Jump to content


- - - - -

Found A Bug In P&g V3 ? ...report It Here


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1 DucFreak

DucFreak

    GTLW - Sound Designer

  • GTLW Crew
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa - Portugal
  • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

Posted Oct 30 2012 - 11:47 PM

[size=4]This thread was initially opened to find bugs on P&G V3.0.[/size]

[size=4]It will still be used to report bugs in more recent releases (most current version to date is [url="http://srmz.net/index.php?showtopic=9505"]P&G v3.1[/url]), so please make sure first that you have updated to the latest version, before reporting any bugs. [/size]

[size=4]This initial post will reflect the bugs reported and confirmed in v3.1, and will be updated along the way.[/size]

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BUG #1:
[QUOTE]
  • The Ford Escort Zakspeed crashes the game if using SOFT WET tyres (front or rear, or both).
As temporary solution untill we fix this in next patch, disable Autoselect Tyres in Options/ Advanced, and manually select INTERMEDIATES or HARD WET tyres, if in wet track situations.

Avoid the AI using the Zakspeed Escort with rain above 70%.[/QUOTE]

BUG #2:
[QUOTE]
  • v3.1_Updater installer reverts the User Interface language to English (as default).
[size=3]Our team member aSa made a tool available, to change the language in the menus - [url="http://www.nogripracing.com/details.php?filenr=39318"]P&G v3 - UI language switcher[/url][/size][/QUOTE]

BUG #3:
[QUOTE]
  • The old replays and saved championships from v3.0 are not working with certain cars (causing CTD) after updating to v3.1.
This is expected.
The reason for this is that various cars had their #ID repeated/shared with others in v3.0, which could cause all sorts of issues.
All cars have now their #ID renamed individually for v3.1 (as should have been right from the start), which makes the old replays and saved championships not identify the cars, and crash the game when loading them.
It's was a sad trade-off that we had to accept, in order to do rectifications for v3.1.[/QUOTE]

BUG #4:[quote]
    • [size=3]Ford Boss Mustang #15 and #16 textures show the cars as equipped with Firestone tyres, but they're actually using GoodYear tyres like the other Boss Mustangs.[/size]
    [size=3]This is a bug from v3.0 that wasn't spotted and corrected in v3.1.
    Should be corrected in next patch.[/size][/quote]


    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [size=4]REPORTED BUGS THAT ARE NOT BUGS (RATHER FAULTS OF GTR2 CODE AFFECTING P&G)[/size]
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [QUOTE]"AI level at more than 110% will make some cars flip."[/QUOTE]
    GTR2 AI code runs very simplified physics and it is tuned for the original GT modern racecars aerodinamics and suspensions, not to TC/GTC 60's and 70's racecars 'hardware'. The tracks AIW quality is also essential, especially on add-on tracks.
    There is no reasonable solution - use up to 110% AI strenght, never more than that.

    [QUOTE]"racing online can get unstable at times. Especially in public servers, even CTDs occur."[/QUOTE]
    A game CTD will occur if many people are entering and exiting a server, which is the case on a 'pick-up' public server. It won't happen often if you get all the people in a server and everybody stays connected. Unfortunately, it's GTR2 behaviour and not much that can be done ([url="http://srmz.net/index.php?showtopic=8599"]see P&G Multiplayer F.A.Q.[/url]).

    .

    Edited by DucFreak, Oct 23 2013 - 11:51 AM.


    #2 SpecialKS

    SpecialKS

      Guy Ligier

    • Members
    • Pip
    • 3 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Interests:GTL + P&G
    • Sim interest:rFactor

    Posted Oct 31 2012 - 01:30 AM

    Ford Escort RS 1600 #71114 (the one with castrol livery) crashes game also when you simply klick it for the showroom.

    Found this one (I'm not at home so I have to write from my memory): all 70's Corvettes seem to appear in showroom in black
    colour without livery only (did not yet try to drive them up to now).

