Jump to content


- - - - -

With 55 Mod, After 20 Minutes Screen Black... A Few Seconds


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2017 - 09:06 AM

About 20 minutes after the beginning of a training session, suddenly the screen becomes black. If I'm lucky and running in a straight seccion, I can pulse <PAUSE> and after about 3 seconds the image returns, pulse <PAUSE> again and can continue the session with the car still running. If I`m not lucky... Is the only mod it happens -and I have instaled all except Stratos and night mods-.

Any idea?

#2 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,109 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2017 - 09:54 AM

Separate install?
Maybe replay limit in core.ini?

#3 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2017 - 10:02 AM

Yes separate installs.
I have saved a replay of more than 1 hour and some of almost 40 minutes. The replay limit is 180000, and in other mods, 256000. I have changed the 180000 to 256000 but I don't expect good result.

Thanks for your answer

Edited by quico, Jul 02 2017 - 10:02 AM.


#4 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2017 - 10:45 AM

My old system did that all the time. I think the vid card was running too hot. If I left the side panel off the case and directed a table fan at the card it wouldn't do it.

#5 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2017 - 11:26 AM

I´ll check it.

Thx

#6 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,553 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2017 - 11:50 AM

Yes, the symptoms sound very much like overheating.

#7 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2017 - 03:30 PM

Next week i'll do some tests with diferent tracks, high and low resolution...

Thanks

#8 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 635 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2017 - 03:54 PM

Can you give us the CPU and GPU of your PC ;)

Run http://openhardwaremonitor.org/ in background and use the plot for temps.

#9 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 643 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jul 02 2017 - 04:20 PM

Before you go ripping apart your hardware, check your power settings in Windows. GPL doesn't prevent the OS from turning off the monitor or the screensaver on. Win10 has the bad habit of changing those settings on its own accord.

#10 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,598 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 03 2017 - 04:52 AM

View PostMichkov, on Jul 02 2017 - 04:20 PM, said:

Before you go ripping apart your hardware, check your power settings in Windows. GPL doesn't prevent the OS from turning off the monitor or the screensaver on. Win10 has the bad habit of changing those settings on its own accord.
Yes, that's what I thought too but then he said that is only with 55MOD so that sound strange. :)

#11 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,109 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 03 2017 - 07:19 AM

Has not happened for a long time, but in the past would get similar error with no black screen.
The screen would lock up and sound would keep playing.
Sometimes this would only last a few seconds then display would pick up again and car would be where it went while screen was locked up. Obviously the game continued on as if nothing was wrong, suggesting it is not a GPL problem.

My guess about that has always been its some kind of graphics overload or hangup that only happens until the system catches up.


:D

Edited by John Woods, Jul 03 2017 - 07:24 AM.


#12 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 03 2017 - 07:33 AM

Cool avatar John. Isn't that when I passed you at the ring?

Edited by Pete Gaimari, Jul 03 2017 - 07:33 AM.


#13 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,109 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 03 2017 - 08:29 AM

hehehe...surprised Pete you don't remember it was ME passing YOU at Glen48.

quico,

What OS and system specs?
Is there anything consistent about this error?
Same place? Same track or all tracks? Same car or all cars?
Did it just start doing it or has it always since installing Mod?
Are you running mirrors, driver's arms and other graphics at full load?

:D

Edited by John Woods, Jul 03 2017 - 08:42 AM.


#14 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 03 2017 - 08:37 AM

Oh yeah. Is that the time you did cartwheels when you landed? Remember to keep the throttle on or you'll nose in. :D

#15 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,109 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 03 2017 - 08:49 AM

Nosed into a tree. But at least I was in front when it happened.


:D

Edited by John Woods, Jul 03 2017 - 08:50 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links