Jump to content


* * * * * 2 votes

Gpl On Linux


  • Please log in to reply
127 replies to this topic

#41 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 24 2014 - 12:06 PM

mmm, are you using some original dll's (i.e. not replaced by wine)?

It's strange... At least you had success... and it's a great new!


Now I'm thinking if there are some distro-related issue. Actually I'm using Manjaro because in Ubuntu and all Debian-based distros I used before, a windows program I use for work (Winclada) works much worst than in Arch and Manjaro. Maybe in different distros, wine uses computer resources in different ways...

Edited by mcmirande, Dec 24 2014 - 12:16 PM.


#42 willevans

willevans

    Jo Bonnier

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Interests:flight sim, gpl, piano
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 24 2014 - 09:59 PM

No issues here either with replays or AI.

I just stayed with what comes in the box with wine. Like I said, the only issue was FF really. When it crashed the server I later tried to connect with windows and it failed to connect there too with a bandwidth mismatch so I had to apply the bw patch first but I have not tried with linux since applying the BW patch. Maybe it might work now.

The strange thing when trying to join a race in linux was that I joined with F1 Honda and online, seconds before it crashed the server it joined with a Brab Trainer.

Another interesting thing was that the week before I moved the installation to another folder I could join races in vroc without issues. So maybe moving the installation messed it up. Vroc uses the windows register as an ini file so maybe the error is in there somewhere.

Regards

#43 bart

bart

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Interests:Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 02 2015 - 08:59 AM

About the FFB issue... I recall reading an online article once - several months ago - that FFB implementation in Linux kernel is limited to "Constant Force" only.
In Windows, effects like "Rumble" or "Damper' etc.. are mostly emulated using the Constant force effect (for short intermitted periods... I don't really know how it's programmed). Anyway, in Linux, a constant force is just that - Constant Force. And I don't think it's used for GPL.
*But* there is a project underway for full FFB implementation in Linux...if only I could find that link again :hithead:

Right now I'm having problems with my install. I swtiched from fglrx dirver to the open source radeon video driver, and now all the text from menu's and setup windows is gone... (using OGLv2 rasterizer)

#44 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,519 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 02 2015 - 12:34 PM

View Postwillevans, on Dec 22 2014 - 09:57 PM, said:

I did manage to get gpl running very well in linux. resurrect a windows installation ........ the graphics  were superior in linux.

Regards Pete


View Postmcmirande, on Dec 23 2014 - 07:05 AM, said:

Yes! I don't know why could it be possible... but graphics (not fps) are better on linux!!



Don't know a thing about Linux.But interesting topic

You are many here to say that the image quality is better , with the same fps .How you can relate it with words or screen captures for Non Linux users to compare ?

As I am still nostalgic of the GPL image I got when playing with a GFX Voodoo and 3DFX twelve years ago, to me, the deepness of 3D objects, essentially the cars at that time was better and edges a litle bit more defined. Going through a 3D world was more natural, too.
Perhaps good to say I had already the same CRT Iiyama 19 " monitor and driver, than now.

And it was the same experience than you, independently of the fps that was already at 36 fps and with graphics options at max.


thank you and happy new year

Edited by M Needforspeed, Jan 02 2015 - 12:51 PM.


#45 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 02 2015 - 01:03 PM

In my case, I note more brilliant colors on Linux, and maybe sharper objects... but I don't know if it is just "a sensation" or something real. I should do screen captures to compare.

I have very good fps with my Arch installation using OGL now, but replays and menus work pretty bad. In DirectX all menus and replays work very good, but conversely, in-cockpit fps are very low (about 20 as much).

I'm starting to think it's some distro-related thing concerning resources applied to Wine

#46 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 02 2015 - 05:13 PM

ooops, Demag... I'm missing something more important than the distros...

Which are the specs of your computer? I'm running GPL on a laptop with intel i7 (ivy bridge) with integrated graphic "card" HD4000. I think there must be a great difference with a dedicated graphic card...

Thanks for all the feedback

Marcos.

#47 demag

demag

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Linux. Building pc's. Old Citroens.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 24 2015 - 01:41 PM

Hi, I was doing so well untill a recent system upgrade which also updated Wine. Then my system started crashing, first Peppermint 5, then Mint, then I couldn't boot. Eventually traced to what I think was a dying graphics card. I just installed a new one and all has been stable this last week apart from Wine. Can't get anything GPL related to run so working on it at the moment. Will report back with any progress.