    BTW - let me thank for this great mod and your outstanding work over these last three years. For me you did release the
    most fantastic mod of all time in GTR2 - and I only tested the Alfa 1300 GTA Junior WB and the Corvette GS :thankyou:

    Edited by SpecialKS, Oct 31 2012 - 03:56 AM.


    #3 DucFreak

    DucFreak

      GTLW - Sound Designer

    • GTLW Crew
    • 121 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Lisboa - Portugal
    • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

    Posted Oct 31 2012 - 02:10 AM

    View PostSpecialKS, on Oct 31 2012 - 01:30 AM, said:

    Found this one (I'm not at home so I have to write from my memory): all 70's Corvettes seem to appear in showroom in black
    colour without livery only (did not yet try to drive them up to now).

    Thanks for reporting!
    Confirmed the Escort bug on car list / showroom.

    Can't replicate the bug on the 70s Corvettes though, either in DX8 or DX9 they're all ok. EDIT: confirmed bug in DX7

    Edited by DucFreak, Oct 31 2012 - 02:12 AM.


    #4 SpecialKS

    SpecialKS

      Guy Ligier

    • Members
    • Pip
    • 3 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Interests:GTL + P&G
    • Sim interest:rFactor

    Posted Oct 31 2012 - 03:28 AM

    Yep - you're right - had to run P&G V3 in DX7 because I got a CTD when starting it in DX8.

    I think that's a problem with my machine which I still have to examine (P&G V2.1 runs in DX8
    with the same problem (CTD) when starting it in DX9) - Windows XP with an old Geforce 9600 GT.

    Thanks for your answer - very much appreciated :-)

    Edited by SpecialKS, Oct 31 2012 - 03:29 AM.


    #5 SpecialKS

    SpecialKS

      Guy Ligier

    • Members
    • Pip
    • 3 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Interests:GTL + P&G
    • Sim interest:rFactor

    Posted Nov 01 2012 - 02:10 AM

    Was able to solve my specific problem:

    Changed/reduced the AA shader level from 4 to 3 and P&G V3 works fine now here in DX8.
    So all 70s Corvette skins visible now :-)


    edit: a.m. solution does not always work :-(
    But reducing the settings of my graphics card to 16 bit makes all cars visible in showroom
    (incl. #114 Escort) and works online too (joined online several times over the weekend on
    the GC P&G V3 PUB server with over 25 drivers online and no problems at all) :-)


    This just for your information.

    Cheers

    SpecialKS

    Edited by SpecialKS, Nov 05 2012 - 07:00 AM.


    #6 tferrell

    tferrell

      Ludovico Scarfiotti

    • Members
    • PipPip
    • 8 posts

    Posted Dec 03 2012 - 06:49 PM

    Not sure if this is a bug or not but I'll put it out there...
    The in-car front/rear brake bias ([, ] by default) does not seem to work- at least at don't get any indication on screen that it has any effect. It is fully adjustable in the setup screen, however.
    As I said I'm not sure if this is a bug, or an added realism since not all cars of that era had an in-car adjustment? I can live with it either way. I was just curious...

    #7 David Wright Lo67

    David Wright Lo67

      Denny Hulme

    • GTLW Crew
    • 437 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Interests:GPL, GTL and P&G
    • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

    Posted Dec 04 2012 - 10:05 AM

    View Posttferrell, on Dec 03 2012 - 06:49 PM, said:

    Not sure if this is a bug or not but I'll put it out there...
    The in-car front/rear brake bias ([, ] by default) does not seem to work- at least at don't get any indication on screen that it has any effect. It is fully adjustable in the setup screen, however.
    As I said I'm not sure if this is a bug, or an added realism since not all cars of that era had an in-car adjustment? I can live with it either way. I was just curious...

    Yes its realism. We are not aware of any of the P&G cars having driver-adjustable brake bias.

    #8 DavePT

    DavePT

      Jackie Ickx

    • Members
    • Pip
    • 1 posts
    • Interests:GTR2
    • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

    Posted Dec 30 2012 - 09:01 PM

    I may have found the reason why the cars roll and flip around on every single corner...

