Jump to content


- - - - -

New GEM Package ready


  • Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#31 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 06 2009 - 01:22 AM

Francesco,
have you solved your problem ?

#32 francesco

francesco

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:COMO (Italy)
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 06 2009 - 02:15 AM

View PostBernd Nowak, on Jun 6 2009, 01:22 AM, said:

Francesco,
have you solved your problem ?

At the moment no,also becouse i have explained you that now i spend my time for the new track.I have seen that if i start the 67(in the 66 folder) with the multiplayer option,the green button work(strange).I have also controlled the sound folder and the original sound is present in the dat file.For now is again a mystery but I' m shure that one day we solve it.This afternoon I wont to wark on the track but is possible that I check again,tomorow I follow the Monza revival(F1 and GT pre 1986).
Thank you Bernd for the help.

#33 francesco

francesco

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:COMO (Italy)
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 06 2009 - 04:01 AM

View Postfrancesco, on Jun 6 2009, 02:15 AM, said:

View PostBernd Nowak, on Jun 6 2009, 01:22 AM, said:

Francesco,
have you solved your problem ?

At the moment no,also becouse i have explained you that now i spend my time for the new track.I have seen that if i start the 67(in the 66 folder) with the multiplayer option,the green button work(strange).I have also controlled the sound folder and the original sound is present in the dat file.For now is again a mystery but I' m shure that one day we solve it.This afternoon I wont to wark on the track but is possible that I check again,tomorow I follow the Monza revival(F1 and GT pre 1986).
Thank you Bernd for the help.

Last new,I have apllied again the carsound.exe inside the 66 folder.Result:now also the 66 have the same problem ,with green button nothing to do but also with the calibration of the whell.Is not possible to assign the brakes,the clutch ecc..
In the afternoon I try again to understand.

#34 Ken

Ken

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jun 06 2009 - 08:43 AM

View Postfrancesco, on Jun 6 2009, 11:01 AM, said:

View Postfrancesco, on Jun 6 2009, 02:15 AM, said:

View PostBernd Nowak, on Jun 6 2009, 01:22 AM, said:

Francesco,
have you solved your problem ?

At the moment no,also becouse i have explained you that now i spend my time for the new track.I have seen that if i start the 67(in the 66 folder) with the multiplayer option,the green button work(strange).I have also controlled the sound folder and the original sound is present in the dat file.For now is again a mystery but I' m shure that one day we solve it.This afternoon I wont to wark on the track but is possible that I check again,tomorow I follow the Monza revival(F1 and GT pre 1986).
Thank you Bernd for the help.

Last new,I have apllied again the carsound.exe inside the 66 folder.Result:now also the 66 have the same problem ,with green button nothing to do but also with the calibration of the whell.Is not possible to assign the brakes,the clutch ecc..
In the afternoon I try again to understand.

As Bernd said earlier, the Patch Inspector reported you did not have the required sound files for the sound patch. If you apply the sound patch you must install the additional sound files required for the 67 cars. Have you done that yet?

#35 francesco

francesco

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:COMO (Italy)
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 06 2009 - 10:35 AM

View PostKen, on Jun 6 2009, 08:43 AM, said:

View Postfrancesco, on Jun 6 2009, 11:01 AM, said:

View Postfrancesco, on Jun 6 2009, 02:15 AM, said:

View PostBernd Nowak, on Jun 6 2009, 01:22 AM, said:

Francesco,
have you solved your problem ?

At the moment no,also becouse i have explained you that now i spend my time for the new track.I have seen that if i start the 67(in the 66 folder) with the multiplayer option,the green button work(strange).I have also controlled the sound folder and the original sound is present in the dat file.For now is again a mystery but I' m shure that one day we solve it.This afternoon I wont to wark on the track but is possible that I check again,tomorow I follow the Monza revival(F1 and GT pre 1986).
Thank you Bernd for the help.

