Jump to content


- - - - -

Brakes Locked On The Race Start Grid – Online Races Only

Brakes locked

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 22 2017 - 12:04 PM

Well, I learned something new today.

I was testing for another problem when I discovered that when you do the final exit from your car in a practice session just before the race with your brake pedal depressed – hard or even slightly – when you go to the grid to start the race, your brakes will be locked on.

If you try really hard with several full throttle starts, you might get the brakes unlocked and back to normal, but even if you do a reset on the grid (not recommended) the locked brakes will not go away.

#2 db312

db312

    Always in the lead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:switzerland
  • Interests:Leaving GPL better than I found it
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 22 2017 - 01:10 PM

It's totally amazing that someone like you continue to discover some "secrets" about GPL so many years after it's released...

Thank you for all Bob...

#3 Gaizka López C.

Gaizka López C.

    Mike Spence

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Barcelona 1967
  • Interests:My Lancia Fulvia
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 16 2018 - 06:02 AM

Hi Bob,

Thank you for letting us know about this issue. Would it be possible to add it to your amazing GPL FAQ and troubleshooting guide, please?
Thank you in advance :notworthy:

I believe this is what happened to a colleague the other day in one of our league races with mod 55.
In combination with the brake fade patch, this was a killer for him in T1 :stretcher:
He did not believe that the light indicator for the brakes, red from the start, would be for real.

Cheers,
Gaizka

P.S. I will report it anyways to the 55 mod team, just in case.

#4 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 382 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 16 2018 - 11:23 AM

Bob.. would you mind posting this in the oAo forum please? someone had this issue often last season, but i don't recall who.

#5 Iestyn16

Iestyn16

    Tom Pryce

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Interests:Sports, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 16 2018 - 01:38 PM

Lorenzo (mellilore).. and I believe it happened to me once as well. Interestingly all three of us (and Bob) were using the G25?

#6 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 16 2018 - 03:53 PM

View PostBo Bruce, on Feb 16 2018 - 11:23 AM, said:

Bob.. would you mind posting this in the oAo forum please? someone had this issue often last season, but i don't recall who.

Yes, I think that was Lorenzo (mellilore). I already posted this and that seemed to help his problem.

Yes, I'm using a G25.

I think this can also happen also if you have a noisy brake pot.  If GPL thinks you had the brake on when you last left the track, they'll be locked when you go to the grid. Funny that it ONLY happens in online racing.

Edited by Bob Simpson, Feb 16 2018 - 04:07 PM.


#7 Manfred Cubenoggin

Manfred Cubenoggin

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Keswick, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Astronomy, chess, classical music(piano concetos), computers, firearms, modern military history, motor racing, racing sims.
  • Sim interest:I have no preference

Posted Feb 17 2018 - 05:40 AM

Interesting to say the least.  I recall Lorenzo's startline problems as being persistent, too.

My regime for every race start is that the last thing I do prior to hitting the green button to join the grid is to apply about half stroke on the brake pedal.  This is to prevent any creep forward or back should their be an incline and that can be found at many venues.  Never had a problem.

#8 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 17 2018 - 11:45 AM

This problem arises when you are on the track in your last moments of practice, even if it's minutes before the practice session ends.  If you stop the car and leave some pressure on the brake pedal when you escape+enter, this will happen, with the brakes locked when you go to the grid.

#9 Iestyn16

Iestyn16

    Tom Pryce

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Interests:Sports, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 18 2018 - 08:58 AM

In that sense, it must be similar to the 55 mod brake issue, where you get hot brakes at the start of the race (new session). I forget how it comes about - is it the same situation, from holding the brake on and escaping into the pits?

#10 Gaizka López C.

Gaizka López C.

    Mike Spence

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Barcelona 1967
  • Interests:My Lancia Fulvia
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 18 2018 - 03:22 PM

View PostGaizka López C., on Feb 16 2018 - 06:02 AM, said:

P.S. I will report it anyways to the 55 mod team, just in case.

Hi Iestyn,

I already wrote to Lee in the Bug Report And Fixes topic for mod 55 :helpme:
Let's see if he can shed some light on this one :crossfingers:

Cheers,
Gaizka




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links