#48 demag

demag

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Linux. Building pc's. Old Citroens.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 24 2015 - 03:23 PM

I just did a reinstall using the beta installer. I haven't tried my wheel yet but have watched the replay videos including the new Spa67 and they are very very smooth at max resolution. At the moment Gem isn't working but I'll check it out over the next day or two. The old graphics card must have been causing big problems as it was never this good. Onwards and upwards.

#49 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 24 2015 - 06:53 PM

Good!

Which specs has your computer? I understood now that you have a dedicated graphic card... Maybe there is the difference between the GPL performance under linux in your computer and in the mine...

#50 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 26 2015 - 02:38 PM

Hello to all.

I have a new computer now and I'll test GPL on linux. Does somebody managed to join online races and/or got the FF working?

I installed Manjaro again, but probably I could install Play-Linux (or some other distro oriented to gaming) as a second linux OS.

Cheers, Marcos.

#51 JMF

JMF

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
  • Interests:GPL, gardening, woodworking, classic rock, modern blues, jazz-rock fusion, and sex.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2016 - 01:26 PM

View Postmcmirande, on Dec 26 2015 - 02:38 PM, said:

Does somebody managed to join online races and/or got the FF working?

I'm playing with it again. I copied the GPL folder to wine c: and installed GEM in wine. Everything seems to work except FF. I get a constant light force in the wheel. Eventually I'll work with the information in the earlier links to see if I can get FF working.

I'm mainly working with it now because I have parts to build a server. If I run a server online I'd like to use Linux to do that.

I joined servers at both 36fps and 60fps in iGOR. My frame rate isn't very good. 33-36fps or 30-60fps. At Zolder F2 60fps, Vsync was keeping the frame rate at 30fps most of the time. When I switched to F10 view, the frame rates stayed at 60 most of the time with regular drops to 50fps. Turning off the internet meter and prib displays didn't seem to have much effect on the frame rates. Setting Maximum Mip Size to 256 in GEM didn't seem to help frame rates either.

I haven't tested VROC or D3Dv2 yet. I'll do that soon.

Linux Mint 15, AMD FX-6300, 16GB DDR3, and Radeon HD7850 2GB.

Edited by JMF, Jan 23 2016 - 01:30 PM.


#52 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2016 - 02:25 PM

Very good news, JMF!!

Would be great to host GPL on Linux! If I don't misunderstood you already could do that, isnt't it?

Cheers; Marcos.

#53 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 21 2016 - 10:13 PM

Hello again

Could somebody configure the G25 or G27 H-shifter to work under linux? It's the last I need to definitively move GPL to linux :)

#54 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 907 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 28 2016 - 06:57 AM

Zalo shows how to shift in Linux here:
http://srmz.net/inde...=15#entry121929

ltwheelconf is obsolete and complicated...

#55 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 04:54 AM

I have a problem using OGLv2 in linux mint 18.0 xfce on my nvidia GT945m card using nvidia 375.20 driver.
I cannot see anything in the menus but a little tiny portion of the top of it at the bottom of the screen.
This cannot let me do anything but enter the track pushing the right lower corner. No setup or controller calibration is possible this way.
The performance on track is worse than what I have in win 7 but not as bad (double FPS)  than the very poor I have in linux using D3Dv2 where the menu works fine.

I have no idea of how the Nvidia Xserver settings works; looks totally different from the Nvidia setting you can find in win 7, so I didn't touch anything there.

Anyone had this same issue and was able to fix it?

Attached Files



#56 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 907 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 06:03 AM

Ginetto this seems to be a problem in winecfg -> graphics, I have checked only the 2nd and 3rd option.

#57 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 06:10 AM

I have that set like this:
Attached File  Screenshot_2016-11-29_13-09-15.png   26.8K   14 downloads

but when I open winecfg some errors appear:
Attached File  Screenshot_2016-11-29_13-08-43.png   140.56K   16 downloads
How to I get rid of that, you know? :think:

#58 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 907 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 06:42 AM

Oups those errors seem to show a broken NV driver!

Maybe must reinstall it...

Mine looks like this:

Posted Image

#59 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 907 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 06:47 AM

PS
I switched back to the stable NV driver, as I had other issues with the last driver.

#60 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 29 2016 - 07:07 AM

Hmm thank you Axel. :thumbup:

I think I will try a reinstall of the whole system.
I tried to reinstall the drivers but now cannot enter winecfg; it says I have 64 bits wine while the wine arch is set at 32... Bah, don't understand the half of it :P




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links