• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 fajanko

fajanko

Jani Posta

• GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 872 posts
  • Interests:"I am a semi-professional race car driver AND an amateur tattoo artist."
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 16 2012 - 03:37 AM

Is it possible to be a citizen of European Union but not any of its country?

#2 becky

becky

Denny Hulme

• Members
  • 71 posts

Posted Jan 16 2012 - 05:07 AM

I´m not really an expert in those things, but I just had a short look on wikipedia and it seems that it is not possible, since it is not an own citizenship, but only one which you can have parallel to your national citizenship.
But it is possible to have the British or Danish citizenship (both members of the EU) without beeing a citizen of the EU, as long as you are living on the Faroe Islands or Greenland (in the case of Denmark), or on the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands (in the case uf the UK), since that are no terrytories of the EU.
But as I already said, I´m no expert. :rolleyes:

#3 fajanko

fajanko

Jani Posta

• GPLLinks Team
  • 872 posts
  • Interests:"I am a semi-professional race car driver AND an amateur tattoo artist."

Posted Jan 17 2012 - 03:35 AM

Thanks for the answer, becky!

#4 becky

becky

Denny Hulme

• Members
  • 71 posts

Posted Jan 17 2012 - 06:58 AM

View Postfajanko, on Jan 17 2012 - 03:35 AM, said:

Thanks for the answer, becky!

Wellcome! Reading your question I was interested myself. :wave:

#5 fajanko

fajanko

Jani Posta

• GPLLinks Team
  • 872 posts

Posted Jan 17 2012 - 08:01 AM

Meanwhile I've read about how could I resign from Hungarian citizenship. What I found is that I must be already a citizen of another country and my resignation must be accepted by the president of Hungarian Republic ('Hungary' only at the moment). As I understand there's an international (United Nations) contract what says that a country can't let any of its citizen to be stateless.