Jump to content


- - - - -

Can Gpl Be Patched To Run Long Tracks Outside Of A Mod?


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#21 Argyle1968

Argyle1968

    Jimmy Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 25 2020 - 01:19 AM

View PostArgyle1968, on Jul 25 2020 - 01:13 AM, said:

Processor is an Intel Core i7-10750H, 32 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 2070 and running Windows 10.
I'm presently not using a mod or GEM.  Some time ago when the original 1969 mod was released I used GEM to install it and the 67 cars, then copied the  1969 'Cars' directory to a standalone folder, from which I copied the car .DAT files.  Since then, I've copied my GPL directory and restructured my GPL hierarchy as follows:

c:]GPL\
F11970\GPL\gpl.exe
F11969\GPL\gpl.exe
F11965\GPL\gpl.exe

and so on.  One complete subfolder for each year or season type, complete with cars, tracks and all other GPL subfolders.  The 1965 GPL uses the 65 cars from that mod.  The 67 season uses the 67 cars.  The 69 and 70 seasons use the original 69 cars.  The formula 5000 sets use modified versions of some of  the 69 cars,  So essentially I originally used GEM to patch GPL and be able to take the cars from those mods, edit some of the carshapes, and incorporate them into the carsets and various series I've worked on and run them as separate functioning GPL installations.  That was the idea.  And it works with every other track I've tried, except for Spa67 and Targa Florio, so I figured I needed the 1.3 patch for long tracks but I can't do that because I no longer have a copy of GEM on my system.  I've tried installing Spa67 in every GPL folder I have, because they all derive from a GPL folder that was originally patched with GEM, and each of them has a GPLc67.exe in it, but to no avail.  Every time I try to load the track, I get a "Could not load the track" error message.  

It probably has something to do with no longer using GEM.  When I get a replacement GPL disk in a few days, I'm going to try to install a fresh copy of GPL to my system, install GEM, and patch GPL accordingly and install Spa67.  Hopefully that will allow me to load the track so I can run it with one of the mods.  It doesn't solve my problem, though--what I really want is to be able to run Spa67 with the existing GPL cars I've created.  Hence my original question--whether Spa67 could be run as a stand alone track or GPL could be patched to do so without using GEM.


#22 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,694 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jul 25 2020 - 04:05 AM

Your system, an Intel Core i7-10750H, 32 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 2070 and running Windows 10.
is for sure not the problem. :)

Sorry, atm I don`t know what could cause that Spa67 is not running using original 67 cars.

#23 Argyle1968

Argyle1968

    Jimmy Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 25 2020 - 05:12 AM

View PostStefan Roess, on Jul 25 2020 - 04:05 AM, said:

Your system, an Intel Core i7-10750H, 32 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 2070 and running Windows 10.
is for sure not the problem. :)

Sorry, atm I don`t know what could cause that Spa67 is not running using original 67 cars.

Good to know it isn't the system.  Thanks for the help!

#24 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 25 2020 - 09:31 AM

Just to make sure I take GEM out of the picture. I deleted my GPL install and installed again from the CD using the 1.08 installer. It comes with the 1.3 patch and the reason I mentioned earlier how I installed GPL. I'm not sure why anybody wouldn't use the installer it's so much easier than installing all the patches separate.

Anyway, the new fresh install runs Spa67 fine. GEM s not needed to run the track. Although the AI are painfully slow with the 67 F1 cars.

#25 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,018 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jul 25 2020 - 10:18 AM

View PostLee200, on Jul 24 2020 - 02:55 PM, said:

I've decided not to name it "ReadMe" any more for my patches as apparently some people were reading it as "IgnoreMe" instead.  Maybe "Don'tReadMeUnderPenaltyOfDeath" might work better.  :)

I share your frustration as we do spend of lot of time writing and revising these help files.  :hithead:

Name it "Adults Only" and everyone will read it.

#26 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,823 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Football
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 25 2020 - 11:05 AM

View Postjgf, on Jul 25 2020 - 10:18 AM, said:

Name it "Adults Only" and everyone will read it.

:hysterical:

#27 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 25 2020 - 03:20 PM

:clap2:

#28 Brocky05

Brocky05

    King of the Mountain

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Long And Winding Road
  • Interests:I'm Way Too Addicted to GPL For Anything Else
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 25 2020 - 06:29 PM

my 2 cents have you tried downloading the track again and installing that

did you install it as an administrator i have had track/cars/mods not work before because i didnt install em with admin rights

Edited by Brocky05, Jul 25 2020 - 06:33 PM.


