Jump to content


- - - - -

How to make a track?


  • Please log in to reply
391 replies to this topic

#16 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 03:18 PM

Thanks so much for all your help Pirenzo and Ginetto

I used  Track.ini from Silver and changed to

mytrack
mytrack
2
.416m

track now appears in track selection window and on the selection screen in GPL but still " Could not load track"

Edited by Tidge, Dec 08 2007 - 03:19 PM.


#17 pirenzo

pirenzo

    TwoPedalsOneFoot

  • Staff Crew
  • 2,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Interests:GPL (of course), rock and progressive/experimental rock.
    Enjoy many motorsports as well as football and a passing interest in a dozen other sports as well.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 04:39 PM

Look at my checklist above and make sure you have everything.
Do you have the right mips??  If as above you've got 1 0 0 10 10 asphalt in your TEX file, then you will need an asphalt.mip in your track directory, or in your dat (which must be named mytrack.dat)

I advise against using the mips from Silver because the original GPL tracks all have their textures mapped differently, with the left side of the mip lining up with the left side of the track, whereas trk23do will line them up as top side to left, bottom side to right of track.  You could use mips from Silver.dat, but they would all appear rotated by 90 degrees.

In case you weren't quite sure about what mips do, think of them like wallpaper.  Your track is made up of hundreds of flat panels (polygons) to which an image (texture) in the form of a .mip file is assigned.  
In GPLTrk, you can create 'walls' of varying surfaces, and the .tex file you used to compile your track assigns a mip of your choice to those walls.  Just because you used an asphalt surface (type 1) in GPL doesn't mean you have to use a mip that looks like asphalt, it could look like sand if you wanted it to!  It will only feel like asphalt when you drive on it.


Doodat to look inside Dat files,  and WinMip to convert .mips to .bmp and vice versa.

Edited by pirenzo, Dec 08 2007 - 04:51 PM.


#18 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 05:24 PM

Everything seems to be in order to your checklist, I have all the MIPs that are in my tex file.  Exchanged the MIPs for some from Bremgarten.

Still " Could not load track"

Thanks for the patience, persistance, and the MIP explaination, I am just getting my feet wet.  I would also like to thank Ginetto for the link to Track Building with Lou, this is a must have to use with the tutorial.

#19 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 05:51 PM

View PostTidge, on Dec 8 2007, 06:24 PM, said:

Everything seems to be in order to your checklist, I have all the MIPs that are in my tex file.  Exchanged the MIPs for some from Bremgarten.

Still " Could not load track"

Thanks for the patience, persistance, and the MIP explaination, I am just getting my feet wet.  I would also like to thank Ginetto for the link to Track Building with Lou, this is a must have to use with the tutorial.


I am guessing the problem is with the track.ini, since I had to create my own, I have probably missed something.  I have attached it for you to look at.


Attached File  Track.ini   4.67K   28 downloads

#20 pirenzo

pirenzo

    TwoPedalsOneFoot

  • Staff Crew
  • 2,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Interests:GPL (of course), rock and progressive/experimental rock.
    Enjoy many motorsports as well as football and a passing interest in a dozen other sports as well.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 05:51 PM

Hmm, just checking I didn't miss anything off my list!!
I don't think I have, so it will just be a question of double checking everything.

It would be worth searching for a program called 'sciss' around here or on RSC.
Basically you drop your mytrack.3do onto the sciss.exe and it produces a file called mytrack.wob that can be read in notepad and it just gives you a tick list of all the files you need to run your track, and whether or not they are missing (STARTER and COLLISION will always be missing)

Your track.ini looks fine, though I would alter your pitlane 'stall_0' to something like 0.0 0.0 just to be sure that the car won't be placed off the drivable area (or else you car will just sort of explode and fly around until it lands back on the track somewhere minus all its wheels! :P)

It's got to be a missing mip, 3do or trk that is doing it.

Edited by pirenzo, Dec 08 2007 - 05:54 PM.


#21 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 05:57 PM

I have downloaded sciss.exe previously but it is inoperative. The program doesn't even start,  " Microsoft error" !!

#22 pirenzo

pirenzo

    TwoPedalsOneFoot

  • Staff Crew
  • 2,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Interests:GPL (of course), rock and progressive/experimental rock.
    Enjoy many motorsports as well as football and a passing interest in a dozen other sports as well.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 06:04 PM

The program doesn't 'start' per se.  
You need to just drag and drop mytrack.3do onto the icon and it should produce a command window for a split second and then a new file appears in explorer shortly.

