Jump to content


- - - - -

How to make a track?


  • Please log in to reply
399 replies to this topic

#391 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,596 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 05 2017 - 11:38 AM

PM me the trk :rolleyes:

#392 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 06 2017 - 03:51 PM

trk23doz reports Floating point division by zero and I have no idea what it could be. It's a flat track, zeroed manualy and with only two traces, so close to the centerline (9m), so walls are inside the radius of curved sections.

EDIT:  when I put some lines in the set file, this message disapears and goes to another error message, Access violation at address 00420457... Read of address 00000008
Now I'll continue working in the track files.


2nd EDIT: it was a simple error, walls out of the limits of traces :P

Edited by quico, Jun 07 2017 - 11:06 AM.


#393 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2017 - 04:36 AM

3DSimED continues with problems exporting objects to 3do. I detected that the error has to do with some normals that became inverted when exported, while mapping remains unchanged. I reported this to Dave Noonan, but it could be long untill this will be fixed. I want to know if there is a way to recalculate/edit normals with another program like gpl editor. I saw in a thread that its possible to work with 3DOED helping the edition with gpl editor.

#394 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,596 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2017 - 03:08 AM

I found easier to rebuild 3DOs with 123do than fix the errors that 3dsimed creates.
You can invert the plane by changing the vertices sequence from clockwise to counterclockwise and then fix the plane in GPLeditor but if the polys are a lot then is a really boring job.

#395 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2017 - 04:22 AM

Really heavy objects. The tower has 200 polys, as the boxes 1 and 3 (I 've made the boxes in three groups) and box 2 is almost 400 (3DSimED actally makes all the polys triangles, no more square polys).
As 123do can work with square polys, the amount of polys could be almost the midle but there is already a lot of work. Exporting a txt file of the objects from 3DSimED to 123do doesn't help as they are in triangles...

The vertices are correctly sequenced both in 3se and in 3do, when exported to 3do,  only the normals change :blink: and that polys can't be seen in gpl. The changed normals are many in the double sided polys, and few of other polys. In the new 3DSimED, normals are asigned to vertices :shock: not to polys, I think is there where it get messed.

I'm still waiting for Dave Noonan answer.

Thx Ginetto.

Edited by quico, Jul 02 2017 - 04:27 AM.


#396 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,596 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 03 2017 - 04:13 AM

Building the boxes in 123do usually is a matter of creating the first one or 2 garages and then copy-paste it to the lenght you need so it will not be a very long task from scratch.
The tower I don't know but usually if 3dsimed says 200 polys, you can usually made the same object with 50 or 60 polys.
I will just measure the first vertices ( of the first part) then make it without using the whole old structure.

#397 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 04 2017 - 08:40 AM

In my laptop I installed 123do, but never got to save 3do files, only export for ase.

In my "big" PC, after install when I try to start it, I get this: Attached File  123do.png   77.66K   9 downloads and after clik <Aceptar> the program hangs.

Both in Windows 7



I have read the 123do thread...  http://gplr.srmz.net...?showtopic=3749 but no way. I'll keep trying

Edited by quico, Jul 04 2017 - 09:15 AM.


#398 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,596 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 05 2017 - 06:00 AM

I have Win7 64 bits too and found out that 123DO needs this Attached File  pic004.jpg   40.41K   16 downloads in the compatibility window.
After that it works just fine.
To create 3DO just keep your files in a folder without spaces and you will not need any other programs :)

#399 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 07 2017 - 12:15 PM

No way. I'm going on with the tools I have. I think I can optimice objects and still have to work on mapping as there are many things that I must test.

Thanks again

#400 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Yesterday, 01:17 PM

Big success!!

I'm getting almost the same number of polys with ASE that the 3se have. In some cases, the same! (remember actually 3DsimED only works with 3 vertex polys, as ase23do does)

This means that there are no split polys in objects. Finished objects in 3do are really optimiced.


Attached File  polistorre.png   69.35K   9 downloadsAttached File  polisbox2.png   67.79K   11 downloads


As I think these are good news, in a few days I'll explain a couple of things to be avoided buildings objects.

Edited by quico, Yesterday, 02:17 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links