Jump to content


- - - - -

Player.ini Issue In The 67's


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 westracing01

westracing01

    Jack Brabham

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:45mins from Limerock
  • Interests:Racing, off-roading, history
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 18 2014 - 07:33 AM

Hope someone might know what's up with this... I've been primarily hot lapping at the 11 original Papy tracks in my attempt to get a negative ranking. Never had one before and I'm under the benchmarks at all but two tracks, however that is not the issue. I updated the Monza10K track and good lord is it awesome. I wanted to upload my time to GPLrank to see where I stack up but the time is not saved in the playerini file.

Only times for the original 11 seemed to be stored there, however I see that times for all the tracks I've driven in the 69X are stored in the 69X playerini. I know back in the day I used to be able to upload my times from tracks that didn't come with GPL but I'll be damed if I remember how. I'm running GPL with the GPLPS All-in-one patch and I read quicky somewhere that with this Replay Analyzer and GPLSeason are not needed (the only two other files that Rank accepts.)

Is there someplace in GEM+ that records your lap times? It is recorded in the individual track records file but if that record is broken by someone other than me then the record of my lap would be lost.

Any help appreciated as always.

#2 Robert Fleurke

Robert Fleurke

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Life
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 18 2014 - 09:18 AM

Normally your laptimes should be in the player.ini, also add on tracks. However, I have had lost laptimes when:

- GPL crashes
- or when I did abort a practise/race session without saving replay

Not sure if it was the case with you. You could try to use GPLRA trying to look for better times than player.ini, it will check your replays, if you saved it. But beware, it has not support for all mods so times could get mixed. I had that recently and had to self service (deleting times) a lot at GPLRank in order to get the right laptimes back. In your case 69X could show as 67 times, as 69X has no GPLRA support AFAIK...

Edited by Robert Fleurke, Aug 18 2014 - 09:19 AM.


#3 westracing01

westracing01

    Jack Brabham

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:45mins from Limerock
  • Interests:Racing, off-roading, history
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 18 2014 - 09:50 AM

Rarely do I save a replay. I always thought that all times were saved in the Playerini even for the add on tracks but while perusing some search results I found that this may not be the case.

I see some of these laptime utilities running around. Does anyone know of one that automatically records your laptimes while racing? Is that a function hidden somewhere in GEM+ or another utility?

EDIT: Actually, a mod or admin can probably delete this thread. After a bunch of google searching, I found my answer.The .ini, at least for the 67's, will only ever contain the times for the original 11. Everything else will have to come out of GPLRA.

Edited by westracing01, Aug 18 2014 - 11:17 AM.


#4 Pavel

Pavel

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 772 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Racing, Simracing, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 18 2014 - 11:46 PM

View Postwestracing01, on Aug 18 2014 - 09:50 AM, said:

EDIT: Actually, a mod or admin can probably delete this thread. After a bunch of google searching, I found my answer.The .ini, at least for the 67's, will only ever contain the times for the original 11. Everything else will have to come out of GPLRA.
Answer: NO.

Original GPL.exe manages only original 11 tracks. Best Laps menu shows only 11 track fields and only time for this 11 tracks are saved in player.ini.
All mods with latest patches have feature that allow to have extended list of tracks. You can have up to 1024(?) tracks shown in Best Laps menu and best times are saved in correspond mods player.ini files (plac65.ini, plac66.ini, plac69.ini, plax69.ini, placGT.ini ....).

For original 67 cars you need patch 1.3 to have same feature. But be careful! If you start patched 67 exe (gplc67) lap times for all tracks will be stored in player.ini. But after that if you start original unpatched gpl.exe it will delete all track records from player.ini except for original 11 tracks. Be aware of that. I always have backup copy of my player.ini. This can happened only with 67 GP.

Edited by Pavel, Aug 18 2014 - 11:49 PM.


