Jump to content


- - - - -

Gpl Screen Zoomed In Issue With Windows 10


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 jonboy99

jonboy99

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL!
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 14 2019 - 06:23 PM

Hi all,

(*Edit - it was the display scaling option in Windows 10 - see below for Bob's fix. Testing revealed revealed it also happens with Nvidia cards too. Post title edited accordingly)


I've not been able to fix an issue with GPL and this combination (ATI graphics and win 10). I've got 2 systems and they've both got the same problem.

The issue is the screen is overzoomed slightly - the black bar on the bottom of the screen is not visible because of the 'zoom', and the right side of the screen is cut off too - the right side wheel is cut in half by the right edge of the screen. I'm using the 67 mod. I've attached a photo showing the issue.

My main system until a few days ago is as follows. It's old but a goody!

q9650 intel cpu
Asus p5q-e mobo.
ATI RX-570 graphics card.

I upgraded the graphics a few months ago from a GTX570 (Nvidia) - the 570 didn't have this same issue.

If I boot the computer with the RX-570 on windows 7, it runs perfectly too. It's just the combo of windows 10 and the ATI card.

I get the same problem on my monitor (2560x1600) or TV (1080p).



My new just built system (AMD 3700X and 5700 XT) has the same issue with windows 10. This mobo doesn't support windows 7 so I can't test with that. Regardless, I want to stay on windows 10 now.

I've tried tweaking all the resolution in the GPLresolutions.exe program, and all resolutions I select in GPL do this to some extent.

In core.ini I have direct mirror rendering set to 0.

I'm stuck and can't think of any other options.

Thanks!
Jon

Attached Files


Edited by jonboy99, Sep 15 2019 - 01:23 PM.


#2 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 14 2019 - 06:25 PM

same monitor?
most have adjustment ... dials (?) at bottom of the frame to adjust screen (up/down... left/right)   maybe check that?

#3 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,389 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 14 2019 - 10:11 PM

It might be that you need to play around with the desktop graphic settings.

> Adjust desktop size and position > Scaling.  I have "Full-screen" selected.

#4 orlinos

orlinos

    Jo Siffert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
  • Interests:jazz
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Sep 15 2019 - 03:54 AM

View Postjonboy99, on Sep 14 2019 - 06:23 PM, said:

[...]
The issue is the screen is overzoomed slightly - the black bar on the bottom of the screen is not visible because of the 'zoom', and the right side of the screen is cut off too - the right side wheel is cut in half by the right edge of the screen. I'm using the 67 mod. I've attached a photo showing the issue.
[...]
I've tried tweaking all the resolution in the GPLresolutions.exe program, and all resolutions I select in GPL do this to some extent.

In core.ini I have direct mirror rendering set to 0.

I'm stuck and can't think of any other options.

Thanks!
Jon

Did you check both Core.ini AND player.ini file in the player folder? They both have separate settings for resolution. It's probably not this but always worth checking.

#5 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,045 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 15 2019 - 04:37 AM

In the Radeon settings maybe the overscan slider...

Attached Files



#6 jonboy99

jonboy99

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL!
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 15 2019 - 01:21 PM

Ah, Bob gets the internet points! It was the desktop scaling option, which I had set to 125%. Didn't think of it as I assumed it only affected the desktop - it certainly doesn't affect most games. Probably a bug in windows 10. I'm going to see if I can set it per application, as now text on the desktop is tiny. It's an easy workaround to change for GPL though.

Wasn't the overscan slider - that option only seems to come up with my HDMI display, don't think it's an option for displayport etc.

Thanks all, I'm a happy bunny again!

PS I was doing a bit of troubleshooting last night with my old Nvidia card, and it affects that too - I think i remember it not being an issue originally as I hadn't changed the scaling from default when I was using it.

#7 jonboy99

jonboy99

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL!
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 15 2019 - 01:33 PM

Ok, discovered how to do it - right click on the gpl exe, properties -> compatibility -> change high DPI settings -> override high DPI scaling behavour so performed by application.

I guess I just don't know my windows 10 well enough!

Thanks again
Jon

#8 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,637 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 15 2019 - 01:44 PM

Jon, see this thread about running GPL on a Windows 10 PC.

http://srmz.net/inde...showtopic=12523

Although written for a laptop, the Windows 10 info is for any PC.  Your discovery is Item F in the tutorial.

Edited by Lee200, Sep 15 2019 - 01:45 PM.


#9 jonboy99

jonboy99

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL!
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 15 2019 - 06:17 PM

Thanks Lee, good tutorial. I need to read through the rest of it when I have a minute as I've realised although this particular problem is fixed, performance is abysmal with my q9650 and RX570 - 5FPS at race start vs 36FPS in Windows 7.

More tinkering awaits!

Jon

#10 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,045 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 16 2019 - 05:09 AM

Have you checked "disable intel speed step" in GEM+ settings "configure" ?

Edited by Cookie, Sep 16 2019 - 05:38 AM.


#11 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 615 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Life
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 16 2019 - 08:20 AM

And/or try the other V2 rasterizer.

#12 jonboy99

jonboy99

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL!
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 19 2019 - 06:38 PM

Aargh, I am dense. I was trying to configure an old version of GPL from about 2006 - I'd installed the most recent version with all the latest rasterizers, then somehow created a shortcut to an ancient installation, and was wondering what was so great about all the newer developments. I now know the V2 rasterizer actually has V2 in the name!
Anyway, lots of new things to explore, and everything appears to be working well - thanks again all!
Jon

#13 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 969 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Sep 20 2019 - 04:51 AM

The best idea is to use a shortcut to GEM as your primary access to GPL. Especially if you run the different mods.

#14 MLGathome

MLGathome

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:simracing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 20 2019 - 05:15 AM

Good idea, name it Grand Prix Legends and use this icon on post 2: http://srmz.net/inde...70

Greetings, Marcel




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links