Jump to content


* * * * * 3 votes

Gpl Faq And Troubleshooting Guide


  • Please log in to reply
100 replies to this topic

#21 Pedro

Pedro

    Pedro

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,370 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hillegom - The Netherlands
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends
    Scuba-diving
    Airplanes
    Money :-)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 28 2010 - 12:54 PM

View PostMichael Cowling, on Apr 27 2010 - 04:39 PM, said:

Any clues as to how I uninstall the game?
Posted Image

View PostMECH, on Apr 28 2010 - 12:07 PM, said:

Uninstalling GPL? That's blasphemy around here you know...
:P

#22 Gramps

Gramps

    Chris Irwin

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted Sep 20 2010 - 01:25 AM

I'm having a little problem with Igor. I have recently updated Gem+ and Igor, and since then whenever I run Igor from Gem I get this message right before Igor starts: "Last GPL player chosen cannot be found as players/player folder". I click OK and Igor starts, but when the racelist comes up, it shows I don't have any tracks installed. I have just about every track known to man! I have tried createing new player files and everything I can think of. The gpl install path is set correctly also. Anyone have any ideas for me? I'm running Windows 7 btw....

Edited by Gramps, Sep 20 2010 - 01:27 AM.


#23 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 20 2010 - 09:39 AM

When this message comes up I think it's often due to iGOR opening up and looking for a driver who doesn't exist or else there's something missing in the player folder.

Can you run GPL OK with the same mod as the race you're trying to join?

In C:\Program Files\GPLSecrets\iGOR\igor.ini, what do you see for LastPlayerID =  ?  I'm not sure what the numbers after the driver name means.  For me it's  "simpson66__bob281250" and my player folder is  simpson66__bob for the 66 mod.

#24 Gramps

Gramps

    Chris Irwin

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted Sep 20 2010 - 12:07 PM

View PostBob Simpson, on Sep 20 2010 - 09:39 AM, said:

When this message comes up I think it's often due to iGOR opening up and looking for a driver who doesn't exist or else there's something missing in the player folder.

Can you run GPL OK with the same mod as the race you're trying to join?

In C:\Program Files\GPLSecrets\iGOR\igor.ini, what do you see for LastPlayerID =  ?  I'm not sure what the numbers after the driver name means.  For me it's  "simpson66__bob281250" and my player folder is  simpson66__bob for the 66 mod.

LastPlayerID              = "eepeepmoo6724ce"

JoinModIdent              = "GPL69"
JoinPlayerName            = "Gramps__"

I can run gpl with any mod from Gem+, the only problem I have is with Igor.

That is a very strange lastplayerID, yes???

#25 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,716 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 20 2010 - 01:15 PM

Please can you tell what OS you are using and where you have installed the GEM+ package?
Bob Simpson seems to have it installed in  C:\Program Files\GPLSecrets which seems to be a Windows XP installation.

You can however rename igor.ini and iGor will create a new ini file. But the values especially

[ RaceListServers ]
IP						= gplrank.info

needs to be verified after a new igor.ini has been created.

#26 Gramps

Gramps

    Chris Irwin

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted Sep 20 2010 - 05:21 PM

View PostBernd Nowak, on Sep 20 2010 - 01:15 PM, said:

Please can you tell what OS you are using and where you have installed the GEM+ package?
Bob Simpson seems to have it installed in  C:\Program Files\GPLSecrets which seems to be a Windows XP installation.

You can however rename igor.ini and iGor will create a new ini file. But the values especially

[ RaceListServers ]
IP						= gplrank.info

needs to be verified after a new igor.ini has been created.

I'm running windows 7 and my install is on a different drive than C: It is on G:\GPLsecrets...

I have tried creating a new Igor.ini file, but that seems to present a new problem. When I start Igor, I get an Access error. Don't remember all the details, but Igor will start when I click OK. I did change the racelist servers in the new file to gplrank.info

#27 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,716 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2010 - 01:29 AM

The problem with iGOR and of course Winvroc is that those applications need write access to their directories.

Please can you check the rights?

GEM itself has set it's property to request Admin rights. So any process launched from GEM should also have admin rights. However if launching from the desktop make sure to select run as admin. Just for a test.

Does it run ok?

