this may occasionally throw the timing out. If you do notice any glitches, try turning on Vsync - that should force GPL and the monitor to stay in sync, even at a 4:1 frame ratio.

#18 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 17 2018 - 11:24 AM

Thanks again.

So if I get 144hz steady refresh rate do I really need a Gsync monitor or would any 144hz monitor do the same without spending the extra cash ?

These questions really only apply to GPL which is 95% of my sim time.



Paul

#19 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 05 2018 - 03:22 PM

Sorry for the late respone.

Your framerate will be the same as with a 60 herz monitor, but the frametimes will be more consistent. It will be similair to playing GPL on a 72 herz crt.

If you go to a 144 herz monitor you don't really need any sort of sync application because the 36 fps of GPL already lines up with the 144 herz refreshrate as you said. I've actually turned Freesync off on my monitor after a while because it would somtimes cause a black screen on certain applications or suddenly switch my desktop to 60 herz for no reason. But on 144 herz and no freesync I haven't encountered any problems and GPL feels smoother than on my 60 herz monitor. I  can also lock rFactor 2, Automobilista etc to 90 fps or any high framerate and don't see any noticable tearing, which is fantastic.

Freesync or Gsync would be more useful on lower refreshrate monitors. But then you also have to make sure it activates at low framerates like 36 fps, which often is not the case.

But short anwser: Yes any 144 herz monitor will do. Don't spend the extra cash on Gsync, which add a lot the the price.

Edited by Millennium, Jul 05 2018 - 03:41 PM.


#20 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 17 2018 - 12:20 PM

Thanks for all your help and advice guys.

After much thought I decided to go with a 144hz G Sync monitor.

The reason I went with G Sync is although I said I mainly sim with GPL I do sometimes play NR2003 mods especially 69 and 70.
On my system NR2003 runs at variable fps between 40 and 140 fps and I was not sure how a non sync monitor would cope with that without tearing.

When checking out G Sync monitors I was surprised to see that some do not refresh below 40hz which would not be suitable for GPL at 36fps so that is one thing to look for when buying a G Sync monitor.

I decided to buy used as I was still unsure if I was making the right choice so I have bought a 24" 1080p BenQ XL2420G which refreshes 30hz to 144hz.
It came today and so far so good.
I will add more to my report after a few GPL races :)



Paul




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links