Jump to content


Should I Ditch Win7 If I Want To Race Online?


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 04:08 AM

My aged pc runs Windows 7. I only race the AI but I want to join a league and start racing online. As this OS is no longer supported, should I upgrade to Win 10 (if I can do it for free) or even consider Linux, if I want to be secure online?

My hardware is at least fifteen years old now.

Thanks.

#2 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 04:37 AM

When you go online I recommend to use an up to date Operating System.
It is still possible for free to update from Windows 7 (and Windows 8) to Windows 10 by using the Windows 10 Update Assistant.
The Installer will test your hardware before installation, if it is compatible with Windows 10.
I have seen tests on the web of an IT magazine that installed Windows 10 on a very old Laptop that had Windows XP running. They removed the OS and installed a fresh W10 and it worked fine, it was even a bit faster than the old XP.

I have upgraded my race PC (from around 2009), also from Windows 7 to Windows 10 some years ago. About one year ago I have added a 2 TB SSD hard drive which was a big improvement. With the SSD the loading times of Windows 10, of apps/programs, of games, everything is now much faster. The SSD really made a big difference in loading times.
My old hard drives are still in my PC as backup. :)


Regarding Linux it depends who you ask. ;)
From what Axel (Cookie) has posted about Linux, GPL seems to run really well on it, even on a low end system.
But as you have a working Windows 7 to start from I would first try Windows 10.
If all goes wrong you can still switch to free Linux (Mint).

:wave:

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jul 16 2020 - 04:41 AM.


#3 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 05:01 AM

Careful that you might not be able to go back to win7 if you install win10; I'm not sure about this.
I advise to create an image backup with Macrium before to do anything so you can always go back to your actual state.

I have a dual boot with win7 and linux mint 20 xfce; it's very easy to do having win 7 installed.
By memory you just get the linux mint iso, put it on an usb stick, load the computer with the stick and mint 20 will load.
From there you click on the install mint icon on the desktop and follow the installer, where it tells you to choose between operating systems, choose install mint besides windows 7. Now, don't follow these instructions since they are not spot on but is really very simple. :)

#4 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 05:25 AM

Yes I confirm, go the way Ginetto describes!

I have here 11 running PC systems with all sorts of HW and OS  - and the winner is mint20!

I would invest in a small 128GB SSD and install mint20 XFCE if you have any  NVIDIA GPU

From this install you can use all your data of your W7 HDD within mint,
a complete Office Suite is included and firefox and thunderbird are on board.

with NVidia graphics card GPL runs even better in linux as the OS is much lighter.
+ My G27 has way less deadzone in FFB!
(Thrustmaster wheel is also a no no as it does not support a linux driver and the Make is not willing to help make a driver! Steam forum!)

With an AMD GPU it is a special problem not to have a GUI where you can make a profile for a gpl.xx.exe, the driver is good enough for RF2 and AC as they have the settings for GPU in game.

Give me your specs by a snapshot of HWINFO64 and I would try an advice what to do...

Get a 4-8GB USB stick dl a mint20 XFCE iso and test it as live system ;)

PS

If you use this PC exclusive for GPL and can't switch to Mint20 (HW) I would stay with W7 and invest in a good AV and malware protection + firewall.
No Virus or malware ever was imported by iGOR or VROC ;)

Edited by Cookie, Jul 16 2020 - 06:08 AM.


#5 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 06:33 AM

My laptop with W7 + mint19.3

W7
Posted Image
mint
Posted Image
Posted Image

#6 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 07:12 AM

Of course make a backup before you do anything (no matter if you go for Windows 10, or Linux, or dual boot or whatever) in case you need to go back. :)

If you go for Linux make sure all hardware (like wheel), software (games, programs) you want to use are supported by Linux (Mint), like written by Cookie.

Is your current Win 7 PC connected to the internet when you turn it on?
Are you behind a router firewall?
Do you have any AntiVirus installed (maybe also a suite including Firewall)?
Is your Windows firewall active?