If you don't get sciss to work, just keep checking everything.  trk, 3dos, ini, and whatever mips that are necessary at the very minimum.

#23 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 06:07 PM

I have :  grand.3do, horiz.3do, and mytrack.3do  that's it.

I think I have all the MIPs

and I do have a mytrack.trk

#24 dangermouse

dangermouse

    The mobile chicane

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SRMZ/GPLR London, UK
  • Interests:Errrrrr, GPL? :-)
    Music , computing, hi-fi, motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 06:09 PM

Oops - too late  :)


:wave:

Edited by dangermouse, Dec 08 2007 - 06:10 PM.


#25 pirenzo

pirenzo

    TwoPedalsOneFoot

  • Staff Crew
  • 2,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Interests:GPL (of course), rock and progressive/experimental rock.
    Enjoy many motorsports as well as football and a passing interest in a dozen other sports as well.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 07:07 PM

Try deleting the grandstand from your TSO temporarily, recompiling the track and trying again.

#26 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 07:41 PM

View Postpirenzo, on Dec 8 2007, 08:07 PM, said:

Try deleting the grandstand from your TSO temporarily, recompiling the track and trying again.


:clap2:  :clap2:  :clap2:  :clap2:

Success !!!  I got sciss.exe to work and found I was missing several MIPs.  I searched for them and put them in the track folder and Voila,  a boring oval, but the most beautiful oval I have ever driven !!

I can't thank you guys enough for helping me through this, I know it was time consuming but I really appreciate it.  I have made a backup of mytrack and now it's time to start playing !!  Can't wait !

Thanks again for all your help !!

#27 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 09 2007 - 05:50 AM

View PostTidge, on Dec 8 2007, 08:41 PM, said:

View Postpirenzo, on Dec 8 2007, 08:07 PM, said:

Try deleting the grandstand from your TSO temporarily, recompiling the track and trying again.


:clap2:  :clap2:  :clap2:  :clap2:

Success !!!  I got sciss.exe to work and found I was missing several MIPs.  I searched for them and put them in the track folder and Voila,  a boring oval, but the most beautiful oval I have ever driven !!

I can't thank you guys enough for helping me through this, I know it was time consuming but I really appreciate it.  I have made a backup of mytrack and now it's time to start playing !!  Can't wait !

Thanks again for all your help !!


For anyone who is following this thread, and having a similar problem with the tutorial, feel free to PM me and I will send you my "mytrack" folder (9.76 meg) so you will have a working track to learn track building from.

Thanks again to this whole community and special thanks to Pirenzo and Ginetto.

#28 pirenzo

pirenzo

    TwoPedalsOneFoot

  • Staff Crew
  • 2,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Interests:GPL (of course), rock and progressive/experimental rock.
    Enjoy many motorsports as well as football and a passing interest in a dozen other sports as well.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 09 2007 - 05:51 AM

Well done Tidge! :)  Glad to be of help.

#29 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,584 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 09 2007 - 06:59 PM

Great Tidge :up:

#30 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Mar 22 2008 - 07:59 AM

View PostGinetto, on Dec 9 2007, 07:59 PM, said:

Great Tidge :up:


Hey guys, I'm back  :rolleyes:   I have been through all 3 parts of the "Track Making with Lou"  tutorial, which BTW was very good.  I have selected a track and found a great interactive view from Google Earth from which to obtain the altitude info.  I have a completed .GTK with all gaps zeroed and constructed a 60s style pitlane, (no concrete wall), like Kyalami.  This is where Lou runs out of material, I have even emailed Lou and he seemed interested in helping, but I thought I would ask you guys as well, as I haven't heard from him in over a week. There are no more parts in the back issues and didn't really get an answer as to whether there are more parts or not. I think the next step should be to edit the altitudes.  This is somewhat implied by the GPLEA Tutorial but that seems a bit outdated.

It talks of using the spreadsheet for altitude editing but there don't seem to be any links to GTK2xls or xls2GTK.

I have tried using GTKalt on the "mytrack" created earlier, and when I try to save as a .gta I get this error:

:Access violation at address 0040A168 in module 'gtkalt.exe', Read of address 00000010.

If I try to "Export" to GTK and then compile, the changes don't take effect.

Is GTKalt the altitude editor of choice ?

Edited by Tidge, Mar 22 2008 - 08:01 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links