Jump to content


* * * * * 1 votes

Force feedback update for GPL


  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#46 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,320 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 02 2017 - 10:11 AM

1 - I always recommend that, unless you need to re-map buttons, the Logitech profiler NOT be running.

2 - I use:
Enable FF (checked)
OA effects strength 105%
Spring and Damper at 0%
Centring spring unchecked
Allow game to adjust unchecked

With my G25, I use rotation of 540° and in-game my steering ratio is 1 to 9 or 10

I don't know what the settings in iGOR are used for, but I don't use them

In core.ini, I set the max_steering_torque = 310 and arrived at that by turning the steering wheel at a stop on a straight and using a setting that will cause the front wheels to go straight on their own (hands off the wheel) when I move forward.  More force (a smaller number) can be used to suit your tastes.

Edited by Bob Simpson, Aug 02 2017 - 10:17 AM.


#47 Paul Harwood

Paul Harwood

    Jimmy Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Interests:music sports car racing astronomy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 02 2017 - 11:15 AM

Thanks for the replies!!!

1- Profiler .... That's what that thing is called .... I am not running it atm.

2- Hmmm I will uncheck a few boxes and check that out.

I am using a Logitech MOMO Racing ff wheel ...

I will ignore IGOR settings. I was not using them anyway.

Very interesting to hear how you arrive at your max steering torque setting !!!

Thanks for the replies guys!!!

Cheers.

PH

#48 Paul Harwood

Paul Harwood

    Jimmy Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Interests:music sports car racing astronomy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 02 2017 - 07:00 PM

Hi Axel,

This is a relatively new install with the latest installer.

That "FFB steer vibe freq mult = 0.2000000" line appears in the actual core.ini file and is in the right hand comments column! I tried halving the value and that seems  ...interesting.

Cheers.

PH

#49 Paul Harwood

Paul Harwood

    Jimmy Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Interests:music sports car racing astronomy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 02 2017 - 09:32 PM

Hey Petteri!

Thanks so much for this great GPL add-on! It is exactly what I was hoping to find, coming back to GPL racing. Amazing!

Thanks Bob for your settings info and all for this excellent add-on thread! :D B) :)

Cheers.

PH

#50 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,921 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Aug 03 2017 - 03:08 AM

Hello Paul Harwood.

I guess you have seen this:
http://www.gplworld....tion-guide.html

Close to the end of the guide you find my settings for my Thrustmaster T500 RS wheel.
Even so you have a different wheel it might be worth a try, to get a different feeling.

At my guide I also list Force Feedback v2 (FFB2) Patch (see 3.4), but honestly I don`t use this patch.
My listed wheel settings are for default GPL. I think I should have mentioned this in my guide. :( Maybe I will update it again.
I tried the FFB2 patch as I was updating my guide the last time, but I didn`t take the time to fiddle with adjusting all my settings (as I was a bit under time preassure to get the guide ready before the release of the 55 mod ;) ), as the settings I use didn`t feel good for me anymore. But that is just subjective. I am sure I would also find settings for FFB2 I would feel comfortable with.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Edit: With the Thrustmaster Firmware 41 I have to use the Force Feedback v2 (FFB2) Patch. Without the Force Feedback v2 (FFB2) Patch my Thrustmaster T500 RS won`t work anymore properly with GPL. The forces are way to strong and it makes no difference which values I set for FF in the core.ini or in GEM+.

In GEM+ I have now set controls using the FFB2 Patch to:
FF Latency: 0
FF Damping: 40
FF Maximum Force: 550


With above GEM+ settings the core.ini looks like this:
[ Joy ]
allow_force_feedback = 1   ; Use FF if device has it 0 = No *  1 = Yes
force_feedback_damping = 40   ; force feedback damping coefficient - Default = 40.0
force_feedback_latency = 0 ; force feedback latency (secs) - Default = 0.085   0.0040000
max_steering_torque = 550 ; steering torque in N*in giving max device force - Default = 225.0
      ;FFB steer vibe freq mult = 0.2000000

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just can tell you to spend much time on testing different settings to finally find the settings you feel comfortable with. You can spend hours with testing settings. But it is worth it. :)
Always take the same car with the same setup on the same track and make little changes on the wheel settings, step by step.
The same thing you should do when testing graphics settings.

Edited by Stefan Roess, May 05 2018 - 03:38 PM.


#51 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 856 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 03 2017 - 04:08 AM

Ah, but this is just a comment, so nothing will happen if you change a value...

[ Joy ]
allow_force_feedback = 1 ; Use FF if device has it 0 = No * 1 = Yes
force_feedback_damping = 0 ; force feedback damping coefficient - Default = 40.0
force_feedback_latency = 0 ; force feedback latency (secs) - Default = 0.085 0.0040000
max_steering_torque = 380 ; steering torque in N*in giving max device
     ;FFB steer vibe freq mult = 0.2000000

#52 Iestyn16

Iestyn16

    Tom Pryce

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Interests:Sports, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 08 2017 - 05:41 PM

Interestingly, now using the black momo, the wheel felt much smoother when I was running the Logitech profiler, so I would advise to run it with the momo

#53 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,921 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Aug 09 2017 - 03:07 AM

View PostCookie, on Aug 03 2017 - 04:08 AM, said:

Ah, but this is just a comment, so nothing will happen if you change a value...

[ Joy ]
allow_force_feedback = 1 ; Use FF if device has it 0 = No * 1 = Yes
force_feedback_damping = 0 ; force feedback damping coefficient - Default = 40.0
force_feedback_latency = 0 ; force feedback latency (secs) - Default = 0.085 0.0040000
max_steering_torque = 380 ; steering torque in N*in giving max device
     ;FFB steer vibe freq mult = 0.2000000

Axel, these settings are intended for me to test with the FFB2 patch?

#54 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 856 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 09 2017 - 09:49 AM

This are my G27 settings with FFB2, but I aimed it to Paul who talked about changing the
"     ;FFB steer vibe freq mult = 0.2000000 " value ;)


#55 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,921 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 05 2018 - 03:35 PM

This might be of interest for Thrustmaster wheel users.
With the new Thrustmaster Firmware 41 I have to use the Force Feedback v2 (FFB2) Patch for my Thrustmaster T500 RS.
It seems like something has changed with that latest Firmware the way GPL reads the forces.
Without the FFB2 patch I can not run GPL anymore. The forces are way to strong and feel very strange.
Now I am using these GPL Force Feedback settings:
See my post #50 above.

#56 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 07 2018 - 07:28 AM

I use the default settings in core for my Fanatec and then make adjustments for strength, centering etc on the wheel itself. I don't use this patch. It doesn't feel right.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links