Well, as soon as you are connected to the internet with your PC it is better to be online with an up to date operating system (OS) where security wholes have been fixed and still get fixed by updates instead of being online with an outdated OS that is not supported with updates anymore. I don`t want to blackpaint, but as soon as a device (can also be a router) goes online it only takes an average of 15 minutes until the device gets pinged from somewhere of the world wide web. And today more money can be made by cyber crime than by drugs.  ;)
I wouldn`t want to be online with an outdated OS anymore today, even if I do not surf the internet and only use my PC to race GPL via iGOR.
And that said, today any operating system can be hacked, the days when it was not possible to hack iOS, Linux, .... are long gone.


Personally I would try to update from W7 to W10 (after you have backed up everything on an external HD) as it is the quickest way to get your system up to date. If that fails you can still try Linux.

Just my two cents. :)
Pls keep us updated how things are going.


Edit: I almost forgot. At my former job I had updated a number of old Windows XP systems in the business network to Windows 10 and they ran very well afterwards. They were not slower. But those PCs were just used for office work and surfing, watchings vidoes, and entering data in a SQL database. In other words not used for gaming. ;) But even so, they ran very well on Windows 10 considering their age and that they were built when XP was new.

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jul 16 2020 - 07:22 AM.


#7 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 08:52 AM

My experience
to get a smooth running + save mint20 from the scratch, costs me 35 minutes to drive a lap at Monza ( 1-2 hours for an unexperienced single ;) )

2 days hard work to get W10 to do what I want and not playing ET all the time and updating your good drivers with old beta driver + all software has to be installed giving all rights to mr gates, +25 useless gimmicks like "groove music" + mobile phone stuff, hard to get rid off
- and when you look in settings deep down - it's the W7 kernel!

Here a snapshot of my rank W10

Posted Image

Updating costs lot of time and needs 3x restart...
Version 1909 update to a Ver 2004 W10 :yikesss:

Posted Image

Edited by Cookie, Jul 16 2020 - 09:18 AM.


#8 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 09:22 AM

Thanks everyone.

Here are the specs of my machine. I'#ve used HWINFO64 (Thanks for the headsup on that one.)

Computer:      GIGABYTE M56S-S3
CPU:              AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (Windsor, JH-F3)
                      3000 MHz (15.00x200.0) @ 3013 MHz (15.00x200.9)
Motherboard:   GIGABYTE GA-M56S-S3
BIOS:            F6h, 08/20/2010
Chipset:         nVidia nForce 560 (MCP65GT)
Memory:        4096 MBytes @ 334 MHz, 5-5-5-15
               - 1024 MB PC5300 DDR2-SDRAM - Micron Tech. 16HTF12864AY-667F1
               - 2048 MB PC5300 DDR2-SDRAM - Power Quotient International
               - 1024 MB PC5300 DDR2-SDRAM - Micron Tech. 8HTF12864AY-667G1
Graphics:      EVGA e-GeForce 8800 GTX
               NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX, 768 MB GDDR3 SDRAM
Drive:         ST3500418AS, 488.4 GB, Serial ATA 3Gb/s
Drive:         ST1000LM025 HN-M101ABB, 976.8 GB, Serial ATA 3Gb/s @ 3Gb/s <-> USB
Drive:         SONY DVD RW AW-G170A, DVD+R DL
Sound:         NVIDIA MCP65 - High Definition Audio
Network:       NVIDIA MCP65 - Ethernet Controller
Network:       Realtek 8811CU Wireless LAN 802.11ac USB NIC
OS:            Microsoft Windows 7 Professional (x64) Build 7601


Personally, I'm a huge fan of Linux Mint and I use that on my laptop as my everyday machine. My GPL machine is solely for GPL - nothing else. I'm tempted to go for the Linux Mint route but I just need to know that I'll have drivers for my hardware.

Wheel and shifter - Logitech G27
Pedals - Fanatec Clubsport V1 (2011)

I know from experience that I can get everything else to work.

Perhaps the sensible thing to do would be to dual-boot my GPL machine into Linux Mint and Win 7. I could then set-up and try GPL on Linux as per everyone's help here on the forums and see if I can get everything to work. Hopefully I will see a performance boost and not have to buy any more hardware. In the long-term, if Linux is a winner, I may splash out on an SSD and run GPL from that on Linux.

