Jump to content


- - - - -

Nvidia Gpu Upgrade


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 il_lupo_mannaro

il_lupo_mannaro

    Fabio Locarno

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Monza, Italy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 18 2014 - 03:07 PM

Hi all,
below is my 5 years old PC:

MB GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
CPU AMD Phenom II X6 1 100T BE (winter 2013 upgrade)
cooler Arctic Freezer 7 PRO Rev. 2 (winter 2013 upgrade)
RAM 2 KIT CORSAIR TW3X4G1333C9A
GPU PALIT NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
HDD WDC WD6400AAKS-22A7B2
HDD WDC WD20EZRX-00D8PB0
PSU ENERMAX 525W MODU 82+ EMD525AWT
SB Asus Xonar DX
DVD burner LG GH22NS50 RBBB 22X
Case Antec three hundred
OS W7 ultimate x64
EIZO Foris FS2333 @1920x1080 (summer 2014 upgrade)

It's now time to upgrade the GPU: a GPL trouble free one it's mandatory!!

What will you suggest me amongst the following ones?

GTX 750ti
GTX 760
GTX 970

Who is owning one of them?

Looking forward to your comments.

Thanks in advance

fL

#2 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:everything that has a Ferrari V12 inside
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Nov 18 2014 - 04:11 PM

I have a GTX 970 (Asus Stryx) and I've just upgraded from a GTX 760 ;) both wonderful cards, but the GTX 970 is an animal: runs cool and quiet, low power consumption, amazing speed and unbelievable overclocking capabilities for a price lower than usual for this power tier. Future proof, I would say GTX 970, which, with a basic overclocking like mine, reaches GTX 980 stock performances. If, however, you are on a budget, get a good aftermarket GTX 760 (a 4 gb model possibly, just in case).

Both are more than enough for GPL at max settings at your actual monitor resolution (Nvidia Control Panel and in-game)

https://www.youtube....h?v=dmGWyAyO9mc

https://www.youtube....h?v=Eqz4tDM6Wl8

Edited by leon_90, Nov 18 2014 - 04:14 PM.


#3 Remco Hitman

Remco Hitman

    ELF Team Tyrrell

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 860 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Simracing
  • Sim interest:rFactor

Posted Nov 19 2014 - 03:07 PM

It's tricky because they're all good value for money.

750 doesn't sound right though with a 128bit bus.
760 sure sounds a lot better to me but it's 30% more expensive.
I would suggest looking for a 2nd hand 570, people will be selling them to make room for a 970.

I just got me a GTX970 and they are everything you could ask for. Insanely good cards at fantastic prices. I am CPU-limited with my 5GHz 2500K. What!?

#4 Gui

Gui

    80's Motorsports Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:The world
  • Sim interest:other

Posted Nov 19 2014 - 05:55 PM

Either get 970 or a 4gb 770 GTX (I own it), which price must have come down substantially with the 9 series release. Scrap that 750 quickly, 4gb 760 is very last resort. Whichever one you get I'd reassess that PSU, it is best to be safe than sorry with such investment.

Edited by Gui, Nov 19 2014 - 05:56 PM.


#5 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts

Posted Nov 21 2014 - 04:23 AM

I guess for the price of any of this cards one could easily build a machine that runs anything there is for GPL flawless. Build that and never have headache again about adding newer hardware for the actual stuff that might doesn't support GPL ;)

#6 il_lupo_mannaro

il_lupo_mannaro

    Fabio Locarno

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Monza, Italy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 22 2014 - 10:47 AM

Thanks everybody!
I will get a MSI GTX 970 Gaming as soon as its price will drop.

@Gui
Why my PSU should be not OK for that card?

#7 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,394 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 22 2014 - 05:54 PM

View PostYngwie, on Nov 21 2014 - 04:23 AM, said:

I guess for the price of any of this cards one could easily build a machine that runs anything there is for GPL flawless. Build that and never have headache again about adding newer hardware for the actual stuff that might doesn't support GPL ;)

Not only, but having Spa67 to come already installed , I can tell you that a Nvidia GTX 285 do perfectly the job, here . Don't forget GPL is always and always CPU Hungry . I have an I 5 650 dual core 3.2 Ghz only .
With 1 or 2 GB of Video Ram on the GPU, that 's enough

We have been running test at GPLR with the team , Sky and Lee.

So, Spa67 , I can tell you, being the most demanding track for display,  you can upgrade your card... but for other games ort applications.

No need to rush forward again and again, if GPL is your main demanding program.

Edited by M Needforspeed, Nov 22 2014 - 05:57 PM.


#8 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:everything that has a Ferrari V12 inside
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Nov 23 2014 - 04:27 AM

Your Psu is more than capable of running a GTX 970, you can even overclock it. I just checked your psu ;)

Edited by leon_90, Nov 23 2014 - 04:27 AM.


#9 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 23 2014 - 12:19 PM

According to http://www.geforce.c.../specifications the minimum PSU should be 500W and you're awfully close to that at 525W.

Edited by Bob Simpson, Nov 23 2014 - 12:26 PM.


#10 il_lupo_mannaro

il_lupo_mannaro

    Fabio Locarno

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Monza, Italy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 23 2014 - 02:46 PM

According to http://www.geforce.c.../specifications it's the same for my actual one, Bob.

Why should I have problems with the GTX 970?!?

#11 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:everything that has a Ferrari V12 inside
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Nov 23 2014 - 03:01 PM

You won't. Those specifics are meant for general users with cheap psu. You have a 80+ psu certified so you won't have any problem. You can run an overclocked 780 on a 550W 80+ psu, and the 780 is specified on Nvidia website for a 650W minimum.

So, don't worry, you are fine. I have an overclocked system (CPU, ram, GPU gtx 970) on a 550W psu. I never passed on FULL LOAD 370/380 Watts total system power consumption

#12 il_lupo_mannaro

il_lupo_mannaro

    Fabio Locarno

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Monza, Italy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 11 2016 - 04:39 AM

And after two long years... I finally did it:

I just installed my brand new GTX 970 and... it really rocks!!

Unfortunately the Nvidia inspector profile I got (based on http://srmz.net/inde...opic=6459&st=15) it didn't work with it and GPL crashes without loading.

I reset it and it now works without any issue. I read some topics about Nvidia tweaking but I guess they are outdated now.

Does anybody can share his .nip file or post his Nvidia inspector screen shots?

Thanks in advance for your great support!

#13 zalo

zalo

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 11 2016 - 12:52 PM

Hi

Here mine, i use it with openglV2 rasterizer, nvidia inpector v1.9.7.8 and nvidia profile inspector v2.1.3.0
the same config for all gpl exe

greetings

Attached Files



#14 il_lupo_mannaro

il_lupo_mannaro

    Fabio Locarno

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Monza, Italy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 11 2016 - 04:13 PM

Thanks a lot for sharing.
Quickly tested and performed really good.
Cheers from a foggy Monza...

fL

#15 b_1_rd

b_1_rd

    Jo Bonnier

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 14 2017 - 04:46 PM

Thank you Zalo, you stopped me taking a baseball bat to my system.  Works very well with a GTX 1050Ti too.  An indeed seems to have helped with my FSX and Prepa3d install too! Many thanks.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links