#28 Cylex

Cylex

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 27 2010 - 11:11 PM

View PostBob Simpson, on Feb 04 2009 - 10:51 AM, said:


When using OpenGL, there are lines in the sky
This problem is only noticed running GPL with OpenGL
1- With an nVidia card, it’s fixed by adjusting the graphics card settings in Control Panel > Display > Settings > Advanced > Disable conformant texture clamp.


Unfortunately in latest versions of ForceWare there is no an option Disable conformant texture clamp :(
Any ideas to resolve it?

Edited by Cylex, Sep 27 2010 - 11:14 PM.


#29 mister44

mister44

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted Sep 28 2010 - 09:51 AM

Help request from a newbie. I have new PC with windows 7 and Logitech G27
Have managed to load GPL but troubled with whell recognition. It tests out OK but cannot calibrate foe GPL as it just seems to wamt a joystick.
Can't seem to find a way round it, and no reference to G27 on srmz.

#30 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 28 2010 - 03:52 PM

Follow these steps exatly:

1 - unplug the g27 USB while the computer is on
2 - plug it back in after a minute
3 - start GPL
4 - in the options > game controllers window hit calibrate joystick
5 - run the wheel to the right, then to the left full range
6 - press the pedals through teir full ranges (you mihgt want to hit the small yellow arrow at the bottom of that window to see all the axes)
7 - hit OK
8 - now, and not before this, assign the axes.  The steering wheel must be turned right if I remember right (see what direction it says on the screen)

#31 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 28 2010 - 03:54 PM

View PostCylex, on Sep 27 2010 - 11:11 PM, said:

Unfortunately in latest versions of ForceWare there is no an option Disable conformant texture clamp :(
Any ideas to resolve it?
You don't say what graphics card you're using.  You may have to find an advanced options utility like nHancer or ATI tray tools to find that option.

#32 Cylex

Cylex

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 01 2010 - 03:12 AM

View PostBob Simpson, on Sep 28 2010 - 03:54 PM, said:

View PostCylex, on Sep 27 2010 - 11:11 PM, said:

Unfortunately in latest versions of ForceWare there is no an option Disable conformant texture clamp :(
Any ideas to resolve it?
You don't say what graphics card you're using.  You may have to find an advanced options utility like nHancer or ATI tray tools to find that option.

GeForce 9800GT ForceWare 258.96 Windows 7 32b.
I received an answer from nVidia on my question:
"I'm sorry but Conformant texture Clamp is no longer included in the User Interface nor are registry keys for this function supported anymore."

#33 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,716 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 01 2010 - 03:16 AM

Are you using the OGLv2 or OGL rasterisers?

#34 Cylex

Cylex

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 01 2010 - 04:11 AM

View PostBernd Nowak, on Oct 01 2010 - 03:16 AM, said:

Are you using the OGLv2 or OGL rasterisers?

No, I use old OpenGL rasterizer. New OGLv2 has serious problem - enabling FSAA 4x and better causing slide-show in game.

Sorry for my English

#35 mister44

mister44

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted Oct 01 2010 - 09:50 AM

View PostBob Simpson, on Sep 28 2010 - 03:52 PM, said:

Follow these steps exatly:

1 - unplug the g27 USB while the computer is on
2 - plug it back in after a minute
3 - start GPL
4 - in the options > game controllers window hit calibrate joystick
5 - run the wheel to the right, then to the left full range
6 - press the pedals through teir full ranges (you mihgt want to hit the small yellow arrow at the bottom of that window to see all the axes)
7 - hit OK
8 - now, and not before this, assign the axes.  The steering wheel must be turned right if I remember right (see what direction it says on the screen)


#36 mister44

mister44

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted Oct 01 2010 - 09:53 AM

Thanks so much for that, now operating, although the steering was the wrong way round at first. Sorting out some of these problems seems like witchcraft to me.
Just left Jim Clark in the sand at the Parabolica, so had better go and sort that out.
Cheers

#37 Stainaz

Stainaz

    Dan Gurney

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted Jun 30 2011 - 12:19 PM

I'm asking this for a friend, so I'm very sorry for the lack of precise information, but I hope that you guys have more experience and a better idea of what exactly is going wrong, than I.
I suppose it's got something to do with the video card, though.