#29 Argyle1968

Argyle1968

    Jimmy Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 01:15 AM

Just as a follow up, I wanted to thank everyone for the advice and suggestions.  I was able to get Spa67 running courtesy of a clean install with the 1.08 GPL installer and using gem with the 1969x mod.  Nice track and mod!  Unfortunately, that didn't solve my problem of not being able to run the track with my existing GPL installations and carsets.  There's an incompatability between one of the files in the Spa67.dat and  one of the car .3do files I am using.  It's the only possibility, as I have been able to run these cars on every other track I've tried.  I even tried dumping the cars67 folder from one of those installations into the cars67 folder of the clean install with its corresponding driver.ini file and trying to run the track but I still had a load track error with only that track.  The others worked fine.  So there's something in the spa67.dat that just won't work with one or more of the edited carshapes I'm using. Just thought I'd mention that in case anyone else had the same problem.  Anyway, thanks again for the help.

#30 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 02:07 AM

Is your problem just with the 69X mod, as that mod has known problems with Spa67, although we don't have a fix for it yet.

#31 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,372 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 09:41 AM

There is definately no problem with Spa67 and 69Xtra!

I just did a 60fpsaiV1 lap with 19 AI and recorded it, these AI are pretty good as there seems no mod specific file in the track folder ;)

You can have every file from me I have in this install to prove it :harumph:

the little movie: https://www.sendspace.com/file/i0a59a

#32 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,571 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 09:49 AM

Sorry, I was mistaken.

Edited by gliebzeit, Jul 31 2020 - 10:36 AM.


#33 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,372 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 10:01 AM

Greg,
he makes his own carsets! So it's possible to have a doublette file...

PS

Ah, and I did a same Spa67 lap with 67s @ 60fpsaiV1 without problems - just the AI are horrible slow :zzzzz:

Edited by Cookie, Jul 31 2020 - 10:08 AM.


#34 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 10:33 AM

Cookie, not sue if you have already done it somewhere but can you post your drvc69.ini please.

Thanks

#35 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 11:10 AM

Yes please Cookie, share your files because it seems everyone else has this problem.

#36 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,372 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 11:23 AM

View Postpaul skingley, on Jul 31 2020 - 10:33 AM, said:

Cookie, not sue if you have already done it somewhere but can you post your drvc69.ini please.

Thanks

Ah I remember this is the file we had the bug! The double car number - TvO found it...

http://gplr.srmz.net...?showtopic=3693

http://srmz.net/inde...showtopic=12263

Attached Files


Edited by Cookie, Jul 31 2020 - 11:25 AM.


#37 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 01:38 PM

Thanks Cookie.
Your file appears the same as mine and has the same effect .......so no cigar. :(  ... but thanks anyway. :)

As a further test I tried removing all the drivers from the drvc69.ini and running a race.

I get race mode and f/f to the race then complete laps no problem but as soon as I add one driver to the drvc69.ini the game falls over at Stav as it normally does.

This topic keeps appearing so eventually someone will crack it............. :crossfingers:



Anyone else with this problem has one consolation - 69mod Part3 and the Lwng carset looks very similar and feels very similar but most importantly it runs at Spa67 no problem with a full grid.



Paul

#38 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,372 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 05:28 PM

Try my Spa67 folder...

Just add your spa67.dat (785,7 MiB (823.814.868 Bytes)

https://www.sendspace.com/file/z3jb1p

#39 Brocky05

Brocky05

    King of the Mountain

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Long And Winding Road
  • Interests:I'm Way Too Addicted to GPL For Anything Else
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 11:03 PM

i just tried the 60fpsaiV1 patch n it worked a treat for me

the fastest lap time by the AI was 3:16 that was set in one quick race no practice so not exactly slow

#40 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 01 2020 - 07:44 AM

View PostBrocky05, on Jul 31 2020 - 11:03 PM, said:

i just tried the 60fpsaiV1 patch n it worked a treat for me

the fastest lap time by the AI was 3:16 that was set in one quick race no practice so not exactly slow


Is anybody doing laps that fast in Spa67?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links