#5 pioujd428

pioujd428

    Chris

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth Australia
  • Interests:1967 and 1968
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 19 2014 - 01:45 AM

Thanks for that Pavel. :)

I have noticed GPL deleted my lap times a couple of times and I wasn't sure why. Now I know not to start the original exe again.

#6 westracing01

westracing01

    Jack Brabham

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:45mins from Limerock
  • Interests:Racing, off-roading, history
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 19 2014 - 08:02 AM

Wait a second then. I used the GPLPS all in one installer when I put GPL back on my rig (gplc67) which would seem to me to be the 1.3 patch. However, the playerini does not contain times for any track other than the original 11. Is there somewhere I have to turn this option on? I always start GPL through GEM+.

EDIT: Even though I only ever start GPL through GEM+, did I miss a step somewhere I wonder during the install? I can drive all the tracks I have, including the mosrain track that requires the 1.3 long track patch to work. Do I need to point GEM+ at the gplc67 exe? I would have thought it went to that by default once I did the all-in-one installer.

If I have to re-direct GEM+ it's no big deal as I'll just backup my playerini before doing and copy the times back over. Good info here. Thank you guys for your help so far!

Edited by westracing01, Aug 19 2014 - 08:13 AM.


#7 Pavel

Pavel

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 772 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Racing, Simracing, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 19 2014 - 11:14 AM

Are all tracks from 67season.ini shown in your Best Laps menu? Or only 11?

Also check this:
<your gpl folder>/Mods/Gem+/gpl67
Do you have twenty one *.xml files there?

Edited by Pavel, Aug 19 2014 - 11:17 AM.


#8 westracing01

westracing01

    Jack Brabham

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:45mins from Limerock
  • Interests:Racing, off-roading, history
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 19 2014 - 11:33 AM

I think only 11 but I will have to double check this when I get home.

#9 Pavel

Pavel

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 772 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Racing, Simracing, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 19 2014 - 11:41 AM

If only 11 then it seems you gplc67.exe was not patched correctly. It's better to delete gplc67.exe, download and install 1.3 patch, generate new gplc67.exe.

#10 westracing01

westracing01

    Jack Brabham

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:45mins from Limerock
  • Interests:Racing, off-roading, history
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 19 2014 - 11:56 AM

I just had my wife go and take a look. Only 11 tracks in the best laps page and there is no gpl67 folder in the mods folder, just a 69X folder.

So I just delete the gplx67.exe from the main directory, download and run the GPL 1.3 patch? That won't overwrite or else while screw up the GPL install?

Edited by westracing01, Aug 19 2014 - 11:57 AM.


#11 Pavel

Pavel

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 772 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Racing, Simracing, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 19 2014 - 11:59 AM

It won't damage your gpl install.

#12 westracing01

westracing01

    Jack Brabham

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:45mins from Limerock
  • Interests:Racing, off-roading, history
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 19 2014 - 12:14 PM

Ok then. I will re-install the 1.3 patch when I get home from work. Thank you Pavel! Will report back on if this cured the issue.

#13 westracing01

westracing01

    Jack Brabham

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:45mins from Limerock
  • Interests:Racing, off-roading, history
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 19 2014 - 05:52 PM

Pavel, thank you so much. Clearly the patch in the all-in-one installer didn't work right. All tracks now in the best lap screen along with being saved in the player.ini. Thank you so much!

#14 Pavel

Pavel

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 772 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Racing, Simracing, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 20 2014 - 12:06 AM

That's good! I never used GPLPS Installer. If other users have same problem with 67 then it better to report about missing patch in this pack.

#15 westracing01

westracing01

    Jack Brabham

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:45mins from Limerock
  • Interests:Racing, off-roading, history
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 20 2014 - 10:05 AM

Actually, I should clarify that at least mine didn't install correctly. I am under the impression that the GPLPS installer contains all of this stuff, however I am running Win 7 so anything's possible in the sensee that the patch might itself be OK, but I might have installed something wrong.

If though, as you say, others experience the same thing as I did, then something is amiss. Though I have no idea how many people still race the 67's.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links