Jump to content


- - - - -

Low Framerate After A Power Failure Shutdown

Low framerate power failure shutdown

  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#1 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 06:42 AM

Does anybody had a low framerate problem after a power failure that shutdown the computer? My GPL installation was working perfectly fine but yesterday a technician from my Internet Service Provider came to my house to solve a connection problem and unplugged incorrectly the energy to the computer when it was running. Now, I have less than 20FMS in GPL. I've done disc defragmentation and system restore but the problem persists. I don't find anything else that isn't working properly in the computer; only Grand Prix Legends. Any ideas? Thank you all!

#2 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,770 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 06:53 AM

First of all, welcome Pedro! :)

A couple of question to understand better:

Did the power failure happen when the computer was running GPL?
What OS do you have installed?

#3 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 07:08 AM

Thank you Ginetto for your interest in assist me!
Not 100% sure, but I think GEM+ was open. But I was not playing the game, for sure.
My operating system is Windows 7.

#4 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,770 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 07:36 AM

I would try to do a clean startup first and see if the problem is solved:
  • Log on to the computer by using an account that has administrator rights.
  • Click Start, type msconfig.exe in the Start Search box, and then press Enter to start the System Configuration utility.
    Note If you are prompted for an administrator password or for confirmation, you should type the password or provide confirmation.

    Attached File  1.jpg   14.41K   7 downloads

  • On the General tab, click the Selective startup option, and then click to clear the Load startup items check box. (The Use Original Boot.ini check box is unavailable.)

    Attached File  2.jpg   26.74K   8 downloads  

  • On the Services tab, click to select the Hide all Microsoft services check box, and then click Disable all.

    Attached File  3.jpg   30.34K   10 downloads
    Note This step lets Microsoft services continue to run. These services include Networking, Plug and Play, Event Logging, Error Reporting, and other services. If you disable these services, you may permanently delete all restore points. Do not do this if you want to use the System Restore utility together with existing restore points.

  • Click OK, and then click Restart.
Once you tried this, post if the problem is gone or is still there.

#5 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 07:37 AM

One more detail: I had already noticed, after installed GPL and GEM+ in this computer about a month ago, that everytime that I shutdown the computer, the next time I restart it, this low frame rate problem occurrred. Then I discovered that after a few hours turned on, the problem dissapears. So I've been keeping the computer always turned on since then. Yesterday, after this inccident, the problem came again but this time seems that even after 24 hours with the computer turned on, the problem persists.

#6 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,770 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 07:43 AM

Try the procedure I posted above and if  the issue is gone then we can try to pinpoint the problem. :)

#7 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 819 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 08:14 AM

Hot stuff Ginetto...

First I would delete all mod gpl***.exe an let them rebuild by GEM. (not the gpl.exe!!!)
If this did not help I would start a little softer and run cmd.exe as Admin -> sfc /scannow this repairs damaged Windows system files.

Edited by Cookie, Jan 24 2018 - 08:15 AM.


#8 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 08:34 AM

Thank you Ginetto for the so well explained procedure. I've done it, but unfortunately the problem persists.

#9 tdurrett

tdurrett

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 08:49 AM

You may have a hardware problem with video--that would account for framerate changes and might be caused by incorrectly unplugging the power supply.  Intermittent problems are hard to diagnose but try testing video first.

#10 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 09:03 AM

Cookie, thank you for your help too.
The first suggestion you do, I don't understand quite well. I don't find these "mod gpl***.exe" files... Where are they? I do find the GPL.EXE file inside SIERRA/gpl_demo.
The second suggestion, I think I could make it (see picture). It said that it found damaged files and repaired them. But the low framerate problem in GPL maintains...

#11 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 09:08 AM

Thank you tdurrent. How can I test video?

#12 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 819 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 09:20 AM

Do you have GEM+ installed?
If not, there is no way to repair a damaged gplc67.exe...
Never touch gpl.exe!

So you should reinstall the demo.
Just save and keep the player and replay folder.
If you have added tracks keep the tracks and seasons folder too.

Better than the 2004-Demo is the GPL_DEMO_2013_F1Legends ,
its french, but replacing the gpl.exe wih the Demo's makes it english...

Edited by Cookie, Jan 24 2018 - 09:25 AM.


#13 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 09:42 AM

Cookie, I do have GEM+ installed. And my demo is the french one from 2013 that you refer.
So, considering that, what I shall do? Reisntall the demo, saving and keeping the player, replay, tracks and seasons folders?

#14 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 09:48 AM

I think this is a hardware problem. Do you have any other games/sims installed? If so, how are they working/

#15 Pedro L Ramalho

Pedro L Ramalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sintra, Portugal
  • Interests:Historic Formula 1
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2018 - 09:52 AM

Pete, I don't have any other games installed. But I don't find nothing more working bad except GPL.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links