31 replies to this topic

#1 EzaBlade

EzaBlade

Dan Gurney

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted Jan 31 2018 - 06:51 AM

I have an old PC - more than 10 yrs old, though it is running Windows 7. It only has on-board graphics and I want to add a graphics card to improve the graphics capabilities for running GPL. I am no expert in this area and just wondered if there is any advice that could be offered on things to look out for or to avoid. I'm about to start trawling the second-hand market.

Edited by EzaBlade, Jan 31 2018 - 06:52 AM.

#2 John Woods

John Woods

Be Somebody

• Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,470 posts
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 31 2018 - 09:03 AM

4GB memory, (at least 2 anyway but 4 is way better).

Thru-put speed is really important, (how fast it talks to CPU).
Get the fastest you can find.

#3 JMF

JMF

Denny Hulme

• Supporter
  • 301 posts
  • Interests:GPL, gardening, woodworking, classic rock, modern blues, jazz-rock fusion, and sex.

Posted Jan 31 2018 - 09:05 AM

Cryptomining is driving gpu prices sky high.  I have a GTX 1050ti that runs GPL extremely well except for the chat stutters online. It's sad to see bottom tier gaming cards like it, have risen in price about 50% since I bought it last March.

GTX 750 ti might be good for GPL, especially if you don't race online. I haven't checked to see if I could find gpu drivers for it that don't have the online chat stutters.

The Radeon HD7950/R9 280 are about the oldest Radeons I'd want to use with GPL. They use a lot of electricity compared to a 1050 TI and don't appear to perform as well as the 1050 TI. Any of the newer Radeons are extremely expensive and I suspect that's because of mining.