Last new,I have apllied again the carsound.exe inside the 66 folder.Result:now also the 66 have the same problem ,with green button nothing to do but also with the calibration of the whell.Is not possible to assign the brakes,the clutch ecc..
In the afternoon I try again to understand.

As Bernd said earlier, the Patch Inspector reported you did not have the required sound files for the sound patch. If you apply the sound patch you must install the additional sound files required for the 67 cars. Have you done that yet?
OK,i have done,but can explain me what appens if i change only the GEM in my installation?I have only disinstalled the old version and installed the new,I have changed nothing in the soun and before wass all OK(65,66,67,68,69).I have senn one thing,like I have explained to Bernd earlier.
During the installation of the new GEM ,when the installer ask for a path to gpl,if i choose my folder GPL67 i have a displacement of the button in GEM and after this if  i load my gpl.exe in the folder GPL66 ,I have this error:(I have 3 disk)base exe G:\gpl67\gpl.expath1=G:\gpl66|does not exist.
In any case at the moment the 66 is returned OK.


#36 Ken

Ken

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jun 06 2009 - 02:03 PM

[quote name='francesco' post='32936' date='Jun 6 2009, 05:35 PM'][quote name='Ken' post='32927' date='Jun 6 2009, 08:43 AM'][quote name='francesco' post='32911' date='Jun 6 2009, 11:01 AM'][quote name='francesco' post='32909' date='Jun 6 2009, 02:15 AM'][quote name='Bernd Nowak' post='32907' date='Jun 6 2009, 01:22 AM']Francesco,
have you solved your problem ?[/quote]

At the moment no,also becouse i have explained you that now i spend my time for the new track.I have seen that if i start the 67(in the 66 folder) with the multiplayer option,the green button work(strange).I have also controlled the sound folder and the original sound is present in the dat file.For now is again a mystery but I' m shure that one day we solve it.This afternoon I wont to wark on the track but is possible that I check again,tomorow I follow the Monza revival(F1 and GT pre 1986).
Thank you Bernd for the help.
[/quote]

Last new,I have apllied again the carsound.exe inside the 66 folder.Result:now also the 66 have the same problem ,with green button nothing to do but also with the calibration of the whell.Is not possible to assign the brakes,the clutch ecc..
In the afternoon I try again to understand.
[/quote]

As Bernd said earlier, the Patch Inspector reported you did not have the required sound files for the sound patch. If you apply the sound patch you must install the additional sound files required for the 67 cars. Have you done that yet?
OK,i have done,but can explain me what appens if i change only the GEM in my installation?I have only disinstalled the old version and installed the new,I have changed nothing in the soun and before wass all OK(65,66,67,68,69).I have senn one thing,like I have explained to Bernd earlier.
During the installation of the new GEM ,when the installer ask for a path to gpl,if i choose my folder GPL67 i have a displacement of the button in GEM and after this if  i load my gpl.exe in the folder GPL66 ,I have this error:(I have 3 disk)base exe G:\gpl67\gpl.expath1=G:\gpl66|does not exist.
In any case at the moment the 66 is returned OK.[/quote]
[/quote]

Francesco, we are as puzzled as you what is wrong with the latest GEM. We need to ask Paul Thurston what he changed because you are not the only one to have this problem. I'm sorry I can't answer your question, all I know is what you need to do to get GPL working.

#37 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 06 2009 - 02:30 PM

Paul hasn't changed anything.
The difference is that the installer ask you for the GPL path and set the first installation for GEM to this.

You have to check the installations in GEM via the Installs button.

Unfortunatly I can only offer sound patched GPL.exe files which all require that the sounds are installed too and not the one included in the sound.dat file. Even the Carsound option need those files.

I had no problems installing GEM with the installer on XP/Vista but the difference is that I use the GPLPS installer or the All In One patch if something goes wrong. Only need to make a backup of core.ini, gpl.exe and app.ini before applying the All In One patch.