#9 Millennium

Millennium

    ErikGPL

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 09:45 AM

I've held on to Windows 7 untill the last update, but in hindsight the transition (read: clean install) to Windows 10 has been very pleasant.
It takes a bit of personalisation to get rid of some annoying default settings but overall I'm really happy with it and would not go back if Windows 7 would be supported again.

But like other said, don't go online with an OS that no longer receives security updates. Even when it's just for GPL.

Edited by Millennium, Jul 16 2020 - 09:46 AM.


#10 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 09:48 AM

I have G27 wheel + Clubsport V1 pedals too - works fine with mint!

But your CPU + GPU are very old and imo not able to do Spa67 or AAIOM or other newer and heavier tracks - they just cant handle the amount of data needed.

GPU look here: https://www.techpowe...e-8800-gtx.c187 max res 1366x768...
CPU lacks level 3 cache - so awkward slow loading and not able to deliver lots of little graphic packs to the GPU wich has slow DDR3 VRAM....

IMO W10 would kill it! Mint20 would run, but no joy with GPL...

Sorry, keep the system if you can use W7 with original tracks

Or buy a used 5 year old Haswell i3 business PC for 30€, like I do, and put in a used GTX 660 upwards for ~30€ :up:

Edited by Cookie, Jul 16 2020 - 09:53 AM.


#11 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 09:58 AM

If you have some space left on your HDD the dual boot option is no risk - works here with manjaro and W10

LOL
W10 update just installed unwanted the new edge browser! popping up a fullscreen window at the start :tongue2:

#12 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 11:08 AM

Why would win10 work better online for GPL than win7 ?




Paul

#13 fajanko

fajanko

    Jani Posta

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Interests:graphic design
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 11:34 AM

View PostCookie, on Jul 16 2020 - 09:58 AM, said:

LOL
W10 update just installed unwanted the new edge browser! popping up a fullscreen window at the start :tongue2:


BTW I'm very pleased with this new version of Edge. I used Vivaldi for years, then I was looking for something else, tried the latest Firefox too, but decided to stick to Edge for a few days, and it was weeks ago. It's okay.

Edited by fajanko, Jul 16 2020 - 11:34 AM.


#14 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 11:43 AM

Jani no doubt, if you want it ;)

But they install it without asking or even mention it, and it's not removeable, I had removed the old one!

#15 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 12:17 PM

I'm halfway through Linux installation. I've installed Wine and copied Sierra folder over but can't run Gem setup exe with Wine. Help! I can't choose application to open it with, just archive manager

#16 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,074 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 01:38 PM

View Postpaul skingley, on Jul 16 2020 - 11:08 AM, said:

Why would win10 work better online for GPL than win7 ?




Paul


It's a matter of the bad guys getting access to your machine and using it for their nefarious purposes, not one of performance. If you can lock down everything except GPL Win7 would still be a workable solution, but I'd think twice about it if you want to use the machine for anything besides GPL then.

Edited by Michkov, Jul 16 2020 - 01:45 PM.


#17 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 01:54 PM

Update: I cracked that bit using "wine control" in terminal. Gem now installed and will fire-up GPL. Awesome!

All good now but no H shifter (G27). :(

I also need to tweak gfx settings as they look a little clunky at the moment.  How do I configure Nvidia gfx card?

I'm pleased with my progress so far though.


Edited by Tobodestroyer2020, Jul 16 2020 - 02:27 PM.


#18 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 04:42 PM

oups a little late here, was online racing and relaxing...

Good progress, you shoudn't use the nvidia nouveau driver but the proprietary NV driver

Posted Image

For the shifting we have Marco Mirande as a specialist, as I only use the paddles for shifting, but my shifter is in use for the setting of the rotation 450°
Afair he uses fairshift to shift ;)

#19 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 04:55 PM

As you use this PC exclusive for GPL go into bios and switch off all energie saving for CPU, like Cool&Quiet +  ~C1E states
so it runs max MHz what is needed for GPL,
same things with GPU set to maximum performance - AF to 16  and AA maybe 4x as those values must be balanced with fps.

#20 prize

prize

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 61 posts
  • Interests:GPL add-on tracks and mods
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 17 2020 - 11:27 AM

If using linux, make sure that you have the proprietary graphics drivers installed.

Edited by prize, Jul 17 2020 - 11:49 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links