Jump to content


* * * * * 2 votes

Gpl On Linux


  • Please log in to reply
120 replies to this topic

#1 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 04 2012 - 12:02 PM

Hello buddies.

I use windows only for GPL... and I really would like to move GPL to linux and racing online from here. I installed GPL in Archlinux (the distro I use) without problems, but I still can't execute GEM in order to adjust rasterisers and general configuration of the GPL.

Is there anybody racing in some league under linux? I would appreciate very much if somebody can give me some clues to install the needed software to race online (gem, vroc) and to improve frame rates (all, obviously using (not drinking :P ) wine).

Cheers, and thanks in advance.

Marcos.

#2 Rudy Dingemans

Rudy Dingemans

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 873 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 04 2012 - 06:58 PM

I remember some people did manage to get GPL running on Linux. It also runs on CrossOver for Mac (commercial Wine derivative), the only thing definitely not working rite atm was the USB input (=wheel), last time I checked.

As for details... Google is your friend, since I think so little number of people run it on Linux that you'd only have some experiences from individuals scattered across the Net to learn from. Afaik no-one is running it in this configuration here, at the moment. Could be wrong though.

Regards, Rudy

#3 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,329 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 05 2012 - 05:28 AM

Hi Mcmirande  :wave: I found this link on a google search.Not sure if it might help you  :hat-tip:

http://www.jamesonli...inuxwinegpl.htm

#4 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 05 2012 - 10:07 AM

View Posttwinpotter, on Aug 05 2012 - 05:28 AM, said:

Hi Mcmirande  :wave: I found this link on a google search.Not sure if it might help you  :hat-tip:

http://www.jamesonli...inuxwinegpl.htm

Thanks all. I'll try it, twinpotter!  :clap2:

#5 Frank_Mueller

Frank_Mueller

    ---

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart, Germany
  • Interests:Racing Sims

Posted Oct 03 2012 - 01:00 PM

any results running GEM under WINE?
GPL, IGOR works (running a dedicated server via IGOR) but GEM does not run.
I get the "initialize" window, can select the language and then its gone without any error message.
So i can not create the mod-exe.

#6 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 03 2012 - 01:23 PM

I didn't tried again. Until I remember I also could not run GEM...

#7 Frank_Mueller

Frank_Mueller

    ---

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart, Germany
  • Interests:Racing Sims

Posted Oct 07 2012 - 10:27 AM

next try: Ubuntu latest release, Gnome desktop and wine.
I have GPL and GPLsecrets installed under Windows on second HDD (Windows drive letter G) and wanted to use these installs directly under Wine, by mounting drive G as drive G for "Windows". Gem+ crashed!
I installed GPL Secrets under wine into "Drive C" and it works!
So i started GEM from drive G and it works, too :)

So some dll were missing, corrected by installing.

Edited by Frank_Mueller, Oct 07 2012 - 10:28 AM.


#8 el barto - guest

el barto - guest
  • Guests

Posted Oct 14 2012 - 02:10 AM

View PostFrank_Mueller, on Oct 03 2012 - 01:00 PM, said:

any results running GEM under WINE?
GPL, IGOR works (running a dedicated server via IGOR) but GEM does not run.
I get the "initialize" window, can select the language and then its gone without any error message.
So i can not create the mod-exe.

Probably too late with this but I'll post it anyway for future reference;

I had this problem too. All I needed to do was rename the GEM.ini file (i.e. GEM.txt) and launch GEM.
When it asks to "Enable Videos" answer no.

#9 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 20 2013 - 06:36 PM

My GEM is working now. I did the same than Frank said.

I did not try my wheel yet...

Cheers, Marcos.

#10 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 694 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 03 2014 - 09:08 AM

View PostFrank_Mueller, on Oct 03 2012 - 01:00 PM, said:

any results running GEM under WINE?
GPL, IGOR works (running a dedicated server via IGOR) but GEM does not run.
I get the "initialize" window, can select the language and then its gone without any error message.
So i can not create the mod-exe.

I know this is an old thread...

But with XP's end I have to get it working!
My sever could run it now without problems but I have another PC to test the stuff before

What I did -

Installed Kubuntu 12.04 lts
- ATI CCC for gracard HD5750
- Wine1.6
- Joystick
- tried the GEM+ install with the same frustrating result...

Then I copied my Windows folders of GPLSecrets and GPL into my home folder

NOW if I start the GEM2.exe in my old folder it works perfect after showing the path to gpl.exe!
I can drive on- and offline and all is working fine in 36 and 60fps with OGLV2

The last problem is still G25 FFB and wheel config but it should be possible to solve as they make SteamOS...

Would be nice to get some feedback or help, I will continue with reporting my progress ;)

Edited by Cookie, Apr 03 2014 - 09:16 AM.


#11 roberto teso

roberto teso

    Unknown

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:everywhere
  • Interests:dark energy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 03 2014 - 11:17 AM

Ciao Axel,
if you google force feedback wine you can find a lot of resource, adding grand prix legends you can find even a dedicated page at WineHQ Grand Prix Legends 1.2.0.1.

I read that force feedback is functioning into wine so must be some problem related to the way GPL implement in game.

I would like to trash Windows but as I use to do everything at home (play music via wasapi, play DVB-S and DVB-C, making music as midi host and effect rig and so on) as the only source, I haven't find a satisfactory equivalent into linux, almost qualitatively.

I hope in the future something could change, because even Windows 8 doesn't do same good as 7

#12 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,631 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 03 2014 - 12:32 PM

I wanna give it a try with linux Mint. I installed if on my brother computer and got impressed on how good it was; better than win7.
Now I have on my machine too in double boot with win 7.
Will let you know :wave:

#13 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 03 2014 - 04:13 PM

What a good news!!!

How did you installed it? Just copying files from another install, or did you use the installer?

Also, and maybe more important. Are you using some dedicated video card? I guess that part of my problem with Linux and GPL is that my computed has just an integrated "card". It's a notebook and hence... not expansible...

But I'll try it again!

#14 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 03 2014 - 04:46 PM

Well, I copied the entire GPL and GPLSecrets folders to Linux and it works now (apparently something was improved in Wine...) but it's very slow (unplayable) both in the menus as in the gameplay.

I think maybe I should configure something of wine, but I don't know what. Any ideas?

Edit:

I followed some instructions from here for another game: http://forums.runicg...hp?f=30&t=25303

and after discovering that it work much better with Xfce than with Gnome (at least in my computer), I have GPL almost working for full use in Linux (with solid 36 fps in full grid in all tracks I tested).

But... I said "almost" because I still didn't discovered how to configure force feedback and H-shifter of my G25.

I had a great advance and I feel close to migrate GPL to Linux

Edited by mcmirande, Apr 03 2014 - 09:44 PM.


#15 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 694 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 04 2014 - 05:39 AM

Yes, I use a dedicated GPU Radeon HD 5750 with the thirdparty ATI drivers

I tried to install GEM with its installer but it did not finish...

Just copied the gplsecrets and GPL folders of my Windows XP install into the home folder of Kubuntu




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links