My only problem with the GPL 67 problem is why you haven't made a backup of the GPL.exe, core.ini and app.ini and applied the All-In-One patch to the GPL directory which don't work ? Apply the patch and start the GPL.exe in this directory. Should work. Oh, maybe if you have changed AI files make a backup copy first too. Or download the latest CPU FIX and extract the installer file and use this GPL.exe file. It's clean but is the latest one. Use UniExtract to unzip the installer.

I do work with PCs and server now for 20 years and there are things one don't have to understand. The problem for Paul, me and others is that no one has the source code of GPL so we all do only binary patching.

#38 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 06 2009 - 02:48 PM

View PostBernd Nowak, on Jun 6 2009, 11:30 PM, said:

I do work with PCs and server now for 20 years and there are things one don't have to understand. The problem for Paul, me and others is that no one has the source code of GPL so we all do only binary patching.

It would be useful for some of us to understand what GEM+ actually does to our executables. For example, my gpl.exe gets changed (comparing with gplc67.exe) even if I untick every option so there are some default patches applied silently. Also, my 60fps client/server matching patch is not applied correctly by GEM+ and I don't know why. Then there is the question which patches are applied first, those in the Options folder or mod patches?

#39 Ken

Ken

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jun 06 2009 - 03:35 PM

View PostBernd Nowak, on Jun 6 2009, 09:30 PM, said:

Paul hasn't changed anything.

But after a recent GEM update (for the 66 mod I think) some other people, like Francesco, suddenly needed to install the sound patch, even if they left the option unticked in GEM. They did not need to do that before. Like you Bernd, I have had the soundpatch installed for quite some time so it did not affect me. But something surely has changed somewhere?

#40 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,616 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 04 2009 - 03:30 PM

I don't know if this is the right place to post my problem which is with setup manager;
if I open a 65 mod setup it tells me that it doesn't recognise if is a 66 or a 69 setup then it asks me if is a 66 setup, I answer no and it doesn't open anything sayng that i don't have to mod installed :blink:

Does somebody has a solution for this weird behaving?

thank you :)

#41 Border Reiver - guest

Border Reiver - guest
  • Guests

Posted Jul 04 2009 - 10:37 PM

View PostGinetto, on Jul 4 2009, 10:30 PM, said:

I don't know if this is the right place to post my problem which is with setup manager;
if I open a 65 mod setup it tells me that it doesn't recognise if is a 66 or a 69 setup then it asks me if is a 66 setup, I answer no and it doesn't open anything sayng that i don't have to mod installed :blink:

Does somebody has a solution for this weird behaving?

thank you :)

That is normal, it is due to the recent mod patch updates which have changed some identifier number or other in the files. Lee wrote a fixed version of Setup manager which you will find by searching in this forum.

Since for other reasons :) GEM is getting updated within the next few weeks, I guess this latest version of setup manager that understands the new setups could now ship as part of that updated package if Lee is agreeable to that?

Rob

#42 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 05 2009 - 06:44 AM

Ginetto, the exact post you need is HERE.  :wave:

#43 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,616 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 05 2009 - 10:09 AM

Thank you Rob and Saiph :thumbup:
I was looking for a new post but couldn't find one, now I know why :P

#44 robin_j

robin_j

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 28 2009 - 12:56 AM

Hey guys, sorry if this has been asked before (and I'm sure it has).

Had a HD crash the other day and lost heaps of data, but luckily all the important stuff is intact (read GPL). So I have re-installed windows XP. I know that GPL should be OK but Gem will not load.

Can I just reinstall Gem/iGor over existing files or do I need to delete the GPL Secrets folder. Thought I'd better ask first, have had enough stress already trying to recover everything else.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

cheers
rob

#45 Burnsy865

Burnsy865

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 28 2009 - 01:56 AM

I would delete the GPL Secrets folder just to be on the safe side. This is only my advice and I am by no means an expert, I just think that it would be best seeing it isn't working for you anyway. :hmm:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links