Here's the problem:
When trying to enter a racing circuit, the game freezes and finally crashes.

Detail information:
- Windows 7 system
- used game version: Demo 2004, version 1.2.0.2*
- installed modifications:
  - individually designed cars and driver portraits
  - pribluda
  - varikkostoppi (pitstops made possible)
  - new rasterizers OGLv2 and D3Dv2
  - 1965 mod
  - altered keyboard controls to GP2 standard ([A] [Y] [,] [.] german keyboard layout)
- we're not using GEM, iGOR or VROC. I implemented the changes (carset, pribluda, etc.) with GEM+ though.
- no joysticks or steering wheels used
- I'm working with the exact same version of the game (I installed and set it up for him) on a windows 7 professional system and everything's perfectly fine.


*: I've got a bought retail version of the game too, of course. No cheating here. I just thought the demo was better suited for us, since we wanted to heavily customize the game and not use any of the basic tracks anyway. As I'm seeing it, we "built" ourselves a stand-alone mod, though we're not trying to "sell" it in any form as a new product. Just a custom stand alone thing. Everybody knows we're using different mods from different members of the GPL community.


What I already tried to solve the problem:
- run as administrator, combined with different compatibility modes
- run as administrator, without compatibility
- change rasterizer (he went through all of them, no change at all, game still freezes)


What I told him to do, but don't know if he tried it already (I'm doubting it though)
- get latest video card drivers
- check if files are read-only (can't be since we're using the same version) <- I found this proposition in the first posting here.

Stuff I (sort of) ruled out:
- Can't be the sound patch problem since that should occur to me and the other players as well.
- I don't think the player file is corrupted either since he can access the player section without any trouble
- I think he uses a dual core PC (so do I) but I absolutely won't tell him to alter his BIOS in any way. Sounds too risky to me and I don't think that's the problem we're facing, too.

Unfortunately I don't really know anything else about what video card this guy is using or what exactly happens.
I know that he is trying to start a race and succeeds in entering the overview with the replay screen in the top-right corner, but each time he tries to actually get on the track by pressing the green flag - the game just freezes. No idea why.


OK, forget about it. He now told me his computer isn't working anymore.

Edited by Stainaz, Jun 30 2011 - 01:04 PM.


#38 Ronan

Ronan

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted Jul 07 2011 - 12:27 PM

View PostBob Simpson, on Feb 04 2009 - 10:51 AM, said:

GPL Trouble Shooting and Problems FAQ

Crash to desktop (CTD):

- Sometimes GEM will erroneously save season.ii files with UTF-8 encoding which causes a CTD. Make sure that the files are saved (File > Save As...) with ANSI encoding.

Other – Miscellaneous:

Problems with Season or other ini files
1- Make sure that the files are saved (File > Save As...) with ANSI encoding. Sometimes GEM will erroneously save it with UTF-8 encoding.




Oh.... ^&#^$@#^$&%*&!^*)(!*&$(_*$_(@)&#*&@$#)*_*_+!)*(#+)(+$)*_@(&#)*!@#!

I was mucking about with my 67 season with GEM and what the heck I get a CTD!!! Oh NO what did I do.

Any how I spend an hour trying to undo whatever I did and basically go back to square one.
(which was a bunch of nice tweaks to my 67 season file LOST!!!)

Thanks for the FAQ that saved me from a complete cerebral meltdown... my GPL install is way to complex to rebuild  :)

Cheers!

#39 davidhb

davidhb

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted Sep 12 2011 - 02:31 AM

Hi Bob, I'm having trouble with the Targa track. I think the problem is with the 67 patch v1.3 install. If I click on Gemp2.exe Iget an"unknown fatal error" message over a small Gem2 window and have to reboot to start again. Also I cant find gpl67c.exe anywhere or Gem+ for that matter. I should add that I'm really dumb with stuff that doesnt load itself, but I'm getting really good at tearing my hair out.

#40 gman1647

gman1647

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 22 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 02 2012 - 10:18 PM

I recently installed GPL on my new PC.  It has an ATI Radeon HD 5400 Series 512MB processor.  I am getting the lines in the sky glitch, and unfortunately the link for the fix in the FAQ appears to be broken.  Can anyone give me a hand with this?

Thanks.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links