Jump to content


- - - - -

High Resolution And 4K Uhd


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 lisha990

lisha990

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria - Graz
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 02:29 AM

Hi all! Recently got my new gaming rig with an all new Samsung UHD 4K TV being used as a monitor. I can't run it in any other resolution then 1154 x 824. When I try a higher resolution the game appears in the upper left.
Gem+ with Nigels rasterizers is used, i played with all the mip possibilities and with all possible resolutions on my tv to no afford.
So I tried my old Samsung TV and it works with 1900 x 1200!!!
Does anyone have an idea how to get my 4K monitor to work?

#2 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 07:55 AM

Try this.

In GEM > Rasterizer button > DirectMirrorRendering = > try checking or unchecking it.

Edited by Bob Simpson, Dec 02 2019 - 07:55 AM.


#3 lisha990

lisha990

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria - Graz
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 08:09 AM

Hi Bob! Already tried, made no difference

#4 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 08:29 AM

"new gaming rig with an all new Samsung UHD 4K TV"

Wich GPU and how are they connected? HDMI or Display port?

#5 lisha990

lisha990

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria - Graz
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 08:36 AM

AMD Ryzen 7 2700X 8 core - 64 Bit System Win10 (latest patch)
connected via HDMI

Edited by lisha990, Dec 02 2019 - 08:44 AM.


#6 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 08:44 AM

GPU = graphic card ;)

HDMI can be limited in resolutions!

#7 lisha990

lisha990

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria - Graz
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 08:47 AM

Geforce RTX 2080 Ti

Attached File  Res 1600 x 1200.jpg   107.6K   48 downloads

Thats how I see it

Edited by lisha990, Dec 02 2019 - 08:54 AM.


#8 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 08:55 AM

HDMI 2.0b needs good HDMI cable, do you get 4K with other programs?

Have you installed with the GPL 1.08 installer?

#9 lisha990

lisha990

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria - Graz
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 08:55 AM

View PostCookie, on Dec 02 2019 - 08:44 AM, said:

GPU = graphic card ;)

HDMI can be limited in resolutions!

🤣🙈🙉🙊

#10 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 09:00 AM

There was a thread with this problem...

afair had to do with the native resolution of the TV

Edited by Cookie, Dec 02 2019 - 09:02 AM.


#11 lisha990

lisha990

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria - Graz
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 09:21 AM

4K works with any other program. HDMI cable is fine - meanwhile I tried to fit the resolution of my tv to the resolution of the rasterizers - didn't work

It works fine with my old TV which has a native res of 1600 x 900 or even a bit more.
I found out, that the res works fine when the second value is not higher than  900

And I can't use my old GPL CD anymore because I'm lacking of a DVD at my rig

Edited by lisha990, Dec 02 2019 - 09:22 AM.


#12 rcb

rcb

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Florida, USA
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 09:25 AM

In this post use step F for the fix :   http://srmz.net/inde...showtopic=12523

Edit for clarity:  If windows display scaling is set above 100% you end up with the picture in post 7.  The fix is to disable scaling for your gpl.exe's as explained in the link.

Edited by rcb, Dec 02 2019 - 09:37 AM.


#13 lisha990

lisha990

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria - Graz
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2019 - 10:00 AM

RCB ... it worked !!!

Thanks a lot :up:

#14 roberto teso

roberto teso

    untitled

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:elsewhere
  • Interests:shoestrings theory
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 04 2019 - 03:34 PM

Please, can you confirm that your TV really says that you are at 4k?

In a Samsung TV (fairly recent) you can see this pressing the Info key, normally over the right arrow in the bottom part of the TV remote.

Can you confirm that your TV are displaying actualy 3280x2160?

And at what frequency? (Same as over explained, it's displayed when you press the Info key)

Thanks in advance.

#15 lisha990

lisha990

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria - Graz
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2019 - 08:21 AM

Hi Roberto!
I pressed the Info Button on my Samsung TV and the resolution shown in the upper right says 3840x2160 /30p

Hope that helps




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links