    Most of the cars are missing some values on the rear anti sway (anti roll) bar in the HDC file.
    For example, the Porsche 911 IROC:

    PnGv3:
    RearAntiSwayRange=(0.00, 0.005, 5)
    

    GTL:
    RearAntiSwayRange=(0.019, 0.001, 4)
    

    After replacing this line in PnGv3 with the GTL original values I can lower both the AITorqueStab and AIGripMult to 1.0 and still run the AI at 120% without any stability problem.

    #9 DucFreak

    DucFreak

      GTLW - Sound Designer

    • GTLW Crew
    • 121 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Lisboa - Portugal
    • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

    Posted Oct 05 2013 - 06:46 PM

    05/October/2013

    FROM HERE ON, BUG REPORTS FOR P&G V3.1

    #10 DucFreak

    DucFreak

      GTLW - Sound Designer

    • GTLW Crew
    • 121 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Lisboa - Portugal
    • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

    Posted Oct 05 2013 - 06:47 PM

    Bug reported and confirmed:
    • The Ford Escort Zakspeed crashes the game if using SOFT WET tyres (front or rear, or both).
    As temporary solution untill next patch solves this bug, use INTERMEDIATES or HARD WET tyres (if in wet track situations, obviously).
    .

    Edited by DucFreak, Oct 05 2013 - 06:48 PM.


    #11 DucFreak

    DucFreak

      GTLW - Sound Designer

    • GTLW Crew
    • 121 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Lisboa - Portugal
    • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

    Posted Oct 06 2013 - 01:28 PM

    The initial post of this thread has now been updated with all confirmed bugs of P&G v3.1.  :)

    It'll also be updated along the way, for as long as possible. Please consult it before reporting a bug.

    Edited by DucFreak, Oct 06 2013 - 01:28 PM.


    #12 DucFreak

    DucFreak

      GTLW - Sound Designer

    • GTLW Crew
    • 121 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Lisboa - Portugal
    • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

    Posted Oct 23 2013 - 11:55 AM

    For those that wish an easier and more comfortable fix to to change the language in the P&G menus, our team member aSa has now made a tool available: :thumbup:

    #13 jgf

    jgf

      Denny Hulme

    • Members
    • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
    • 771 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Columbus, OH
    • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

    Posted Nov 09 2013 - 07:53 AM

    This is the tallest ratio I can get for the Ford GT MkII  (I copied a backup file to correct it so no major issue for me).

    Attached Files


    Edited by jgf, Nov 09 2013 - 07:56 AM.


    #14 DucFreak

    DucFreak

      GTLW - Sound Designer

    • GTLW Crew
    • 121 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Lisboa - Portugal
    • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

    Posted Nov 09 2013 - 09:27 AM

    View Postjgf, on Nov 09 2013 - 07:53 AM, said:

    This is the tallest ratio I can get for the Ford GT MkII  (I copied a backup file to correct it so no major issue for me).
    That is not normal, Graham.
    For some reason your gearbox values are modified (??).

    See in the attached image the gearbox ratios (speed in MPH, tallest final ratio selected by default) that you should be seeing:
    Posted Image

    I just sent you a PM with the whole GT40MkII folder zipped (which should fix things in it entirely), check it out, alright? :)
    .

    Edited by DucFreak, Nov 09 2013 - 09:32 AM.


    #15 jgf

    jgf

      Denny Hulme

    • Members
    • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
    • 771 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Columbus, OH
    • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

    Posted Jan 02 2014 - 06:33 PM

    Sorry for the delay, it's been a hectic season ...and my computer ate its PS for Thanksgiving.  I had replaced the errant gear file with a backup, which worked fine, but pulled the entire folder and replaced it with yours - all is well there also.  I didn't check the faulty file (and I'm too lazy to reinstall P&G to do it) but assume a misplaced decimal or incorrect digit in the final drive since all four gears were equally affected, though if no one else was affected maybe it was just a digital hiccup during d/l or install.




    0 user(s) are reading this topic

    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

    Sim Racing Links