Jump to content


- - - - -

Low Framerate After A Power Failure Shutdown

Low framerate power failure shutdown

  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#41 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 26 2018 - 07:44 AM

I have a Hashwell too (I5 4670K) but without disabling intel speed step I get all sorts of random artifacts and my game froze more often.

I didn't notice any problems with rising temperatures, but my cpu is watercooled.

Edited by Millennium, Jan 26 2018 - 07:48 AM.


#42 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 860 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 26 2018 - 08:33 AM

Millenium you must have some wrong settings...

I just tested it with 60fps not a single framedrop on full Spa67 69x with 19AI lap!! without intel speedstep!

my hw:

Posted Image


https://picload.org/...edstep.jpg.html

https://picload.org/...ai/gem.jpg.html

https://picload.org/...w/plot.jpg.html

Edited by Cookie, Jan 26 2018 - 08:50 AM.


#43 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,932 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jan 26 2018 - 08:39 AM

Great that you got it working again.

View PostPedro L Ramalho, on Jan 25 2018 - 03:00 PM, said:

About the original Grand Prix Legends CD, I have it since 2000 or 2001, but today I don't see any benefit in having it. It doesn't work with current operating systems and when I recently tried to reinstall the game I found that the 2013 demo works fine for me and the GPLPS installer system, with the original CD, don't.

I would use the original GPL CD and install the full versin,
as GPL runs fine on the latest Windows 10 64-bit version. ;)
See this guide here how to install GPL easily with the latest patches and where to find them.
GPL Easy Installation Guide (English):
http://www.gplworld....tion-guide.html


By using the GPLPS GPL Installer Beta 1.08 (Cockie has mentioned) it was was never before so easy to install GPL. :)

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jan 26 2018 - 08:40 AM.


#44 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 860 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 26 2018 - 08:54 AM

The only problem is that the old intel GPU does not support OpenGL, so you have to choose DirectX7V2 in the 1.08 installer ;)

#45 Warren Hall Jr.

Warren Hall Jr.

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Cod, USA, in a shack down by the river
  • Interests:Lots of stuff
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 26 2018 - 06:57 PM

One thing I have not seen mentioned is redoing all the mechanical  connections in the offending PC. I mean everything, every pug and slot.
Mechanical connections, even tight ones, may be faulty. Memory slots are a particular problem. Lots of mechanical connections there. There's a real old trick involving American currency. They call it paper money. It's not paper. It's cloth. A real fresh dollar bill is slightly abrasive and slightly absorbent. It's perfect for cleaning electrical connections.Just fold it to fit in the memory slot and wipe it back an forth, gently. Do the same to the memory stick contacts. Don't be surprised when you see a bit of dark spots on the bill.
One of the things that's done to keep mechanical connections in contact is called sealing current. It's voltage left on the circuit to keep it connected.
When the power fails that all goes away.
So besides getting rid of the dust blanket every so often remember to redo all the mechanical connections too.
Warrenj

Edited by Warren Hall Jr., Jan 26 2018 - 06:59 PM.


#46 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2018 - 03:29 AM

Thank you Warren Hall Jr. No doubt, thats very important, and could have been the cause of this problem, but as I said in the previous reply, the problem was not having checked in GEM+ the setting "Disable intel speed step".

Edited by Pedro L Ramalho, Jan 27 2018 - 03:45 AM.


#47 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2018 - 03:42 AM

Stefan Roess, when I first tried to reinstall GPL a month ago, I have tried that GPLPS GPL Installer Beta 1.08 method, as I do have the original CD bought 20 years ago. But the result for me was an unstable GPL installation. Maybe I done something wrong, I don't know. Then I tried the french 2013 demo that Cookie refers and it worked perfect in my computer, so I'm keeping it. By the way, Axel, you said that is possible to turn it from french to english. How can I precisely do that?

Thak you all again for your assistance!
Pedro

Edited by Pedro L Ramalho, Jan 27 2018 - 03:45 AM.


#48 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 860 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2018 - 03:49 AM

Pedro just copy the gpl.exe from your CD to the installed GPL folder.
Just rename the french exe before. Delete the gplc67.exe and let GEM+ build a new one.

#49 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2018 - 04:11 AM

Thank you Axel; maybe I done something wrong:

1) I renamed the gpl.exe file in the installed GPL folder;
2) Then I paste to that folder the gpl.exe file from the original CD;
3) Deleted the gplc67.exe file in the installed GPL folder;
4) Started GEM+, but it won't start, giving a error message.

Then I returned to the original situation and GEM is working fine again, but, of course, with GPL in french...

#50 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 860 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2018 - 04:26 AM

Do you have unchecked the "read only" flag of the CD gpl.exe?

PS

Best would be to use the gpl.exe of the previous full CD install...
As pribluda is lost.

Edited by Cookie, Jan 27 2018 - 04:34 AM.


#51 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2018 - 04:40 AM

No, I haven't Axel. But now I was trying to do that, in the "properties" of the gpl.exe CD file, and it does not permit. However, after pasting it to the installed GPL folder, the "read only" gets unchecked... Nevermind, I can read a little bit of french too.

#52 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,831 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2018 - 08:27 AM

That's because the original CD has a non patched gpl.exe while the one we use is patched 1.2 whatever by the installer. :)

#53 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2018 - 08:46 AM

Thank you Ginetto, for that explanation. I can "live" with the menus in french, no problem.

#54 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,831 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2018 - 11:28 AM

Pedro, you got PM.
Check out your envelop on top right of the page. :)

#55 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2018 - 03:56 PM

Thank you, Ginetto! I'm going to check it! :)




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links