Jump to content


- - - - -

Windows 10 1803 (May 2018 Creator's Update)


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#31 smasha

smasha

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 21 2018 - 10:07 PM

Massive controller issues with this sim.

No FFB working and axis disappearing.

Has to be Windows 10-.

#32 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:everything that has a Ferrari V12 inside
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 22 2018 - 01:46 PM

Found an easy way to prevent Win10 1803 from installing without removing the update capabilites of Win10 itself. You know, for security patches and such. This works only on Pro versions of Win10 though.

Go to Settings > Updates & Security > Advanced Settings
Then click and select "Current Branch for Business", which means that you'll get big updates like 1803 only when they are stable and judged ready for enterprises;
Then select 365 days to defer feature updates, which means that even when updates like 1803 are ready to go for business networks, you'll still have 1 year of delay in getting them;

The third option can be ignored, it simply delays security updates up to 30 days. But you generally want them, so.

Posted Image

Edited by leon_90, May 22 2018 - 01:47 PM.


#33 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 30 2018 - 02:20 PM

Yesterday my laptop actualized with the 1803 and gpl stoped working. I don't race with the laptop but I use it for build the Jarama and use the replay option continually. I searched this thread and solved the problem. Thanks!

#34 roberto teso

roberto teso

    Subtitled

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:somewhere
  • Interests:Shoestrings theory
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 01 2018 - 06:24 AM

A little update about 1803 progress.

Installed Windows 10 cumulative update, KB4100403 May 23, no trouble so far, Windows build now is 17134.81

Installed latest Nvidia 397.93 WHQL, May 24, no trouble at all.

That partially solved some HDR issue:
difficulty or crashes when a decent video player switch to HDR and back to SDR (MPC-HC and branches, PotPlayer and VLC)
washed SDR contents if HDR is set on giving the possiblity to modify brightness for SDR contents (Start > Settings > Display > HDR and WCG settings then change settings for SDR contents).

Then I modify Focus assistant, as read here, to disable.

During the first boot after 1803 installation I was asked to enable it and I choose to not enable but, after updating to May 8 and then to May 23, I, not surprisingly, found it enabled, without having a question or a notification.

After I set it off (Start > Settings > System > Focus assist) GPL run perfectly in full screen even with D3Dv2 rasterizer.

Only problem so far, and I suppose unsolvable, is to set resolution to 3820x2160 if I do, via core.ini, there's no 3820x2160 in OGLv2 and it run in 1920x1080, in D3Dv2 i can choose 3820x2160 but when I click green button GPL CTD, IIRC DirectX 7, that GPL use, is limited to max 2048x1536 resolution.

Edit a mistyped settings.

Edited by roberto teso, Jun 01 2018 - 06:25 AM.


#35 Paul Harwood

Paul Harwood

    Jackie Stewart

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Interests:music sports car racing astronomy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 11 2018 - 03:00 PM

Hi all,

Thanks for the info on this update issue. I did get affected by the Win 10 Spring 2018 update and the info above worked in fixing GPL using D3Dv2.

Cheers.

PH

#36 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 809 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 12 2018 - 07:21 AM

For me the update came only a few days ago.

I am expressing utter annoyance by the extended loading times.

Moreover am I experiencing the TV cams flipping upside down when my car passes by a little too close, for a couple of tenths of a second.
I don't think I had this before, but boy, does it annoy me.

#37 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,801 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 12 2018 - 01:57 PM

View PostGrandPrixYannick, on Jun 12 2018 - 07:21 AM, said:

.......
Moreover am I experiencing the TV cams flipping upside down when my car passes by a little too close, for a couple of tenths of a second.
I don't think I had this before, but boy, does it annoy me.

For me, this has been going on for a long time. I'm sure it has nothing to do with the latest Windows update, especially as I haven't allowed the latest update to install on my PC. I don't often view replays, so I've never bothered to mention it on the forums. But it looks as though, for most of the mods since the GT/Sports mod, that something has happened to the cameras. Sometimes they appear to be positioned too close to the track, so that (as Yannick says) the cars pass by too closely, and something weird happens to the camera image. As the car approaches, the zoom factor increases, and becomes extreme. It's almost as though the car passes "through" the camera, and then the camera starts to display a "reversed" image, mirrored and upside-down. As the car passes and starts to recede, the image reverses itself again, becoming an extremely zoomed normal image. As the car moves further away, the image becomes more normal as the zoom reduces.

Edited by Saiph, Jun 12 2018 - 02:00 PM.


#38 pioujd428

pioujd428

    Chris

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth Australia
  • Interests:1967 and 1968
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 18 2018 - 10:05 PM

I had this problem with the TV cams flipping a while ago. If I remember correctly it was gpl shift causing it for some weird reason because I had to turn it off and the cameras started working normally for me again. Maybe it was just a coincidence though.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links