Jump to content


- - - - -

Just Bought The Game - Can't Get Force Feedback Working

force feedback clubsport v2 clubsport fanatec

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 bworthen

bworthen

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Interests:sim racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 31 2017 - 12:07 AM

Hi Guys,

I'm running a Fanatec Clubsport V2 wheel with seperate pedals (The old fanatec elites!). I'm running GPL through GEM+2 and still not able to get force feedback working on my wheel.

I did read an older forum thread that mentioned putting my wheel in "manual" mode using the Fanatec preferences, but I don't have that option as I must be using a newer firmware.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

#2 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 31 2017 - 04:51 AM

Check your core.ini for the line:

allow_force_feedback = 1   ; Use FF if device has it 0 = No *  1 = Yes

It defaults to "off".  Also, when adjusting strength higher numbers are less force, most wheels tend to feel best around 400, with little to no damping.

#3 Manfred Cubenoggin

Manfred Cubenoggin

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Keswick, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Astronomy, chess, classical music(piano concetos), computers, firearms, modern military history, motor racing, racing sims.
  • Sim interest:I have no preference

Posted May 31 2017 - 05:18 AM

Welcome to the world of GPL, bworthen.  Persevere with your FFB probs.  Trust me...you will find it worth the effort.  :)

#4 bworthen

bworthen

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Interests:sim racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 31 2017 - 01:14 PM

Hi Guys,

I changed all of the settings around and I'm still not getting Force Feed Back. FFB was already = 1 in the core.ini file.

I tried changing the force down to 400 as recommended and even tried 225 (default). Still not feeling any FFB.

I also tried enabling and disabling the "Steering Hack" that is available through GEM+2 and that didn't do anything either.

Anyone want to hop on Discord or Team Speak to walk me through? Maybe I'm still missing something...

#5 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 31 2017 - 03:41 PM

I can't imagine the problem. I also have a Fanatec and FF works without touching any settings.

#6 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,223 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 31 2017 - 07:57 PM

How did you instal GPL?  Did you use the v.1.08 installer at https://gplps.wordpr...-gpl-installer/

#7 bworthen

bworthen

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Interests:sim racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 01 2017 - 03:45 PM

View PostBob Simpson, on May 31 2017 - 07:57 PM, said:

How did you instal GPL?  Did you use the v.1.08 installer at https://gplps.wordpr...-gpl-installer/

Yeah that's exactly what I did. Is that the issue?

#8 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 01 2017 - 04:07 PM

No, most all of us do it that way.

#9 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jun 01 2017 - 04:52 PM

A long shot, but did you install to any "Program Files" folder?  If so, you may be hitting some permissions issue.

#10 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,318 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 01 2017 - 05:03 PM

Or maybe run as administrator on the controllers exe ?

TP:

#11 bworthen

bworthen

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Interests:sim racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 01 2017 - 06:12 PM

View Postjgf, on Jun 01 2017 - 04:52 PM, said:

A long shot, but did you install to any "Program Files" folder?  If so, you may be hitting some permissions issue.

Nope, they're on a separate drive.

#12 bworthen

bworthen

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Interests:sim racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 01 2017 - 06:31 PM

View Posttwinpotter, on Jun 01 2017 - 05:03 PM, said:

Or maybe run as administrator on the controllers exe ?

TP:
I will try that too. thanks

#13 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jun 01 2017 - 06:53 PM

The only other thing that comes to mind is that weirdness of playing musical chairs with your USB ports.  Don't know why this works but it often does.  Try your wheel in a different port, even try other items in different ports (my wheel works fine in all but one port, where it isn't even recognized, though anything else works in that port).

Also, do you have any other controllers plugged in?  I must remember to unplug my joystick before starting GPL, or it will randomly assign all functions across both devices (brake may be fine but throttle is a joystick axis, shift up may be on the wheel but shift down on the stick).

Edited by jgf, Jun 01 2017 - 06:57 PM.


#14 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,223 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 01 2017 - 08:51 PM

In Control panel > Devices and printers > your wheel > Game controller settings, if you press buttons on the wheel, do you feel any force effects?  If not, it could be the USB or the power supply to the wheel.

In Device manager > Human interface devices, see if there is a yellow icon where the wheel is listed, indicating some kind of problem.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: force feedback, clubsport v2, clubsport, fanatec

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links